We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Little Retreat”
Review of Shepherd's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shepherd's Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Excellent Little Retreat”
Reviewed September 7, 2008

My husband and I spent a few days at the Toucan Inn relaxing after ten days of adventure tourism in Trinidad. I must say that the soft, clean sheets and excellent airconditioning were quite welcome by that point! We stayed in a pool-side cabana, which we found to be very cute and comfortable. The bedroom was very spacious, clean, and smelled fresh. The bathroom was clean but tiny, which was fine for my husband and I. The staff was so friendly, and the food at Bonkers was amazing! We booked on our own (not through a travel agency), and opted for the half-board (breakfast and dinner). This was a great choice as we were out every afternoon and wouldn't have had lunch there anyway, and the meals would have been much more expensive had we purchased them a la carte. The grounds were immaculate, the atmosphere gentle and relaxed, and we were so pleased that we chose to stay at the Toucan Inn.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the restaurant
  • Disliked — If you don't like cigarette smoke, go early for dinner. About 8 pm, it gets to be too much!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Peanut0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    133
    43
    23
    4
See reviews for
32
157
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We have just returned from a stay at the Toucan Inn. The poolside and restaurant areas are pleasant. We had a room with a poolside view. The room was small though and dark. The furnishing etc were okay but for a 2 week stay it was a very crampt and we did not even have enough room to unpack the suitcases. The bathroom however is only partially separate from the main room and was tiny and not in good condition. We were a bit disappointed at some of the service, the waitresses were nice but the other reception\bar\cleaning staff were not very friendly or efficient and like I've read in other reviews sometimes you feel a little like you are imposing (however note this is quite typical of the service in across the island) even though this is an expensive area for a holiday. You do get the feeling that they seem to dislike tourists!

The beaches are fantastic. Pigeon point is around a 30 minute walk and worth it. However Crown Point is very close to the airport and the town itself not very impressive with little to do in the evenings and chickens, dogs and goats all roam free! Beware to eat out is very, very expensive for what you get and service varies considerably. Also usually add 25% to the prices for tax and service charges.

We had 3 courses rammed into under 30 mins in Bonkers and were rushed out of many restuarants which spoilt some meals out. It seems sometimes you being there is an incovenience for staff. The average meal in a restaurant with one drink each was around £40-60 and often not that great either. In the day, we ate at Store Bay take-outs which for £4 you get more and nicer food that in most restaurants.

We like to vary where we eat so choose B&B but if we have realised the cost of eating out even at Bonkers then it would have been a lot cheaper to go to an all inclusive somewhere like Coco Reef which we visited and was lovely. We spent a lot of money on the holiday and our spending money was double what we took in the end and for waht we received this was very disappointing. It is an amazing island scenery wise, often we were in awe of some of the breath taking sights in Tobago. But the island is definately out to 'rip off' tourists. I'd recommend going to some of the other Caribbean islands that offer more to tourists for more reasonable prices and flying over to Tobago (internal flights are v cheap) for a couple of days to view the bays and rainforests.

  • Liked — Pool and pool side were pleasant
  • Disliked — Rooms very small, bathroom tiny and not nice. Service hit and miss. Expensive.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ktwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We did not stay at the Toucan (wish we did) but with our hotel front desk staff they recommended the Bonkers. We walked in with no reservation 2 Adults and three kids. The kids wanted to sit outside, but was told by the greeter that he only had inside (his english wasn't great) Troy walked over and put togather a table for us in a split second, his service, attitude, friendliness and smile was was excellent. We'll certainly stay at the toucan inn next visit.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessandlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

My Wife and i have just returned from a fantastic two weeks all inclusive at the Tucan Inn.I do not normaly write reviews but feel the team at the Tucan deserve a mention as they were all BRILLIANT and a special mention to Christine and Beverley.This small but very freindly well run hotel could not have made our stay more pleasureable.The garden room was a good choice they are basic but adequate rather than the pool cabanna as they are surrounded by lovely plants and birds etc.The food was good and plentyful and there was also a very good choice of the cocktails and the wines of which was all included.We felt the only thing was that the menu could have been changed weekly but this was not a major thing as you could pay a little axtra for alterantive choices,being a small hotel we felt that we were able to interact with other guests from various places around the world which was a plus for us.We would not hesitate in recommending hotel.
Great Place,Great People,Great Island, Keep up the good work .We wil.l return 100%

Darren and Karan UK

Helpful?
2 Thank JayNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I wouldn’t normally give feedback on a holiday but after returning from a week at the Toucan Inn in Tobago I felt compelled to. I chose Tobago and the hotel following a conversation with a travel agent booking rep after I was told the toucan inn was particularly popular and was a good hotel. Bearing in mind the cost of the hotel I expected more than we got. Whilst I understand you pay for what you get and Im not adverse to "roughing it" from my travels a few years ago but I felt the toucan inn lacked everything. When we arrived we had to drag our own luggage to our room which after a long flight it might of been nice to have a warm proper greeting. The rooms were poor with no fridge (in a hot country I found stage), the air con didnt work, there was no TV and the room wasn’t particularly clean. After 3 days I had to complain as the room hadnt been cleaned (just the bed made) and there were a number of glasses etc that hadnt been cleared away by room service! We tried to have lunch on the 2nd day after diving but to be told there was no lunch available as they were short staffed only to kick up a fuss and eventually get a burger and fries and when it arrived it was just a burger on a plate and was told they had no fries!!! Generally the staff were unhelpful, unfriendly and bordering on rude. This is not the reputation the "Caribbean’s" have built upon over the years. The rep picked us up and dropped us at the airport and that was the only time we heard from him. It was just as well we were diving for 5 days as staying at that hotel without being out all day would have been unbearable to the level I would of probably checked out early. Fortunately the diving with Extra divers was very good and they were very friendly and made it a pleasure to dive with them. We basically ended up treating the hotel and somewhere to sleep and neither of us wanted to spend any time at the toucan let alone spend any money there. Upon checking out and settling the bill they tried charging us for a number of meals and drinks that we just didnt have, this is either common practice or done in error as whenever we did order anything (water) we weren’t asked to sign for anything. We could have eaten like kings and just charged it to any old room ruining someone else’s holiday!! When asking on any good restaurants in the area or other suggestions I was actually passed the Tobago phonebook!! Strange really as the websites and restaurant refer to the place refer to be a fun and friendly atmosphere....we didn’t see this side of the hotel – not even a smile. All I can put it down to is that the staff there must be particularly unhappy working there as ALL other locals we met were very friendly and welcoming. Other reviews say this place is good but we didnt see that side of it!!!!

  • Liked — Leaving!!
  • Disliked — Arriving!!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Oct0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Just returned from two ‘laid back’ weeks in Tobago – we stayed at Toucan Inn/Bonkers.

This was an idyllic little hotel. The 'Garden Room' (no 8) which we had was a corner room and was both of a good size and comfortable (altho' a little short of natural light and showing its age a little). There was no fridge – but if you are all inclusive this doesn’t matter as the (quiet) bar is an easy 25 yards away, and no TV – but who needs one?? As usual we booked our whole holiday independently and chose an 'All Inclusive' option which we paid for on arrival - this included a range of excellent a-la-carte meals every night (not the typical buffet style that you often find with 'all inclusive' deals!), although for some there was a small supplement payable which was added on to our room check-out bill on departure. Anderson, the restaurant manager, and his whole team couldn't do enough for us -- even rustling up food when we returned too late for lunch after diving in the morning on a couple of days, and also one night when we missed dinner because of sleeping off the daytime sunshine and one or two too many afternoon rum punches!
All the hotel staff provided excellent service and were very friendly - Christine and her team made us feel very welcome -- we had no problems that needed sorting out, but I am confident that if we had then they would have been resolved efficiently.

If you are a SCUBA Diver then I can strongly recommend the 'on-site' diving team --- R&Sea Divers – run by John and Wendy Austin, who as well as running a well organised diving operation, can act as an unofficial tourist office helping you with lots of insight into where to visit, who to use re: taxis, hire cars, guided rain forest trips etc.

If you are considering Tobago for a diving trip the diving round this end of the island was excellent. Trips up to the Speyside dive sites were organised by R&Sea and were not too much of a hassle to get to. We were glad we stayed at the Crowne Point end of the island – although it seemed there was much more going on, it was still very laid back and quiet. As another reviewer said “this is a beautiful island still unspoilt by the mass tourist markets. If you want to see it before the inevitable happens then this hotel makes a great base - we were 10 – 15 minutes slow walk from two really nice beaches.

Sadly we had to leave at the end of the holiday and aside from the fact that we were ending a great holiday this was relatively painless. The hotel is easily accessible from the airport -- we checked our bags in at 2.00 pm for an evening flight home and then walked back to the hotel to enjoy the remainder of the day by the pool, and have a last drink with the restaurant staff who we became very friendly with. We then slowly walked back to the airport at about 7.00 pm, boarding passes and passports in hand to get our evening flight home.

Would go back – and would stay here again!!

Jane and Peter (Bolton, England)

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEFandPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

You won't fail to be impressed with the tropical garden setting of the Toucan Inn, with its wild birds flitting around the bar area and the palms and flowers giving colour outside your room, but there the positive feedback stops. The rest of the experience is very disappointing - poor standards of food, bad customer service and terrible, dirty bathrooms. ( Towels and sheets are, however, changed daily - which is a plus)
We booked a garden cabana - just across the pool from the bar. OK setting, but the bar music and party crowd was still going strong at 2.00 a.m on our first arrival night. When we complained about the noise levels - we were moved to a larger, quiter garden room away from the bar - but then got asked to pay the extra charge?? When we refused to pay, we were moved again back to another garden cabana - back to the noisy area. All three rooms had cracked, broken and dirty tiles in bathrooms, ill fitting and torn shower curtains, and broken taps and bathroom fittings - all in desperate need of an upgrade. Air conditioning units were noisy - so you could either put up with the noise at night or try to sleep at ambient temp - with accompanying mosquitoes.
Food standard is poor, with very repetitive breakfasts and slow service. As an example of poor - if the chef thinks that a dish of chopped cabbage with a layer of thousand island dressing over is a salad - then I'm a toucan!!
Customer service leaves much to be desired - see room changing example above. Christine at reception is an exception - very chatty and helpful, and a couple of others bring lively, friendly chat and banter.
If you're interested in eating options at Crown Point - Kariwak Village offers a much better standard.

  • Liked — Tropical garden setting
  • Disliked — Poor bathroom standards, noise and food quality
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank weenieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
0.4 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chic - The Boutique Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherd's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherd's Inn

Property: Shepherd's Inn
Address: Storebay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shepherd's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shepherd's Innis a small and friendly 20 room hotel with teakwood caribbean style decor set amidst am oasis of lush tropical gardens with a relaxed ambiance that keep guests coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shepherd's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toucan Hotel Crown Point
Toucan Inn Tobago
Shepherd's Inn Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing