We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eine perfekte wahl - wonderful location, most friendly and helpful host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candles in the Wind
Ranked #2 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

i m german, male, stayed for 2 weeks in may 2014,
first time in tobago for kitesurfing and windsurfing, but not first time in the carribean.

prebooked the room online via email through the owners website. before booking, i had some questions regarding the room and the payment options, all questions were answered kind and prompt within some hours .

when i arrived, everything was perfect and great value for money.

it is located in a calm residential area, but only two minutes walk from the main road with the flea market and all the restaurants, supermarkets and so on. with the bicycle maybe 3-4 minutes to the closest beach.

my room was spacious and clean. room was cleaned every couple of days. towels were provided and changed every some days, too.
room was very calm, i could always sleep immediately, even when sometimes i went to bed already 8-9pm. well, may is low season, could be different in high season, though i doubt it.

laundry can be washed without problems, in the garden there is a clothesline. one day there was a sudden rainfall when i was at the beach and the owner was so kind not only to bring my dry laundry inside ...he even folded it!
aircon and fan were efficient.
fully equipped kitchen with fridge is very convenient.
bicycles are available for rent for a reasonable price.
wlan was always connected, good signal everywhere, in the room, in the breakfast area, on the balcony...

most important to mention is the owner/host himself, andrew. he is always helpful and ready to give all kinds of so very useful advice - no matter what kind of activity i was interested in.
especially when you are interested not only in the beaches of tobago, but want to learn a bit about the culture, the food and the way of life in tobago, conversations with him are a wonderful source.

when you stay there on a saturday and are lucky, you might - like me - be invited to try his cow-heel soup, a delicious local food, cooked mostly on saturdays.

probably cause of the low season place wasnt fully booked all the time - so the owner got the time to work around the house when the guests were at the beach, renovating, decorating, improving it, while his brother - as busy as a beaver - painted many parts with gallons of paint. the place looked already good when i arrived, but the place looked almost brand new when i left.

i plan to go to tobago again and i will surely stay again in candles at the wind.

Room Tip: ich habe bei der reservierung per email nach einem ruhigen zimmer gefragt und ein ruhiges zimmer bek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank vanderlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 226 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Andrew was on time in picking me up at the Tobago airport, even though it was 11:40 in the night and my flight was delayed. The room was clean and was exactly what I expected for the price. Andrew also gave some tips on how to get food and coffee near by. The pigeon point beach is walking distance from here. Also, he was very approachable and friendly. I would come here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Mohit19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nites during the spring break. Andrew's guesthouse is an awesome place, with nice room, balconies and many common areas for guests to hangout get to know each other. The place is also a great value and located 5 mins walk from the beach and 2 mins walk from the nitelife. However, it is very quiet since it is tucked away from the main street. Andrew is a very friendly guy who is willing to help with whatever his guests need. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank VagabundoDario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Andrew is welcoming and his guest house is a home from home. walking distance to everything you could need, great beach, somewhere to eat and drink, bank etc. would recommend the guest house and doubles just round the corner.
Thanks Andrew for a great stay - Angela and Drew

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank angela t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I would not recommend this hotel/hostel to any one. It is far too pricy for what you get. There are several more guesthouses at better pricing available. Sheets are bad, beds make noises when turning, bathroom dirty and it is by far the worst "hostel" I've been to. Wifi costs a fortune, I'd recommend anyone to head down to either Pigeon Point, Store Bay or basically any restaurant around the corner for free WiFi.

Room Tip: First floor if you want to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Candles is a very nice place to stay if you are going to Crown Point!!
The owner, Andrew, makes this a place for everyone, if you come alone, family, couples, fishers, birdwatchers...when you arrive he will pick you up from the airport, personally, and then he introduces you to all the others at the hostel, which makes everyone feel welcome and "one of the family".
Crown Point is a nice small town with some cosy restaurants but we ended up every evening back at Candles. Food we got from Chef´s BBQ, good and cheap!
I have tried different hostels around but this one is in the top, because of the nice atmosphere.
So a top recommendation for this place!!!
*If you are an "easy-sleeper", don´t forget your earplugs. The volume in Crown Point is loud, 24/7*

Room Tip: If I would go there again, traveling alone, I would definitely choose the addict. You don´t need you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jenssj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Candles in the Wind. Due to weather I didn't arrive until 1am and Andrew was still gracious enough to meet me at the airport. The guesthouse is very close to the main road and an easy walk to a variety of food vendors and two great beaches. Andrew was helpful in making sure I got to see everything on my checklist and helped arrange transportation when needed. Planning to visit Tobago again soon and Candles is at the top of my list!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SoloGolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Bananaquit Apartments
Bananaquit Apartments
#6 of 14 in Crown Point
158 reviews
2.4 mi away
Miller's Guest House
Miller's Guest House
#7 of 92 in Tobago
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
2.8 mi away
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
4.2 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candles in the Wind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candles in the Wind

Address: 145 Anthony Charles Crescent | Bon Accord Development, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range: $27 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candles in the Wind 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide cosy comfortable air conditioned accommodation on the enchanting island of Tobago. We are just a stroll away from the pristine beaches of Store Bay and Pigeon Point Beach. We await your arrival to our magical island. Due to the increasing demands from past guests we have recently created affordable mixed Dormitory accommodation in the Attic of Candles in the wind in addition to the already eight rooms that exist. We have installed an initial twelve (12) single beds and there is ample room for a whole classroom, if required.General Facilities....We have two (2) fully equipped Kitchens (one on each floor of the building) which comprise of the following:- Two extra large side/side Refrigerators/ freezers with filtered ice and water dispensers. Two large capacity cooking ranges. B B Que Grill (gas). Microwaves. Toasters. Electric kettles. Coffee percolator....and a generous assortment of cutlery and utensils. We have also provided a large capacity washer and dryer in the Laundry area that is available for your free usage. OUR OBJECTIVE AT "CANDLES" IS TO ENSURE THAT YOU HAVE A COMFORTABLE AND MEMORABLE STAY ON OUR BEAUTIFUL AND ENCHANTING ISLAND OF TOBAGO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Candles in the Wind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candles In The Wind Hotel Crown Point
Candles In The Wind Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing