We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Shepherd's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shepherd's Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The inn could do with an update,But the rooms are spacious and clean,and the rooms cleaned everyday,The bedding is also changed everyday,
Bonkers restaurant serves a good breakfast,lunch and dinner.All very good and well priced,
If you wish to go anywhere or know anything about Tobago,see MR B.He is usually in the bar.and will not let you down if you arrange a trip with him,
All in all a nice place to stay,with friendly reliable staff.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete4208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 313 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went for something really cheap, so didn't expect much. However, the Toucan Inn was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. The accommodation was fairly basic, but had everything we needed, including a really efficient shower. The food was excellent and varied and the staff unfailingly friendly and efficient. The island tour (via Yes Tours) is a must. Mr B also provides a friendly and efficient taxi service - his knowledge of the island is impressive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorinneS513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a 2 week (and first) trip to Tobago...booked via Regaldive and diving with Extra Divers at Crown Point.
We booked on a B&B basis - partly because of comments about a restricted menu at the in house restaurant - Bonkers. We had a garden room which was perfectly acceptable - clean, air conditioned, en-suite and quiet. Don't go expecting mini-bar, sofa, surround sound entertainment system - cos there isn't one -- but with all of Tobago to experience who needs it?
The staff are delightful - led by the ever helpful Lisa they really can't so enough for guests. A friendly smile and a big hello are the rule here - certainly that's what you can expect from everyone else. Thanks especially go to K P (yes - he is nuts), Andrea and the wonderful Mr B.
On the subject of Mr B, I note previous comments about driving standards - they are in my experience unfounded - he is careful, considerate and a fount of knowledge about the island.
Food in Bonkers was consistently good - from the huge breakfasts to the dinner specials. They changed everyday while I was there and for $100TT ( a tenner in English) a 3 course meal was a real bargain. Don't miss the goat curry! The a la carte menu is reasonably extensive and well priced - four starters, nine or ten mains ...what's not to like?
Diving with Extra Divers was real fun - separate review on it's way soon. An Island tour with Dennis from YES!! Tours was a fab day out to break up the underwater bits. All in all the entire trip was excellent - really good value for money. Oh just go and see for yourself!!!

Room Tip: Garden rooms - a bit quieter and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This a small boutique hotel with warm and friendly staff. The best rooms are the garden rooms as tore bay he pool rooms are a little small and lack proper lighting. The location is ideal as it's only a 5 minute walk from the airport and famous store bay beach where you can get the boat to bucco reef and nylon pools. The restuarant serves a lovely breakfast with daily special of local foods which I had every day. I stayed away from the traditional breakfast as this is not what the locals do best. Stick to local cusisine and you will not be disappointed. Don't expect 5 star service and amenities but expect a warma nd homely experience. After all your in a tropical paradise at Toucan Inn

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Londonguy282013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Toucan Inn 9th - 16th Oct. I can't recommend it enough. It's located in Crown Point where you will find the most to do and beautiful beaches only a few minutes walk away. We stayed in a poolside hut and were immediately won over by its charm; cool, rustic and spotlessly clean with a free safe and wifi. The only noise we heard was the occasional cocrico! The pool area is small but never full and it was lovely having a dip with the other guests at sunset while KP brought over your cocktail of choice. There's so many to choose from all at great value, not to mention the ice cold Caribs. Similarly breakfast provides a great variety, freshly made to order. You will struggle to find a more homely welcoming place thanks to the staff. It exudes that relaxed tobagonian vibe.

If youre thinking about any trips I'd definitely recommend Mr B's Sunday School (your glass will never be empty), Sugar Lips BBQ Boat Trip, Mr Evans Island Tour (and anything else you could possibly want arranging!) and George the surfing instructor at Mt Irvine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephcoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A mid October stay at the Toucan Inn was pleasant and relaxed. My verdict on the accommodation is that it is rustically basic, but perfectly clean. Our garden room afforded us more space than I gather the rooms near the pool do, and certainly more privacy. The food was fresh and tasty. The hotel's main plus point is the atmosphere, which means credit is due to the staff. All those we met were very friendly and obliging, so applause goes to Lisa, Andrea,
Sherry-Ann, KP, Troy and the Room Maids. All reports we heard about Mr B were positive We enjoyed diving with Cherrelle, Scotty and Dom, so thanks are due to them too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We returned for the second time this year to the Toucan and R & Sea and were not disappointed. The hotel is comfortable, the food is good (especially breakfast) and the staff are great. I think the negative comments regarding the staff maybe because of their reserve and politeness. Maybe good manners is lost on some guests. If visitors took the time to research Tobago they would know that good manners and politeness are ingrained in Tobagoan culture.
Diving with R & Sea was an absolute pleasure. John and Wendy cannot do enough to help and the dive guides Scotty and Cherrelle were great and had dive computers, both last year and this. They are both safety conscious and knowledgeable. We are experienced divers and would know if there were any deficiencies in the operation.Thankfully Mr.B is recovering but has been very upset by the accident. We did the island tour and rainforest tour with him last year and found him to be a very safe and conscientious driver. His car at the time was in very good condition, clean and well maintained.
I can only reiterate our satisfaction with all aspects of our holiday and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are quieter and bigger than the pool rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
447 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
78 reviews
23.2 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherd's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherd's Inn

Address: Storebay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range: $115 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shepherd's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shepherd's Innis a small and friendly 20 room hotel with teakwood caribbean style decor set amidst am oasis of lush tropical gardens with a relaxed ambiance that keep guests coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shepherd's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toucan Hotel Crown Point
Toucan Inn Tobago
Shepherd's Inn Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing