We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and fantastic quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Decary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Decary
Ranked #1 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
krabi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and fantastic quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Dan and his staff keep this place spotless, cleaning the rooms every day even if they''re unoccupied! The result: no bugs or critters, and no musty smell in the rooms, dry and fresh! The breakfast is the best hotel breakfast you can find and the views out over the lake are breathtaking. If you want to stay away firm the La Fortuna crowds but still close to a bunch of Arenal area activities, I'd recommend Decary.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
169
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This quaint picturesque B&B in the middle of paradise is just what my wife and I were looking for on our 15 year anniversary getaway from our busy lives in miami and our four kids! Highly recommend taking the tour of Elkin's family farm. If you are interested in an authentic Costa Rican experience in their culture and hospitality this trip is for you. This tour was definitely one of the highlights of our stay. We can´t wait to go back but next time we´ll bring the whole gang. DeMarko & Karen

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkbazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying a week at Villa Decary while attending a retreat. It is hard to put into mere words the warmth and welcome that was showered on our group, as well as each of us individually, while there. They truly created a home away from home for us! Not only did they accommodate the groups needs admirably, which were unique and often changing, but they went out of their way to do little things that made our individual stays special. From a loaner bag or umbrella... to meeting special dietary needs... to mini guided tours of the property discussing the flora and fauna... they readily and happily rose to the occasion.

Dan and Suzy (the owners) have a beautiful property and truly set the bar high for outstanding customer service. They were both very attentive to the group's needs and wants. Suzy even hooked me up with a local contact to get a great deal on a rental car for continuing my adventure throughout Costa Rica.

With so much beauty on the property, it would be easy to let that draw people in, but Villa Decary's wonderful staff is actually what makes your stay! Miguel serves as the front man, greeting you for breakfast each morning with a glorious smile and a story. He shared the history of the area, as well as the food we were enjoying, and even provided impromptu Spanish lessons. His energy and positivity was contagious. I miss seeing his smiling face at breakfast every morning! Elkin, too, was welcoming and added much to our stay with his pleasant nature and patience while all of us. Everyone on staff had a genuine smile and a mucho gusto for us at every turn.

I have already recommended Villa Decary to friends planning to visit the area. Really... Don't hesitate, you can book here with total confidence!

Room Tip: The view is best from the main hotel building, but for more privacy and/or a kitchen at your disposa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Untourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The staff goes above and beyond ensuring your stay is pleasurable and comfortable.
Rainig...they gave me an umbrella
Like piquiene at breakfast...they showed me how to make it!
And I must give a special blast to Miguel, a staff member at the B&B who takes guests comfort very personally. Miguel ensured that each morning we had plenty to eat, knew the history of the food, cultural background of any question we asked, and lent his positive attitude whare ever it deemed nesacery. Cooking, cleaning, general maintenance, and guest relations; Miguel is the glue that holds it all together.
Thank you Miguel for making me want to come back!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripptattimiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just got done spending 8 days in Casita Latania, one of the incredible rooms at Villa Decary. This B & B hosted our entire retreat group of 9 people, and everyone here on staff (and I mean everyone) made the stay so fun and exciting -- we felt completely at home. The breakfasts are phenomenal, the grounds are paradise, and the hotel's location is a perfect launching pad for great adventures (highly recommend asking about Tico Tabacon hot springs, the family farm tour, waterfall rapelling in La Fortuna, and the lagoon hike at Cerro Chato -- not for the faint of heart). Thanks so much Dan, Suzy, Miguel, Christina, Elisa, and Indio!

Room Tip: Views are best from the main hotel building, 2nd best from Casita Serenoa, and 3rd best from Casita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soulchump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I just spent a week hosting 10 participants for a transformational retreat in Costa Rica, and Villa Decary was PERFECT. Our group was well received, supported and provided for.

Every morning Miguel (our Tico host) told us where our food came from, the history of the region, and enlightened us on the culture of his people with funny anecdotes and a warm heart. He also designed and built a first-class custom yoga deck for our group. The man is ON his game.

Dan and Suzy (the owners) were also delightful, making sure that all of our logistical needs were met, and Elkin (our local Indio guide) lovingly provided us with true Pura Vida service.

Overall, this place is a beautiful, supportive environment perfect for groups, and I look forward to bringing more retreats to this region.

Room Tip: The casitas are wonderful & spacious, though the rooms in the main building have the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The owner and staff were an absolute pleasure - so warm and friendly and they were very helpful with suggestions on things to do / where to eat in the local area. I hope to make it back here some day!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daliayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
13.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#24 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#2 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#4 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Decary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Decary

Property: Villa Decary
Address: Mile East of Town 1 | Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Arenal's most beautiful hotel. Botanical garden and rain forest setting, spectacular views of Lake Arenal, the Tilaran Mountains and the rain forest. All accommodations have private entry, private hot water bathroom, private deck, orthopedic mattresses. Rates include scrumptious breakfasts, beautifully served. Casitas with full kitchens available. Monkeys, 140 species of birds. Peaceful, private, serene. Close to many activities: kayaking, fishing, hot springs, volcano, birding, canopy tours, windsurfing, horseback riding, nature walks and more. Great eateries nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Decary Hotel Nuevo Arenal
Villa Decary Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing