We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing you already!”
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
A TripAdvisor Member
“Missing you already!”
Reviewed May 27, 2005

We have just returned from our trip to Coco Reef 12th May - 26th May 2005, we found a little piece of paradise. The hotel package was all-inclusive so we were a little apprehensive, this was unfound as the food was excellent, expecially Tamara's Restaurant with its elegant dining by candlelight and sea views. The staff was the most polite I have encontered. We were regularly asked if we would like refreshments on the beach and the cold towels from the ice-box were appreciated. Our Deluxe Ocean View Room was exactly like the brochure, spacious and well equiped. The maid service was excellent and appreciated her visit twice a day to refresh towels etc. The tropical gardens were beatifully landscaped. The beach was private with a wonderful breakwater that kept the swimming area safe. There was an array of tropical fish that would allow us to hand feed them. Don't hesitate - just go.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    451
    247
    112
    60
See reviews for
337
735
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 9, 2005

After reading a number of adverse comments about this hotel after we had booked it is evident those commentators should not have been there in the first place. Having visited a number of the islands in the Carribean we were in a position to compare and were delighted with our holiday.The hotel was in an excellent location where you were literally swimming with the fish. The staff were amongst the friendliest we have encountered and the food and service in Tamaras restuarant in particular was of a high standard.When we return to the island this hotel will be our first choice.

Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2005

We have just returned from two weeks All inclusive at the Coco Reef, Tobago where we were married on April 23rd. From the start of the holiday, the staff were very helpful and friendly, in particular Kevah and Andrea who made our wedding so stress free and perfect. The room was clean (although a little small), the view over Store Bay was wonderful and the food out of this world. The beach was clean and the lagoon made for safe snorkelling with some beautiful fish to be seen. We had 22 guests attend our wedding who stayed at the nearby Tropikist Hotel, and they were all treated really well, the wedding reception was amazing the room had been decorated with lights and beautiful flowers and the buffet could not be faulted. The added extras such as the wording of the petals on our bed and the personalised menu make you feel really special. The island of Tobago itself is beuatiful and we hired jeeps for a couple of days so that we could explore the full Island. We would thoroughly recommend the Coco Reef to hold your wedding for that really extra special day to remember.

Helpful?
13 Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glossop
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2005

We have just returned from a two week all inclusive Holiday with Virgin Holidays at the Coco Reef Hotel and would without doubt comprehensively recommend everything about the Hotel to anyone who is going there and has read the unbelievable negative reports posted by other visitors to this place on the Trip Adviser web site.The setting is superb, the friendly and helpful management and staff all go out of their way to assist you in any way they can
We had a superior sea view room which was cleaned twice daily and fresh beach / bath towels & condements were replaced during each clean and freh flowers were placed on the bed regularly. The food was superb and we can recommend Tamaras for a nice candle lit dinner. We went with grave reservations after reading the reports posted this year but all our cocerns were alleviated within the first 24 hours. There were no signs of mice or mouse traps: the linen was clean, and we experienced no noise from the public beaches.
If we return to Tobago. will without doubt go to the Coco Reef Hotel again.
We would be happy to answer any positive questions potential visitors may have.

Helpful?
26 Thank emmaellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2005

We have just returned from Coco Reef Hotel, Tobago having had a two week all inclusive holiday flying with Virgin Airways. We had a sea view deluxe room which was wonderful. The hotel proved to be one of the best we had ever stayed in. Its staff were some of the most polite and efficient we had ever encountered on a package holiday. Restaurant a la carte menus were next to none making a choice each night very difficult. The beach facilities were more than adequate as was the service of drinks, fruit and most grateful 'iced towels'. This hotel would suit any age group as well as young families. We would certainly recommend Coco Reef and will definitely be returning at some time.

Helpful?
16 Thank Harvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 17, 2005

We went to Coco Reef to get married in March 05.Six of us went.It was totally perfect,and we are perfectionists!Andrea and Kevah did everything to ensure our day went well.The location was perfect,the cake gorgeous the steel band,fantastic,and the hairdressers better than anywhere in England!!! The food at Coco Reef is superb,there are 2 restaurants one buffet and an a la carte (definately the best).The service is quite slow,but then its the Carribean,once you get used to waiting for a drink everything else is perfect.The staff are so friendly and chatty.The rooms are lovely,but go for a seaview.The beach area is very clean and it is a perfect relaxing holiday.There is live music each night but all over by 11.30pm which is just enough.We cannot recommend this hotel enough it was the perfect place to get married and all our family loved it too.We went onto Antigua for our honeymoon and watched a wedding there which was not a patch on ours.The staff did not have the same dedication and the location was not decorated nicely.At Coco Reef they decorate the location so well and the flowers you get are lovely.I have read some negative reviews and cannot understand what there is to complain about,its perfect! We will definately be back and so will half the people who have seen our wedding photos and video.When booking a wedding its best to book steel band (approx£100),and a private terrace meal(30pound)extra its well worth it. Also take your own champagne they charge £6 corkage or £40 bottle if you get it off them.Also consider a garland for the groom,we did it and it looked cool witha an open necked shirt rather than suit, as it was 85 degrees at 4pm when we got married.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 1, 2005

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Coco Reef (March 22-29, 2005), from the moment we were greeted upon check-in by the night manager, who informed us that the 2-bedroom, 2-bath suite we requested would be ready the following day. He was true to his word; we were moved from a 1-bath suite the following afternoon.

Our comfortable and well-appointed garden suite overlooked the beautifully manicured grounds, and we didn't have to leave our porch to engage in some interesting bird-watching. The social director (Keva) could not have been more helpful in arranging snorkeling, rain forest and fishing expeditions. Via e-mail prior to our departure, we were also able to arrange a surprise birthday cake for one of our daughters. The hotel could not have been more accommodating and the cake was done with flair.

The beachfront here is truly a gem, with its breakwater providing a sheltered cove that is conducive to swimmers of all ages. Those more adventurous can swim out among the anchored yachts. Beach boys will bring cold drinks to your chaise lounge, and the "pineapple tower" of fresh fruit brought 'round each afternoon is a nice touch.

As for food, the breakfast buffet is plentiful if somewhat repetitious -- obviously geared to British tastes, as attested to by the many overfed Brits who frequent the place. We're on a tropical Isle -- for goodness sake -- so why not more variety in fresh fruit!? Dinner buffets (with different theme nights such as Caribbean, Chinese, etc.) also are plentiful and often quite good. Always lots of pasta for picky child appetites. The a la carte restaurant is ambitious, but its nouvelle-Caribbean
aspirations sometimes miss the mark. If you are at all food oriented, I would recommend against the all-inclusive meal plan. Instead, explore some of the island's other restaurants. We could recommend, for local fare, the Blue Crab in Scarbourough (on the porch of a private residence), which was introduced to us by locals.

The hotel is very family oriented. We were there over Easter weekend and were told some 40 kids were in residence. Yet, the hotel avoids the institutional "cruise-ship" experience that makes so many huge Caribbean all-inclusives so odious. It manages to maintain, to a high degree, the feel of a small, exclusive hotel. We would go back to Coco Reef, and, as I write this in the cold New York rain, I find myself missing it very much.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
244 reviews
4.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
4.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Property: Coco Reef Tobago
Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing