We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe all the raves”
Review of Villa Decary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Decary
Ranked #1 of 14 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

One of the ultimate hospitality experiences we've ever had Beautiful, lush, birders paradise, great views of Lake Arenal, The hosts are superb ....helped plan our days...made calls and reservations for us....authentic Costa Rican breakfasts.....Multitalented staff who cook, clean and garden,too. And as a bonus, it's amost next door to the Gingerbread, one of the countries best restaurants. Don't stay anywhere else on the lake.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are fine and less expensive than the casitas on the hillside. Even t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbsplaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 323 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was my first trip to Costa Rica amd my husband's fourth. What a gem Villa Decary is!! Dan and Suzie are the most gracious, helpful hosts, with an amazing staff and of course Olivia, their friendly companion. The rooms are spacious and clean with lovely views of the lake. Every morning, we woke to nature outside our balcony room - howler monkeys and tropical birds. The breakfasts each morning were wonderfully prepared with attention made to each guests special needs. The grounds are meticulously clean and lush with tropical birds to watch. Dan and Suzie were always helpful, pointing us in the right direction for any tours we may want to take on any given day. If you are looking for tranquility and an opportunity to interact with the local people, Villa Decary is the place to be!!

Room Tip: Located on the side of a hill, all of the rooms have great views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My family stayed here for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it! The rooms were super clean and spacious, had beautiful lake views, and the grounds were very lush and green with tons of tropical flowers and birds. The staff was super friendly and Dan, the owner, was very helpful and informative and booked us a white water rafting trip. Also, Miguel and Elkin made us special breakfasts every morning and it was authentic and delicious. We miss Olivia the dog running around and showing us the hotel. The hotel is literally 200 meters from the famed restaurant Gingerbread, known as the best restaurant in Costa Rica. Dan made us reservations, and it was absolutely amazing. Definitely somewhere you have to go! Next time we go to Costa Rica we won't stay anywhere else but Villa Decary.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My partner and I just got back from Costa Rica yesterday. We woke up this morning missing our wonderful breakfasts made by Miguel and Elkin. We spent a week here. I don't think we could have found a better place in the Lake Arenal area. Dan was our host. Every day he would talk to us about things we could do, offered us suggestions and told us stories of the area. We stayed in one of the casista's called Zombia. It had two double beds, a bathroom, a kitchenette and a balcony overlooking some of the best scenery I have ever seen. We chose the Zombia as we wanted to have the flexibility of making some meals if we wanted. In the morning we'd be awoken by the sounds of howler monkeys and the many species of birds in the area. If you are a birder, this is one of the best places to be. Breakfast was a treat. Elkin and Miguel made the most tasty and beautifully presented breakfasts. Most of the days we had true Costa Rican breakfasts. They were delicious! Our favorite part of our trip was going to Elkin's family farm. This was not part of Villa Decary, but an added bonus as we would have never known about this without staying here. Elkin is a Tico (A native Costa Rican). He offered to take us to his families farm which borders one of the National Parks. I believe they have over 300 acres here. When we got there his mother made us a meal before going on our hike. We got to feel like we were part of a true Costa Rican family. Elkin led us on a hike that took us to waterfalls on his property. We did some swimming and headed back to the farm. His mother was waiting for us with lunch. We got to hear some really interesting stories about his family and about Costa Rica. It was amazing. Another bonus of staying at Villa Decary is that we were within walking distance of one of the best restaurants in Costa Rica. Its called Gingerbread. We ate there twice during the week. The chef truly puts his heart and soul into the meals. We asked Dan about doing some kayaking on Lake Arenal. He mentioned Beth who works at Gingerbread and happens to do kayaking trips with her husband and will take people out. Beth was our waitress and we set things up to go out the following morning. Kayaking on Lake Arenal with someone who knows the lake was really nice. It seems everyone we met while there were very friendly. If we had stayed in Costa Rica any longer, I'm sure everyone we met would have been good friends with us. We would highly recommend that people stay here as they will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineTechieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My first trip to Nuevo Arenal and second trip to Costa Rica we stayed at a B&B/small hotel called Villa decary outside of Nuevo Arenal. The view from our room (5) was fabulous of the lake and the surrounding lush rain forest. If you don't like nature it may not be for you as with the windows left open you can hear birds, crickets, and evening rain shower and the howler monkeys in the canopy beyond this 7 acre property. The food was fabulous for the 2 breakfasts we were there and Dan, the innkeeper was wonderful to make us reservations at the hot springs close by. His recommedations for resturants was very good as well. This was the unexpected highlight of our trip due to the natural beauty. The rooms are large but simple but spotlessly clean. Internet in the common room but no TV. They put out fruit in the morning for the birds and it is so fun just to watch the different varieties. I am not a "bird person" but the toucans and hummingbirds were really something. This is an area of Costa Rica you don't want to miss if you love nature and a laid back life style.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I can't say enough about the kindness shown by all the staff at Villa Decary...some of the nicest people I have ever met!! We stayed 4 nights in Casita Latania. It was just up on top of the hill and had a beautiful view of the grounds and Lake Arenal. Coming from Playa Samara, this was a very different setting, interesting to see such a significant change in just a few hour drive. This truly is the rainforest; lush forest, beautiful birds and wildlife all around. It rained, a lot, but then again, it is the rain forest! We enjoy hikes (Swinging bridges), canyoning and white water rafting, all a must-do when visiting Arenal.
Every morning we were greeted with bright warm smiles in the dining room and enjoyed a home-made breakfast, different all 4 morning we were there....truly out of this world!! The casita was perfect for our family of 5. It was nice to keep the door open at night and listen to the rain fall.
The Gingerbread house is also a must-do when visiting, just a short walk or drive down the road.
Thank you to all the staff at Decary, you are all such kind and sweet people:) We hope to be back again to visit.

Room Tip: A beautiful place to stay but if you're looking to do some excursions, be sure to have a car, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runnergirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We planned on spending one night but ended up spending four nights. Dan is a great host and Miguel and Elkin made us feel at home. The Inn is well kept with clean rooms, dry towels and bed linens, in a very humid environment. The view is overlooking Lake Arenal in a rain forest setting. Gingerbread Restaurant is within walking distance and well worth the trip. The food was original, large portions for sharing, well prepared, reasonably priced and the service was excellent.

One of the highlights of our stay was a day with Elkin at his family finca (farm). The finca is about a 30 minute drive from Villa Decary. The roads were good, but the last 500 yards were difficult so we parked the car and walked to the farm house. After meeting Elkin's parents we spent the next two hours walking though the pastures passing horses, cows and pigs. We crossed the fast flowing creek many times and eventually ended up in a Virgin rainforest. Elkin is an expert in plants and birds. We saw many orchids and other unique plants. We eventually swam in the river under a waterfall. Elkin is knowledgable in the medicinal properties of the plants and told us how his family had used them for generations for their medicine. His Mother was one of 18 children. She was 76 and his Father was 81. Her mother and father are still alive and have been married for 72 years. They now live in town. The finca has only had a telephone for 4 months and they have only had a car for a few years. As a child Elkin and the family would ride horses to town to visit grandma. It was a two hour trip each way with 5 kids on one horse and his mother and 3 kids on the other horse. They were totally self sufficient for years and only went to town for salt or the visit grandma. Elkins mother prepared us a delightful lunch of chicken, beans and rice, homemade tortillas, fried eggs, salsa, tamales, green plantain ceviche, fresh fruit juice, coffee and fresh milk. Everything is cooked on a wood stove as it has been done for years. As I write this I am yearning to return.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
264 reviews
13.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,027 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#2 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gingerbread Hotel
Gingerbread Hotel
#3 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
137 reviews
13.3 mi away
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
#1 of 77 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,025 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chalet Nicholas
Chalet Nicholas
#8 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Decary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Decary

Address: Mile East of Town 1 | Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Arenal's most beautiful hotel. Botanical garden and rain forest setting, spectacular views of Lake Arenal, the Tilaran Mountains and the rain forest. All accommodations have private entry, private hot water bathroom, private deck, orthopedic mattresses. Rates include scrumptious breakfasts, beautifully served. Casitas with full kitchens available. Monkeys, 140 species of birds. Peaceful, private, serene. Close to many activities: kayaking, fishing, hot springs, volcano, birding, canopy tours, windsurfing, horseback riding, nature walks and more. Great eateries nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Decary Hotel Nuevo Arenal
Villa Decary Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing