We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Villa Decary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Decary
Ranked #2 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We just came back from a 2.5 week trip in CR and this place was one of our favorites. We were walk-in guests and the moment we drove through the beautiful garden we knew we were in for a treat. When we pulled up at the entrance, our hostess came out right away and made us feel at home immediately. The room was amazing. Clean, comfy beds and of course those awesome views of Lake Arenal and surroundings from our balcony. Everybody in the villa was very nice and helpful. They gave us useful tips about how to explore the area. Breakfast was also very good. And to top it all off, the Gingerbread restaurant, the best food we had this holiday, is only a 5 minute walk away. All and all, an amazing stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemieke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
171
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a must stay for bed and breakfast goers, and bird watchers! Suzy and Olivia are wonderful! Suzy will help with you plan for whatever you'd like to do for the day! I wanted to go paddle boarding on the lake, and Suzy gave me plenty of options and set everything up! Olivia is a great company guide dog. All the locals know and love Olivia! The Villa Decary is a bird sanctuary haven! The staff are wonderful, and the food is excellent. I could just sit and eat and watch birds all day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were there in Mid February. The place is a little hard to find and best to get there before dark. But once you find it, the view of the lake is beautiful and the bird watching is terrific. But, most importantly, the staff are wonderful, kind, friendly helpful, no fuss. Woke up to an amazing view and birds all around. The breakfast was excellent and we got to do that while watching all kinds of birds feed on tropical fruit! The garden is lovely with lots of palm trees, tropical flowers and Dolly, their dog helped us discover the little stream on the property. It is 45 mins from La Fortuna so plan to have time to discover the area. The drive up the north side of the lake is beautiful. A wonderful place to be if you want a quiet place to get away from all the tourists and relax in nature.

Room Tip: Room in main building on second floor at far end had amazing view of lake and a deck for birdwatchin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a Wonderful experience staying at Villa Decary. Fantastic hosts and extremely accommodating staff made our stay memorable. Our view from the deluxe hotel room of the lake was perfect. Great bird watching!!! We highly recommend Villa Decary and hope we can return one day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eupher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Villa Decary for one night during our recent trip to CR (March 2013). We were very pleased with our choice and only wished we could have stayed there for longer.
Suzy at Villa Decary answered many questions prior to our making the booking. She gave us a good recommendation for car rental which we used and were also very pleased with.
Villa Decary is spotless. The grounds are very beautiful and the view from our room of Lake Arenal was second to none.
Breakfast did not disappoint - beautifully presented and delicious.
We thoroughly recommend this lovely place. Great hosts and a great experience.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room looking out to Lake Arenal - the view was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not only did our 2 day planned stay turn into 4 we can not state enough how really fabulous this place is. Besides the wonderful rooms and property not to mention the awesome bird viewing the people were so awesome, we really can't tell anyone enough how really wonderful everyone was. The owners were so informative and more than willing to make a reservation or give us plently of help in planning our days/nights. The breakfast was spectacular, we really looked forward to that meal everyday and needless to say really miss it!!! We also were able to meet Elkin a worker at the resort who took us on a tour of his family farm. His mama and dad were so incredible that we more then recommend staying here and taking Elkin's tour, this by far was one of the best things we did in Costa Rica. Even Olivia, the owners dog would stop by our room to visit, we really could not have asked for a better place and like home feeling we received from everyone. We really miss you all!!!!

Room Tip: We were in the main bldg. and also the casitas (rooms with a kitchen etc.) Both were fabulous just d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilito
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If there is a reason why to stay in Nuevo Arenal this is it!!!!

From the moment you enter the property grounds of Villa Decary you are welcomed by a beautiful botanical garden with an amazing collection of palms and trees that are the home of extensive variety of birds such as Toucans, Montezuma Oropendolas, and Humming birds.

The highlight of our stay was our beautiful breakfast served in the breakfast room that gives you an open view of the gardens where you can relax and watch all of the birds fly by and feed from the feeders from the deck . Starting with freshly brewed Costa Rican coffee a delicious fruit plate following a typical gallo pinto, eggs and the most delicious variety of home made breads and jams its an incredible way to start your day!!!. Always on site are Suzy and Dan busy making sure your stay is comfortable and to provide you with information about activities in the area.

Take time to explore the property as they have a secret garden by a creek and a great hiking trail and if you are lucky Olivia will guide you!! all the way!

Villa Decary is a true Costa Rican experience for the nature lover along with the attention to detail in the comfort of the rooms and service provided by the entire staff makes this place a true PARADISE!!

Thank you !!! Suzy & Dan for your amazing hospitality!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShatzieBrasilito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
256 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
13.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,826 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#1 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
236 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#4 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Decary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Decary

Property: Villa Decary
Address: Mile East of Town 1 | Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Arenal's most beautiful hotel. Botanical garden and rain forest setting, spectacular views of Lake Arenal, the Tilaran Mountains and the rain forest. All accommodations have private entry, private hot water bathroom, private deck, orthopedic mattresses. Rates include scrumptious breakfasts, beautifully served. Casitas with full kitchens available. Monkeys, 140 species of birds. Peaceful, private, serene. Close to many activities: kayaking, fishing, hot springs, volcano, birding, canopy tours, windsurfing, horseback riding, nature walks and more. Great eateries nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Decary Hotel Nuevo Arenal
Villa Decary Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing