We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good handle on Candles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candles in the Wind
Ranked #2 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good handle on Candles”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

It's in a quiet safe residential road near the airport but with no aircraft noise, and near lots of food outlets from street food to takeaways to restaurants. Try the "doubles" from the vendor on the corner - delicious. The rooms are good value for money especially as this is the most popular part of the island to stay. The dining and kitchen area is spacious and well equipped. The owner Andrew is very informative, helpful and has great knowledge of the island. The start of the best beach on the island (Pigeon Point) is only 5 minutes away and is over a mile long. Walk on the beach to the end at low-tide, otherwise use the road. Look out for Humming birds in the red flowered bushes on the way. In the opposite direction is Store Bay beach with yummy local food and good snorkelling to the left of the bay. By car Arnos Vale hotel is excellent for snorkelling in its bay and for afternoon tea when you can feed the many species of birds that appear. Enjoyed my weeks stay so much I plan to go back sometime.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank sn0wman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    55
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
42
80
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Our stay in Candles in the Wind was exceptional, from the time of our arrival to departure, excellent service, wonderful location. We were totally satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Turist2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova, Liguria, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Last DecemberWe spent two weeks in Tobago. In October my choice was Candles in the wind and now I can say that I could not be happier with my choice.
Andrew, the owner. was very nice and helpful.
The house is spacious and the communal kitchen and dining area are large and well equipped.
We were three friends and we had dinner there every evening.
The level of service that Andrew provided was excellent. He assisted us in many ways including the island tours
If you choice a guest house Candles in the wind is a perfect location, if you want a Resort Candles is a bad choice!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Lucia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed in the backpacker's dorm (attic) for 1 week, under mosquito nets w/ fan. It was exceptionally clean and reasonably priced in comparison to the other options available in Tobago, especially around Crown Point. The owner, Andrew, is friendly and always up for a chat or to recommend things to do and see locally. The guesthouse feels more like a home than a hostel/hotel, which perfectly suited my needs.

Room Tip: The attic is great if you can manage without A/C (and under a mosquito net).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank r a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maraval, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at Candles in the Wind for 5 nights on our way to Trinidad. The hospitality was excellent and it is a great place for couples. Most people think of staying at a hostile as a single traveler but this is an excellent place for couples too. Andrew the owner is most friendly and aims to ensure all greats are comfortable and are at home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank seaturtle760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Candles DOES have "a homely environment" - as advertised. Recently, I was the recipient of the owner's (Andrew's) kindness:
To begin with, the quiet, residential neighborhood enhanced the feeling of home and security.
At my request, Andrew organized an impromptu, reasonably priced tour of the island in his comfortable van.
When I fell ill due to a cold, he plied me with his homemade soup - I almost felt that I was back home with mother !

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
20 Thank Vatche V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

A warm greeting as you enter the home, Candles in the Wind is a gem. Owner, Andrew makes you feel welcome immediately. Located within walking distance from local beach and night life in Bon Accord, the establishment is clean, wholesome and refreshing. The rooms are appropriately appointed with all the comforts of home. If you want a laid backpacker's dorm or an ensuite environment, Candles will acoommodate with the right price.

Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Request a single bedroom with a large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Luv2trvl150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Bananaquit Apartments
Bananaquit Apartments
#2 of 13 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candles in the Wind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candles in the Wind

Property: Candles in the Wind
Address: 145 Anthony Charles Crescent | Bon Accord Development, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candles in the Wind 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide cosy comfortable air conditioned accommodation on the enchanting island of Tobago. We are just a stroll away from the pristine beaches of Store Bay and Pigeon Point Beach. We await your arrival to our magical island. Due to the increasing demands from past guests we have recently created affordable mixed Dormitory accommodation in the Attic of Candles in the wind in addition to the already eight rooms that exist. We have installed an initial twelve (12) single beds and there is ample room for a whole classroom, if required.General Facilities....We have two (2) fully equipped Kitchens (one on each floor of the building) which comprise of the following:- Two extra large side/side Refrigerators/ freezers with filtered ice and water dispensers. Two large capacity cooking ranges. B B Que Grill (gas). Microwaves. Toasters. Electric kettles. Coffee percolator....and a generous assortment of cutlery and utensils. We have also provided a large capacity washer and dryer in the Laundry area that is available for your free usage. OUR OBJECTIVE AT "CANDLES" IS TO ENSURE THAT YOU HAVE A COMFORTABLE AND MEMORABLE STAY ON OUR BEAUTIFUL AND ENCHANTING ISLAND OF TOBAGO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Candles in the Wind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candles In The Wind Hotel Crown Point
Candles In The Wind Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing