We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Trout at Tadpole Bridge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sudbury House(Faringdon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell Hotel(Faringdon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fleece(Witney)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
151
95
48
35
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
95
48
35
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstroutthe pubwine listlovely locationroll top bathmy birthdaywonderful mealwarm welcomeporridgehigh standardsunday nightdining experiencetwo night staylovely roomlovely stafflittle gemcouple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 347 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

After staying at The Trout many times over the last 5 years, I thought it time I posted a review on here after our latest stay last week.The rooms are all very comfortable ( we've stayed in them all!) We have always found the food to be of a really high standard and the specials board always offers a nice selection. The Trout is a lovely country pub, friendly staff, friendly locals, log fires in the winter and a lovely garden in the summer.

We also got married at The Trout in September. Helen and all the team pulled out all the stops to make our special day perfect.

I cant speak highly enough of this place, and would recommend it for everything from a lunch by the river, an evening meal, a short weekend or midweek break right through to getting married here!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 4 are ground floor rooms in the courtyard. 5 and 6 are first floor rooms in the pub.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Did not stay at hotel so cannot comment on that part but stopped here as we were travelling through for some dinner on a Friday night. Enjoyed out meals very much, both had fish which was cooked very well. All staff seemed very happy to serve and chatty with all quests. Would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at The Trout Inn and have had a fantastic time. We are a family of four with 2 children aged 6 and 9. When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, we were shown to our room, (room 6) which was lovely. It was well furnished and decorated, and it had a flat screen tv. The childrens bed was in the lounge area and had a bed sofa set up.

The pub is great and friendly, all the staff are brilliant. The food was amazing (we ate there both nights) and it offers a great selection of wines and beers.

The situation to Oxford and Cheltenham is good and the staff are great with advice of where to park and what to see around the area.

Will definately return in the summer as it is in a fanastic spot. Thank you to all the staff you made our Xmas break a very enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Room 6 was the suite and accommodated myself my husband and our two children (aged 6 & 9) on a sofa bed.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a night away with the dogs.

We had a nice room with a very comfortable bed.

Dinner was superb - can highly recommend it and there is a fantastic wine list. Breakfast the next morning was really well done.

Overall, a very good experience and I've happily recommended the place to a number of people

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamFitzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went for a meal at this pub as a last minute night out, I haven't been here for many years so wasn't sure what we would find.
On entering the pub it has that really lovely warm cosy feel, log fire burning and a warm welcome with smiley happy staff.
We were told we could sit by the fire and given the menu to browse.
A fabulous choice of food was available, the food was brought out to us in an acceptable timescale and it all tasted so fresh.
The prices were about right for what we received and would definitely return again.
Lovely relaxing atmosphere,lovely food and staff that made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank haileyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews