We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Comfortable”
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at Coco Reef for the first time in February for a week. I choose it because we wanted a quiet chilled out holiday without jet skis or the internet! The hotel is worn but wonderful! It has real character and is very comfortable, the location is beautiful and the swimming safe with plenty of sun beds. The service at the hotel excellent. Breakfast is very good with plenty of choice. The food at dinnertime was not exactly to our taste but the lunch grill was very good. We did find it was easy to go out and eat at night as the taxis are good and will come back to take you home before being paid! I had a very good massage in the hotel spa which is at the top of the hotel in a beautiful sunny room. Steven, a tour guide and car rental man at the hotel, really made our trip. As our driver for the day he took us all over the island including a fabulous lunch and lots of information on the island and life in Tobago, he even managed to find us traditional food such as Cow Heel soup. The Sunday before we left he took us to Sunday School, a street party with steel drums and barbecue. Although the hotel is quite enclosed and has everything you need by taking our trips with Steven we felt like we had experienced Tobago.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotsaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

We just returned from a fantastic weekend at Coco Reef. The location of this hotel is ideal since you are literally next to Store Bay, 5mins from Airport and 15mins from Pigeon Point Beach. The rooms were colonial style and clean an the service was great even at 5AM. If you have small kids this hotel is perfect as beach is calm, clean and not motorized water activities are free. I would highly recommend Villa 402 which a second floor two bedroom two bath villa. Definitely wuld return to this hotel when in Tobago again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a fantastic two week holiday at the Coco Reef! The hotel was lovely with open sea views from all communal areas. We ate breakfast, sipped cocktails (banana smoothies) read books and played games overlooking the sea. The staff were incredibly friendly and caring towards our 3.5 and 5 year old. The staff and Mr Eric Feneit (manager) did all they possibly could to make our stay comfortable and very special.The lagoon was the perfect place for the children (non/beginner swimmers) to swim/snorkel around with arm bands. You can borrow kayaks and snorkelling equipment from the hotel. The hotel has a shop with all essentials and just outside the hotel within walking distance are small mini markets and basic but lovely eateries. The hotel was quite quiet the first week so the restaurant and beach only had a few people in it which was great. The second week was busier with the build up to the Easter festivities (shame we missed) but the hotel didn't feel packed or too busy. We had a few days throughout the holiday driving around the island to see the rain forset, waterfall and other beaches. We also spent a day on a private boat line fishing, spotting dolphins & turtles, snorkelling and jumping off the boat. A real adventure and experience for the kids. There is plenty to do and see on the island/near Crown point and the hotel can help organise or point you in the right direction. We drove past other hotels while there and Coco Reef was definitely the nicest and best located. I can't recommend it enough - thank you Coco Reef!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view rather than garden view. The further from the reception the quieter although wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

As one enters Coco Reef, the drifting palm trees along the meandering roadway beckons of a plantation lifestyle that once was. As one continues to be mesmerized, the grand colonial type architecture of the lobby/foyer approaches and invitingly opens to an open deck with eventual stairway into clear blue lagoon.

A home away from home is how I would describe Coco Reef. The location is ideal, being close to the Airport and around the the hub bub of Tobago. Store Bay, a popular beach, is next door. With lagoon of clear blue water, swimming and snorkeling is enjoyable. With two restaurants and bar, food and drink is never lacking. The ocean and garden view rooms boast of private terrace ideal for private sunbathing. The rooms are clean and comfortable with expected amenities. The bathroom is clean and decent. The staff is warm, friendly and always ever helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Overall the trip was good - not great. Having read all the generally negative reviews we still decided to give Coco Reef a try - being locals and all… and this is what we thought:

The Pros:
• Very nice beach; calm, clear, great for kids and swimmers - this was the best feature the hotel had to offer
• Food was generally good, though limited at lunch and there was a lack of that Caribbean flair at both restaurants
• The majority of staff were friendly and helpful


The Cons:
• Way too expensive overall
• Entire hotel, especially the rooms, in dire need of updating.
• The mattress was obviously very old and sagging in the middle.
• The room was not cleaned and swept properly with the daily maid service; we even found a dead cockroach in the room. There aren’t any floor mats in the rooms, which would have been very helpful seeing that it’s a beach hotel after all and residual sand gets tracked all over the place.
• Lighting in the rooms was way too dim. I guess the hotel may have been aiming for a certain ambiance in the rooms, but it just wasn’t functional at all. Getting dressed for dinner was a bit of a chore.
• The staff seemed to treat the tourists/foreign guests better than the locals (keeping in mind that we didn’t receive bad service per se but we still noticed the difference in attitude from some). Bear in mind the staff were still friendly to us.

Other stuff to keep in mind:

A note to the men: you do need to wear collared shirts at Tamara’s for dinner.

There are lots of restaurants close to the hotel so no need to purchase food from the hotel all the time.

Also be aware that there are noisy seagulls perched along the rocks lining the lagoon, but the noise sort of fades into the background after a while.

Try any of the soufflés for dessert!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geeta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Close to airport but you do not hear any noise
A nice welcome with a cool drink, a fast smooth check in,we were shown to room 139 very spacious with 2 large double beds and terrace over looking the sea.a very quiet end of the hotel which was nice.
The room was clean but the bathroom needs an update with poor shower over the bath and a shower curtain which had seen better days .
I did ask for a shower cap and extra towels as there were three of us and pillows which all came promptly, as did ice for the ice bucket and extra glasses .
Let's not dwell on that as you don't spend much time in the room.comfy beds though!
The beach and lagoon is perfect,shallow and so clear you could see all the colourful fish easily,great snorkelling with borrowed equipment from the dive centre at the end of the beach.my husband used the dive centre and they were great.
There is plenty of shade and it wasn't busy so sun beds were easily available, no cushions however a little annoying as I do like them.the towels you get from reception were tired and thin another minor irritation.
The staff were all nice and do a good job but not overly engaging.
Nice touch of drinks brought to you on the beach at eleven and fruit.
The beach bar lunch area was nice, we just had sandwiches at lunch so not sure about the buffet.
The main restaurant where breakfast was served was nice overlooking the beach,a good breakfast buffet.
We had dinner a few times which was good but went just down the road most evenings as a good range of eating places just outside the hotel.
We had a great day out with Stephen from the hotel, who drove us all round the island for a great price.we recommend him he's fantastic.
The food and beverage manager was lovely and eager for feedback.the general manager also came to chat after I had mentioned a few issues and we had a good conversation and listened to our feedback, however I feel he had heard it all before.
We had a great holiday there and we would return.



Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank pip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I went to Tobago with my husband for a totally chill-out relaxing couple of weeks - we couldn't have picked better. Fantastic staff, brilliant position, beautiful outlook, fabulous food - cannot fault this place. Lots of Trinidadians on short breaks - lots of Brits, some Germans, a couple of Americans. Perfect mix. And the ages vary from kids on hols to old farts like us. We were there for my 60th and the staff couldn't have been fabber. Cannot wait to go back but will have to save up lots first........

Room Tip: The garden view room which we had was a lot quieter than the pool or beach side ones. And bigger!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faceache1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
250 reviews
4.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range: $272 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing