We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“camp at Pigeon point instead!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Side Hotel Tobago
Ranked #18 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“camp at Pigeon point instead!”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This hotel is super.The rooms are quite comfortable- the noisy fridge is placed at your bed -head so you can expect terrific sleep at night and in the morning the face basin is not to far from the stove- you can mutitask!
The kiddie pools are (open) for long hours but closes at 9pm. As for cleaning services they are always at work and provide clean sheets for you when/ if they rememeber, dont worry if they forget you can always remind them to change the soil and already stained sheets in your room.
And while your on vacation who said anything about cooking- you will not be zealous to do this as no utensils are provided and mircowaves are non-exixstent at this surf side time zone !
Security at this hotel is up to par with leading hotels just dont expect the doors to the rooms to be made out of anything besides glass after all it is necessary to help anyone who is clusterphobic :)
On the sad end Pigeon is down the road and store bay too.
PEOPLE SET UP CAMP THERE, RATHER THAN AT THIS PLACE.
It is suitable for university students who are bankrupt and need a vacation, it provides the bare necessities!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ren1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    17
    13
    14
See reviews for
22
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

First of all, the management of this establishment need to have a proper payment system. You are required to make the payments at a local bank in Trinidad and the hotel apparently has no idea if you have paid or not, you are required to walk with the original deposit stubs....if you don't bring this to the hotel they consider that the room was not paid for and you have to pay again!!!
-I was of the opinion that towels are standard in these rooms but you have to go to the reception to ask for them.....you also get warned that the hotel would like to get them back when they are handed to you........really I am not coming to Tobago to steal your towels!!
- at least there should be a phone in each room in case you need to contact the reception at least!!!
-The water pressure in the shower was very low.......
- Customer service at reception is virtually non-existent, I believe they are trained to simply say "NO" to any request from the customer
-At TTD 600 per night, I would still expect basic needs to be met
- The only positive thing about the hotel is the location and the Sat Sangh!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trinivids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crown Point hotels

Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2009

If you want a basic place to stay Surfside is the place. I had a good experience when I went in 2006. The staff was friendly but the place was a bit run down in terms of the rooms. The air condition worked well but the place was really worth the price.

My second encounter was not good. Seeing as I stayed there before I needed to overnight in Tobago. The person who answered the phone basically told me he was fed up of one night stays and I could come if I wished and if they had room they would accommodate me. This was a turn off as I have no relatives in Tobago.

I would not stay there again because of encounter with very hostile front desk person. But if you want basic and cheap and you don't mind hostility and you're not staying for one night, it your call!!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triniden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinidad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

I will never stay here again. The room was so tiny and dirty. We saw cockroaches crawling about. We left a day early, that's how disgusting the place was. And don't even mention the staff.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinicharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangre Grande
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

The hotel is a good place with many eateries all around,walkable distance from Pigeon point beach and airport.

Has a good parking space and security.
Has a small swimming pool and staff is friendly.

The allocated apartment was airconditioned and neatly maintained and reasonable furnished with fridge,microwave,tv,cable,hot and cold water,balcony and sitting place.

Paid 700TT$ per night for a accomodation of 2 bedroom apartment.

  • Liked — Location to Pigeon Point beach and Airport
  • Disliked — Room service and reception could be much better.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pos1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2008

This hotel is definitely worth the price. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and more than willing to help. It is close to the two of the most famous beaches in the world (Store Bay and Pigeon Point). There are many places to eat close by and it is very quiet.

I would definitely stay there again. If you're looking for a five star hotel, this is not the place. But if want a comfortable, clean, quiet environment, this is definitely it.

  • Liked — Cleaness
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltrini2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arima
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2008

my experience was great. the staff was friendly,the surroundings comfortable,generally quiet and quite relaxing.just what i needed,some peace!!

  • Liked — environment
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
221 reviews
5.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.3 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel Tobago

Property: Surf Side Hotel Tobago
Address: | Pigeon Point, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Surf Side Hotel Tobago Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing