We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Perfection!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Decary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Decary
Ranked #1 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise Perfection!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying 2 weeks at the most wonderful B & B Inn called Villa Decary. From the meticulously cared for room and casita, to the scrumptious breakfasts, made from scratch every morning, Suzy, hostess, along with her welcoming and knowledgeable staff, Miguel, Elkin, and even Olivia - the 4 pawed hostess, ensured my every comfort and need was attended to in the most courteous and professional manner. The well maintained grounds including a hiking trail and babbling brook, along with the marvelous vista of surrounding mountains and Lake Arenal made this a truly wonderful experience.
Being a photography buff I was thrilled with the many opportunities to capture birds, bugs, frogs, snakes and dramatic flora.
The last added bonus were the numerous and varied excursions nearby.
Thank you so much for the heart warming and unforgettable memories!
Until next time....Pura Vida
Theresa

Room Tip: I loved being in the casita with a view of the lake and my own terrace to sit out early each mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
169
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our three-day stay at Villa Decary was the best part of our two-weeks in Costa Rica. The setting is absolutely lovely with many types of palm trees through which we could see Lake Arenal from the deck of our casita. From this vantage point we also saw (and heard) a good number of beautiful and fascinating local birds. It was so relaxing to just sit outside and absorb the intricacies of the natural world around us. Suzy Brown (co-owner) helped us plan some great outings in the area, including an exceptionally interesting visit to the Elkin ranch where we experienced "the real Costa Rica." Also Suzy played a big role in planning our entire trip to the country. This was immensely helpful given our minimal knowledge of Spanish. Breakfasts at the villa were an extra-special treat: lovely and utterly delicious! Villa Decary is a magical place. Many thanks to Suzy and Elkin and the rest of the staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our second visit to Villa Decary as we loved it so much the first time. The hot springs in the area are amazing with the view of the Arenal volcano in the backdrop. The bird watching right from our cabina was great with stunning views of the lake. The hospitality of Susie, Elkin, Miguel, and Olivia (the dog) is unbeatable and the breakfast is still the best I have had at any B & B!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmybuffett25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Everything about Villa Decary is wonderful. The location is breathtakingly beautiful, an oasis overlooking Lake Arenal. We stayed at Villa Decary for 2 weeks. Suzy was a great hostess. She is very knowledgeable about the activities, places of interest, and the restuarants in the area. We sought her advice daily and enjoyed everything she recommended. We stayed in Casita Zambia. It was clean, nicely furnished, the bed was comfortable, the views were amazing. Elkin and Miguel make a fantastic breakfast. The coffee, fresh fruit, homemade bread, pancakes, tamales, omlets.... everything was delicious. Most days we did not eat lunch! Besides being great chefs, Miguel and Elkin also shared their vast knowledge of the wildlife, plants, and history of Costa Rica. Olivia, the four-legged, furry amabassador, was a delight. She is the sweetest dog I have ever met. Visiting Costa Rica was a dream of mine for a long time. I am so glad we stayed at Villa Decary. Thank you for the best vacation ever!
Susanne, Delaware

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Villa Decary and enjoyed exceptional hospitality from Suzy and awesome breakfasts prepared by Elkin. We are vegetarians(lacto ovo) and one of the days Elkin prepared yummy vegetarian tamales for us.Our 13 year old daughter was in tears when we left Villa Decary because she fell in love with their wonderful dog,Olivia who was also a great hiker/runner.Rooms were clean,views were breathtaking,food was awesome,entertainment provided by Olivia..what else can you ask for in a Costa Rican vacation.Thank you Suzy and Elkin.

Vembus,Phoenix

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vembu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

While this b&b doesn't have the bed/sheets/pillow you might want from an above average b&b, the overall experience more than makes up for this. It is in a truly peaceful setting overlooking Lake Arenal. It has a great hiking trail through the rainforest which Olivia, their pet dog, will more than likely guide you through. Suzy is a great host and will help you choose things to do while you're there. We stayed for two nights and on the first evening we drove to Tabacon resort which is about 30 minutes away. This is a must do...even for the money (especially nice in the evening with the lighting). The next day we went on their exclusive tour (guided by Elkin, one of their employees). Elkin, a great host as well, took us on a tour of his parents farm where we were enthusiastically met by his mother and other friends and family. He took us on a hike through their property which included walking through the rainforest as well as crossing their river/creek numerous times. Water shoes are a must and can be borrowed from the b&b. The water is a little on the cooler side but very refreshing to swim in. When we returned from the hike, about 1-2 hours, his mother prepared us the most amazing Costa Rican meal. I truly enjoyed the food as it reminded me so much of my mother's own authentic Italian meals, especially how it was all prepared by hand and cooked on a wood burning stove outside. This was the genuine Costa Rican experience I was looking for when I booked our vacation. The evening concluded with a very good meal at the Gingerbread restaurant which is in walking distance. Sleeping at this b&b is amazing if you like to hear lots of nature at night. Be prepared to be awaken by howler monkeys and their calls around 4 in the morning (awesome sound as well). The breakfasts are great and very filling. Overall, this b&b stay is highly recommended for a genuine Costa Rican experience. Tony and Greg

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room on the second floor...they have casitas as well but not sure how they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

This is at a beautiful spot surrounded by jungle. We saw toucans from our balcony. We saw some howler monkeys here as well. Dan and Susie were wonderful and so helpful. The breakfasts were amazing. We enjoying a farm tour with Elkin. My sister Hope and I loved it here! Thank you for the experience!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faithy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
13.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#24 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#2 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#4 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Decary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Decary

Property: Villa Decary
Address: Mile East of Town 1 | Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Arenal's most beautiful hotel. Botanical garden and rain forest setting, spectacular views of Lake Arenal, the Tilaran Mountains and the rain forest. All accommodations have private entry, private hot water bathroom, private deck, orthopedic mattresses. Rates include scrumptious breakfasts, beautifully served. Casitas with full kitchens available. Monkeys, 140 species of birds. Peaceful, private, serene. Close to many activities: kayaking, fishing, hot springs, volcano, birding, canopy tours, windsurfing, horseback riding, nature walks and more. Great eateries nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Decary Hotel Nuevo Arenal
Villa Decary Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing