We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Rotterdam
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We are from Holland and stayed at Coco Reef in March 2007.
This hotel is a very nice place to stay. The atmosphere of the entire hotel is just as we hoped it to be. Very friendly and helpfull staff and nicely kept hotel grounds. The two restaurants (the circulair one an the one below on the beach) are of a great atmosphere. In the evening good live music. Room excellent. Beautifull white sandy beach. Because of the wavebreaker the water is calm.
A lot of very friendly English people stayed there. If we return to Tobago we would cerrtainly come back here. I donot understand why some people have a certain critics. It was great!

We also stayed at Blue Waters Inn in the north of Tobago. Donot go there! BWI is a very run down place of three barracks with extremely unfriendly and hostile staff.
Stay in the south and go to Coco Reef!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank wittehuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    456
    250
    113
    61
See reviews for
342
743
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2007

Had 2 wks at Coco and wasn't sure if it was for me at first, as the beach is small and sunbeds quite close to eachother, but after a couple of days I had totally warmed to the place. I loved the Lagoon, which is so safe to swim in, so clean and clear, with so many tropical fish, great for a little snorkelling and feeding the fish. Fresh fruit was served every day on the beach, along with water/cocktails/beer/fruit juices. On the whole the staff were excellent, in particular, Bernicia in the Restaurant, Keisha in the Beach Restaurant, and many others whose names escape me. Some of the other staff could learn a trick or two from these guys, who worked really hard to please, and got the tips to prove it. But in general if you made the effort with them, they were great back. We felt the food was good on the whole, but as usual at an all inclusive, if you stay two wks it can get a bit repetative. The rib eye steaks were cooked to perfection on the lunch bbq. Our room was upgraded becos we are frequent virgin club and we had a suite, which was very nice, nothing fancy though, but a great bathroom with 2 basins, and lights that I could actually see to makeup by, and a magnifying mirror which was a bonus. But these were not standard. The Balcony was a bit small, but then we never sat out there, the lagoon/beach was always calling! The ala carte restaurant was good quality for the Caribbean, but the service at times was 2nd rate, just inexperienced waiters. But having been to the Caribbean many times I am being picky here, just to give you an honest view, but to be fair we had a great holiday at this resort and we would go back, becos the location is great with the lovely lagoon, and you can actually walk out the hotel, to shops, banks, and Pigeon Point, which is lovely, and Store Bay to try Crab and Dumpling and the Roti. The hotel has a grand colonial feel to it, and has lovely gardens, even tho it is only about 10 yrs old. Also don't worry that it is so close to the airport, this is totally a bonus, it takes 5 mins, and the planes are not a problem at all, infact it's fun watching the big planes come in. If you are looking for total tranquility then go to Palm Island, in the Grenadines, or Galley Bay in Antigua, but if you want a really nice Caribbean Hotel, with good staff, and food, in a lovely spot, on a truly beautiful Island (get out and do an Island tour, with Elvis if poss!)then you can't beat this resort. There are a lot of repeat guests as I'm sure you will find out as they love to let you know, but if this isn't recommendation for this hotel then I don't know what is.

  • Liked — Bathroom, large, bright, 2 basins and magnifying mirror, but not standard.
  • Disliked — Hard pillows.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank snowyMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

Just returned from a fabulous week in Tobago made extra special by staying at the Coco Reef.
The hotel was clean and comfortable (good beds) with lovely terraces and dining areas. The grounds are particularly delightful, beatifully maintained - a real tropical oasis and yet right on the doorpstep of the hotel's own private beach and Store Bay with its local colour. We had a lovely view from our room over Store Bay with the crashing waves for company from where we could watch the antics of the local glass bottom boats.
The food was varied and plentiful. Perhaps not top notch by European stabndards but overall very good. Service is good. Some staff can appear reserved but once you smile and engage them in conversation they are delightful, happy to please and tell you about their beautiful island.
The man made reef off-shore is a little off-putting as it restricts the sweeping views out to sea but it has the huge benefit of providing a safe swimming environment and great snorkelling.
All in all, we had a wonderful time and I would be very happy to return

  • Liked — terraces and gardens
  • Disliked — the man-made reef (but great snorkelling!)
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EastSussexSma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

My husband & I stayed at the Coco Reef for 2 weeks from 11 Jan to 25 Jan. The staff were arrogant & only wanted to talk amongst themselves. The nightlife was poor & not for anyone under the age of 50 years old.
During the second week of our stay, my husband became very ill with nausea & cramps. We dined solely in the Tamaras restaurant each evening, as we were AI, so assumed it was a bug from there. The Virgin rep was adamant that there was no history of anyone becoming ill from dining at Tamaras. Upon our return, my husband became seriously ill & was diagnosed with salmonella contracted from Tamaras.

  • Liked — Sea View Room
  • Disliked — Contracting salmonella due to poor food/hygiene levels
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RandolphUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

We have just spent a fantastic week at the Coco Reef and wanted to recommend this hotel to anyone who is due to visit or thinking of booking. The hotel is elegantly casual and you feel at home the minute you enter it - the staff are friendly and helpful but not "over the top" and the location is stunning with beautiful gardens and a golden, sandy beach. Like so many people have mentioned, the bay by the hotel is ideal for less confident swimmers and excellent for snorkelling with many types of colourful fish to see!

We had a great room on the second floor with an ocean view and it was kept very clean with lovely flowers and messages put on the bed every so often which was a nice touch. The food was of a very high standard although we preferred to eat mainly in the less formal beachfront restaurant which always had a good selection of more simple, Caribbean food.

I would definitely return again to the Coco Reef and hope this has reassured anyone who may have read less positive reviews - I honestly couldn't fault it!

  • Liked — The location and relaxed, elegant atmosphere
  • Disliked — The noisy seagulls sat on the sea wall most of the day!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Lymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk & Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2007

Having stayed here twice previously (1997 and 2005) I was surprised by some of the conflicting comments I had read.

After returning from a three day break there this week I would confirm that I found the hotel as good as it always has been.

The room was well laid out with all facilities working well. The view of the tropical gardens was lovely and a welcome contrast from the beach - especially on the hot afternoons. The manager phoned to check every thing was ok and there is a forum on Mondays where feedback to Managers is welcomed and any problems discussed.

The beach was excellent - well serviced by waiters who gave out free bottles of water as well as fruit. The private bay was excellent for swimming and snorkelling. This kept our ten year old occupied for hours! (Snorkels and peddle boats are free to hire from the on site dive shop).

We did not stay all-inclusive as the hotel is situated on the busiest part of the island with plenty of eating places in close proximity. I would definately recommend an evening visit to the Pelican Reef - a lovely restaurant some 100 metres from the entrance to the CocoReef. This has very good (not expensive) food with live entertainment from 8.00pm.

The breakfast was good value but I would have liked to see nets up to stop the birds devouring any crumbs/food left on a table when people leave.
It can be a little disconcerting watching 10-15 birds pulling at an empty table next to where you are eating.
I had seen these nets used in the hotel i stayed at last year in Barbados and they worked well.

Overall very enjoyable stay and I would again stay here next time I return to Tobago.

  • Liked — View of the tropical gardens from the large balcony - beach and bay facilities
  • Disliked — No nets to stop birds flying all over breakfast tables.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trinivisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2007

We stayed for a week in November 2006. Whilst the hotel is rated 4.5 star on Virgin holiday website, remember this is Tobago (one of the less developed Caribbean islands) so this rating is not on a par with equivalent rated hotels in developed Caribbean islands and worlds away from, for example Mauritius.

The decor was a bit tired and very "old Caribbean" (large floral prints in mint and peach!), however the food was excellent and above average for what was expected from a Tobago hotel. The quality in the restaurant in the evening is very good neuveux cuisine. The buffets available for breakfast and lunch are plentiful.

The beach is small, but lovely - but beware the tide comes right in so it can get quite cozy! - however plenty of sunbeds (white plastic slats) and waiter service at your sunbed. At weekends - lovely touches such as waiters wandering round with frozen fruit.

If you intend to play tennis - beware that the courts, whilst playable, need to be overhauled and regularly maintained. For a 4.5star hotel, I would also expect a dress code! However the tennis pro, and his brother, are both a very good standard for hits.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank weybridge69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
4.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
444 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Property: Coco Reef Tobago
Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing