We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Syps Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Syps Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Went here as we had been disappointed by all the local restaurants. Syps had good reviews on Tripadvisor so we decided to try it. Had the Chip-chip cocktail which, was the best I had ever tasted, followed by the shrimp curry which was also great. Maybe we were lucky as we went there on a slow day (Monday) in a slow season, but the service was also great.

Helpful?
1 Thank Megagrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food, fantastic service”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We popped in here for breakfast after being turned away from Kariwak for unknown reasons and were just so pleasantly surprised.
Service was beyond excellent - owner was polite, well trained and eager to please without being over the top. We tried a few of their dishes(eggs, omelets, salted fish and bake) and while it did take a while for meals to be prepared, it was tasty and fulfilling. Will definitely return and recommend it to anyone in the area. Prices are great too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sontag_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“gorgeous food lovely service”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

14 of us went to syps, i stopped on the way back from the beach to book, when we arrived in the evening it was quite but we where very well looked after. Mel was working on her own i we thought it would be a long night, how wrong we were, beautiful food hot, fresh and extremely tasty. Mel had baked a chocolate cake that afternoon after my son had asked if she had any, earlier when we booked. I was really impressed with the food in fact best we had in Tobago for our two weeks.
Mel was lovely and her calm and confident manner was very well received by all.
lunch time was always busy and evenings quite quiet, but don't miss if you are in Tobago.
Thanks Mel
The Morgans, Dewars and Gales

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iansasmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merlehackett, Manager at Syps Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
It was a pleasure serving you guys, you made it very easy for me, hope to see you again. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We caught them unawares”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We took a family party of 14 to Syps. The male half of the couple who run it was trapped on Trinidad (due to overbooked flights) so his lady wife had to cope with us almost on her own. The food was amazing, lovely authentic flavours and the service in the circumstances was excellent!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merlehackett, Manager at Syps Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I enjoyed the evening even more than you did, hope you had a wonderful time in Tobago.
Merle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We thought it was ok”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Coffee not great - it's a pity as that area needs somewhere to serve up a good coffee. Admittedly as a group we were spoiled by having a master chef with us, so in searching a restaurant local to Sandy Point for a meal out together before some of us left we set off in high hopes. The setting and decor is pleasant enough and the service was pleasant and polite. The beer was ice cold - great.
The menu was not particularly exciting - but we all found something to choose. The best that can be said about the food was that we had no complaints - it was all pleasant, but i guess you'd have to say - a bit ordinary. Fresh salad and vegetables - so no complaints there.
I'd have to give it another try to see if I'm missing something - as it didn't fit with the Trip Advisor reviews we'd read - as the menu wasn't what I'd expected, so maybe lunch-time isn't the time to go?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 17Suki17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merlehackett, Manager at Syps Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
I am sorry you did not quite enjoy your visit to Syps. At lunch we only offer sandwiches, etc, hence the lack of variety. In cases where visitors want to try for example, local dishes, like roti with curry or provisions and stew meat/fish, callaloo, etc, I do accomodate them with of course some advanced notice. We hope you do visit us again, and maybe try our dinner offerings, with maybe a cappuccino after to make up for that 'dreadful' coffee you had. Thank you.
Merle Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syps Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Crown Point, Tobago
Crown Point, Tobago
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing