We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service poor - snorkelling is good”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Customer Service poor - snorkelling is good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2006

We went to the Coco Reef in early February and were very disappointed with the low standard of customer service. Although there are plenty of staff to assist guests with their needs, there is a clear need for staff training on some of those in customer facing roles. We often did not feel at all welcomed by some of the waiting staff and were very surprised at their overall lack of customer service expertise. For the prices charged, there really is no excuse for this low standard.

On a more positive note, the snorkelling is excellent with the man made reef offering good protection from the sea - which can be a bit rough at times. Even those not keen to snorkel can easily see a varied collection of beautiful fish - simply by standing in the lagoon.

Location is good - walking distance near to Pidgeon Point and to a few local restaurants. The service at those by the way - is second to none. Efficient and friendly and good food too.

Do take plenty of mosquito repellant if you go anywhere in Tobago - those little biters ar very hungry. Take plenty 'Lanacane' and anti-histamines before you go - in case they get you! I was bitten 38 times despite using a lot of spray, coils and plug ins!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blinkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    440
    241
    109
    60
See reviews for
330
718
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2006

I have read many reviews on this hotel and like all things it depends on your expectations and what you compare it against, I had read about this hotel and expected a four star hotel with slow service.

First the positives, a nice setting, right on the beach with protected swimming for kids and fantastic sunsets, the rooms are ok.

I paid extra for an Ocean view deluxe, I could view the sea if I pressed against the window, there was no balcony and the local dogs start barking at 4am and continue all morning, not one but packs of them, everyone was complaining. I was glad to get home to get some sleep.

The water was hot if one showered early, after 6pm, forget it, the shower was cold, the food varied and can only be described as edible, on the plus side I was not ill, it was good to eat out and find some really good food, we were fully inclusive. Breakfast is interesting with lots of black birds sitting on your table pecking at your toast and bacon, I have never seen so many birds in a restaurant. The lunch time menu is the same every day with luke warm food or the same choices from the barbecue.

The service is very slow, I was told to expect this but the ordering of drinks is very slow and most people resorted to ordering several drinks at one time, the service on the beach is very poor, get ready for the Weddings, there are plenty to watch, with large numbers of guests who appear to take over every part of the hotel, the beach which is already too small, to the bar and beach restaurant, if you want a quiet holiday forget Coco Reef and go somewhere else.

Will I go back, no never, is this a fair review, as I stated at the begining it depends on what you expect and where you've stayed before, if you go I wish you good luck, in my view its expensive and poorly managed and there are much better hotels in the Carribean..

Helpful?
7 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2006

We have just spent a thoroughly enjoyable 2 weeks at the Coco Reef. The hotel itself is well planned out in beautiful grounds and yet close to local bars and restaurants so you are not restricted the the hotel alone.
We found our room (sea view deluxe)to be exactly what we were expecting and the housekeeping etc was very efficient. The staff were very helpful and polite without being too subservient (as is the case in hotels in Mauritius for example). The food in Bucchanals was very good as was the food in Tamarra's. Although some of it was a little too fancy at times. All in all the hotel does everything it can to ensure you have a great relaxing holiday.
HOWEVER, the hotel is popular with people getting married. During our stay there were as many as 3 weddings during one day. Many of the wedding parties bring large numbers of guests with them (as many as 25-30)and seem to need to sit together whether it be on the beach, restaurant or bar. The result is that these groups often invade the space/peace of couple who have come to the hotel for a relaxing time. I think that the hotel would be wise to restrict the numbers of weddings that it arranges per week and also the numbers of guests that accompany the happy couple.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D0min0cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2006

Just returned from a fabulous vacation at the Coco Reef. Excellent service, food and location. However, i was deepy disappointed to find no internet access available to guests with their laptops, in their rooms or out. Also, the TV was very limited in the channels provided and didn't even have any local channels! It would have been nice to watch the local carnival celebrations in the hotel but i had to resort to going to a local bar and check it out. Please update your connectivity to the rest of the world! :) Other than this, i would highly recommend this resort as a getaway.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Triniflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2006

we had two weeks here last august and it was the worse two weeks ever, it was in a beutiful location, but the entertainment side along with any activities we wanted to do were non existant, the staff were great but the all inclusive deal was a complete joke. After two days we wanted to come home, if we hadnt have met another couple we would have both gone stir crazy, if you like to sit and do absolutly nothing then go but if you want something to do your better of staying at home.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Berkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2006

This hotel would appeal to people that like just all inclusive hotels with no atmosphere and international style. You could be any where in the world including butlins (upmarket) staff brilliant, food disappointing, fabulous restaurants outside. First time we have ever been all inclusive and the last.

Beach area too crowded you could have been in benidorn or blackpool. Tobago is supposed to be the untouched caribbean island, , ok if you dont go to cocoreef.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2006

We have just returned from a two week holiday staying at the Coco Reef .The first week we could not fault the hotel the service was good we had a beautiful room overlooking the ocean the food excellent. The second week all changed famillies arrived with 2 or more children the hotel staff could not cope the service on the beach was almost non existent .We could not use the non watersports as the children monopolised these.Tamaras restuarant in the evening full of unruly children even to the point on some fighting and screaming.
It was a special occasion for myself trying to a book a table in Tamaras on the second week was nearly impossible some guests were allowed to book the evening before there seems to be one rule for some and one for the rest of us.This spoilt my birthday only when complaining to the management was a table found for us even at 7.00am im the morning.
This is a beautiful hotel if you want good service and food avoid school holidays

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank st-clares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
4.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Property: Coco Reef Tobago
Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing