We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location and service, needs some updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Certificate of Excellence
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and service, needs some updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

On our first visit to Coco Reef, I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted at the hotel lobby exiting our taxi by one of the staff members who offered to take our bags and escorted us to the check-in counter. We were offered a delicious smoothie to drink and were efficiently checked-in and taken to our room. The grounds and beach were fantastic, as was the lounge area off the lobby with an enticing sea view. The service was always courteous and efficient. The only downside was an obvious need for updating the physical infrastructure - dated fixtures, scuffed tiles and tired looking pool.
Our 4 year old enjoyed chasing birds and butterflies in the flowering gardens, and the enclosed beach was very safe, and filled with all types of fish which swam among us all the time.
With a well-stocked buffet breakfast included in our rate, the hotel stay was certainly value for money.

Room Tip: We prefer the ground floor rooms which are more easily accessible and still had a decent view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    409
    218
    103
    54
See reviews for
291
668
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at Coco Reef for 2 nights a couple of weeks ago and had a mixed experience. The setting and grounds are beautiful and we loved the private lagoon. However, there were also some negatives - the bathroom in our room could do with updating, the under sheet on the bed was very thick and on the first night we noticed it smelt a bit damp and by the second night it had worsened into a very unpleasant smell (not sure why such a thick sheet is even needed in the tropics), and the food in the main restaurant was very disappointing - we didn't dare attempt it again on our second night. Service was efficient and courteous, but not particularly friendly - a few more smiles from the staff would have made the service warmer. Overall, we had a good stay, as we enjoyed relaxing on the beach and the grounds really are stunning, but apart from those things, we don't think the hotel had much to offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We went to Coco Reef last year so knew what to expect, but this year we took my uncle so that made us a party of 7,5 adults and 2 children aged 6 & 8.
We had a great flight with Monarch and arrived to find our taxi pre ordered with the hotel waiting, within 5 minutes we were having a private champagne check in.

When we had finished our cases were taken to our rooms, our rooms had a personalised door plack with our name and suite on it, a lovely touch.

The rooms were clean and tidy with fresh flowers, fruit basket, wine and a welcome message on the bed made with leaves and flowers.

We unpacked then went for food we had been checked into the amazing restaurant and found a menu saying welcome back, the food for the whole 2 weeks was fabulous.

Gary normally looked after us at night and we had lots of fun with him, he never knew what the soufflé was (which are a must) so we always teased him. But always went out of his way to make sure we were all ok.

All the staff are great and it would take to long time to list all of them but a special thank you to Gary, Nikita,Lawson, Roshan, sorry the his name escapes me but the gentleman who worked the bar in Bobsters most nights, serving us drinks to perfection. Curtan the food service manager and Erik the General Manager.

The beach is always clean and plenty of sun loungers available.
The drinks are always cold and are bought down the beach so you don't have to move, also fruit kebabs are bought to you.

The room was always clean,with a turn down service at night so there was always clean towels and the sand was always removed.

We love the character and the friendly atmosphere here as you can do as much or as little as you want.
Another amazing holiday made so by the wonderful, friendly staff who will always willing to help you at Coco Reef, all being well hoping to return again next year...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I am never disappointed with my visits to Coco Reef. The staff are so great and welcoming that I feel as if I am going to stay with friends. I particularly like the all inclusive package so I don't have to worry what my bill is going to look like at the end of the stay. Seeing some of the comments admittedly some of the areas in the hotel are looking a bit tired and could do with a spruce up but the overall experience is worth the visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is my second review for this hotel having stayed here the same time last year. Nothing has changed, apart from new sun shades around the pool. The pool is now green with no obvious signs of treatment and the amount of children that go in there, I refuse to go in it. Also I'm sure something is living in it as something brushed past my foot but as it is so green you can see the floor! As someone else has put the sheets on the old and worn, something you would expect in 2 star hotel! No one the hotel is so quiet!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This place you truly feel the warmt and friendliness of the people of tobago. The ambience is second to none. The rooms are spacious and exceptionally clean and comfortable. It's the ideal place for families. I'm leaving today, but definitely hope to be back soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trinbagonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is really not worth the cost of accommodations per night, and I say this as a seasoned traveler. The linens on the beds are old and thin, the comforters are very 70s/80s, the bathrooms in horrible condition, the towels look like they've been there for close to a decade. To summarize, this hotel desperately needs to be renovated. You may be under the impression that because its beachfront, the price may be worth it, but the small beachfront nook really isn't that great. You'd only end up walking or taking a taxi to Store Bay or Pigeon Point anyway. The breakfast was ok, but compared to other meals I've had at other Caribbean hotels, it really isn't something you need to write home about. Nothing in this hotel warrants its rate. You'd get better value going to another island or somewhere in Central America. If Tobago (and many other English-speaking Caribbean countries) wants to compete in the global tourism industry, it must start proving quality for the price. At these prices, someone can easily go to a new resort in Mexico and get better quality for the money. The staff were cordial and polite - no complaints there, but it didn't compensate for the rest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globehopper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
4.4 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Property: Coco Reef Tobago
Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing