We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Reviewed February 16, 2014

By far the best choice for a stay in Tobago. Caring staff, excellent facilities and good service make this a super hotel. Food is very good and restaurants allow one to choose ones preferred dining ambience and cuisine. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank P7163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
There are newer reviews for Coco Reef Tobago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

To say it's not value for money would be a fair statement in my opinion. It does look tired and needs some money throwing at it for what you pay to stay.

Although saying that, it does offer some lovely views and the staff are very good and always helpful. For that alone it is worth the visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was in awe at the exceptional Customer Service this hotel offers. I am a Certified Customer Service Trainer and let me tell you this hotel has shown what customer service is all about. I will stay here again in a heartbeat even though the price is a bit steep.
The only negative is because I am from the Caribbean I am accustomed to spicy foods. However this resort lunch a bit bland the breakfast is awesome. However I enjoyed my stay so much I will happily eat the food.

The Thanks Coco Reef I cant wait to visit again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hotfudge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have just returned from a week’s holiday in Tobago staying at the Coco Reef hotel. The hotel itself is situated in South Tobago near the Capital of Scarborough. Scarborough does not give the best impression of the Island and hiring a car and getting out and seeing Tobago is a must - Tobago is beautiful and the people are really friendly. It took us one day to drive the whole Island stopping at almost every bay we found, we felt totally safe and welcomed by everyone we spoke with.
Coco Reef itself is a nice hotel in need of some TLC. The big pluses for the hotel are the staff and the food. The staffs, on the whole, are friendly and helpful, they work hard to keep the hotel ticking along, our rooms were cleaned every day and the beds made, the laundry service was efficient and the air conditioning in the bedroom worked well.
The bedroom and bathroom however are now dated, tired and desperately in need of modernisation. We stayed in a Garden View room - note that this room does not have a view but looks onto the security fence - not nice. The lighting in the room was poor, the shower had non-existent water pressure and some days tepid were the best temperature. The beds were large and comfy and with just a bit of money spent on them the rooms could be nice again. We asked to move rooms and were told this was not possible although we saw others staying in the same rooms we were really kick up a fuss and they were moved. We took the view that we would spend as little time as poss. in the room and make the most of staying on this beautiful Island.
The hotel beach is lovely but too shady - perfect beach for children but if you want to do some serious sun bathing it’s a pain. The other half of the beach gets more sun (bottom of steps to left) but very few sun lounges which were gone by 10 in the morning. The pool is fine, small and again fairly shady but nice enough to sit around for an hour or 2 BUT the beach does have 2 waiters any drink you wanted and they would magic it up, perfect when you fancy a cocktail and can’t be bothered to move!
Lunch was served at the beach bar and always had lots of different foods to try and always catch of the day cooked on the barbeque; the food really was very good.
In the evening you could choose to eat in Tamara’s or in the beach bar - we opted for the beach bar most nights as the shirt and trousers for men and casually elegant for women dining rule is all a bit old fashion now (hotels in the Caribbean probably need to wake up to this you don’t even have these rules in top London restaurants anymore) but the food was always good!
We were impressed with the drinks; the wine served was very drinkable, not the best but for an all-inclusive not bad at all. The selections of other drinks were superb the gin was good and of course so was the rum!
Our best days were when we were out and about. I wouldn’t recommend bothering with Scarborough not very nice to visit and of everywhere we went it was the only place we were offered drugs and felt slightly unsafe - the rest of the Island is a totally different story.
An absolute must is a visit to the Rainforest. We went with a company called Jeep Safari - the guides were excellent Wesley and Dennis both probably in their late 20's maybe early 30's. There were enthusiastic about the Island and knew everything! Dennis collected us at 8.30am and we got back at about 4.30, we swam in a waterfall, visited an old Sugar Mill, walked through the rain forest and went looking for Cayman (the local harmless Alligator) - which we saw 2 of. A brilliant trip which we would highly recommend. As mentioned previously definitely hire a car and see the Island Castara in particular is beautiful and the people are lovely and welcoming. Lots of people raved about eating at Jemmas Tree House Kitchen but we weren’t that impressed. For good, local food stop in one of the villages and eat at their local restaurants.
We will definitely be visiting Tobago but will stay at the Northern side of the Island but if I had a young family and wanted a quiet, safe resort for a week’s R and R offering good value for money I would choose Coco Reef (just don’t get a Garden View room).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were much impressed by this hotel, perfect for our annual laze in the sun. We travelled with Virgin on an all-inclusive basis and were treated royally. Our accommodation, a garden suite, was spacious, clean and well appointed. Admittedly the taps were rather eccentrically fitted, the hot tap in the basin turning the "wrong way" but that is the quirky Caribbean! Shower pressure was good and water always hot. The architecture and décor were traditional but that is the style of the place ("Government House Pink " being very much to the fore).

The beach was superb. There were plenty of loungers and lots of shade. The staff patrolled the beach, offering non-alcoholic drinks and fresh fruit and taking orders if one wanted something stronger. We were there for spring tides but there was still more than adequate space on teh beach for all the guests, even at high tide. The lagoon was gently shelving and, protected by the artificial reef, totally free of current or undertow. The depth at high tide was probably only about 7 ft. and, at low tide, a maximum of 5ft.

The food, in our opinion, was better than one usually gets in the Caribbean. It was too easy to pig it out at breakfast, the range on offer covering both UK, American, Caribbean and Scandinavian ideas of what was appropriate. Lunches at the beach bar offered "pans" of food as well as the barbeque offerings done to order with salads and desserts to follow. Evening meals were sometimes buffet but generally a la carte. The selection was excellent, we always found something tempting. Our main problem was our own greed, after a week it became, "what is the lightest meal on offer"

The staff at the hotel are drawn from far afield, not only Tobago. They are friendly, helpful and efficient. There are so many, obviously spreading the income from the hotel over as wide a net as possible, there is nothing other than tourism to help Tobago pay its way in the world. Consequently, as a tourist, one is welcomed, not treated with the arrogance and indifference found in some countries. But, that said, a surly complaining growl is no way to make contact, even if you do have a problem
.
The evening entertainment was very good, the traditional steel pans being well represented. We had three superb soloists while we were there. It was the perfect way to relax after a day in the sun. It is a pity that one has the disconcerting "zombie" portraits staring down at you from the walls.

Outside the hotel, Tobago offers very little in the way of entertainment. This was our second visit and, once one has done the official "day tour of the Island" there is very little else. We used the local bus to get in to Scarborough, 2TTs each way, tickets bought from Jimmy's supermarket but this is a government service so very different from the riotous mayhem of the Barbadian local buses. We wanted to visit the Botanical Garden but were extremely disappointed as it was merely a well maintained green area, perfect for picnic lunches. It probably dates from 1920 but has been left in botanical limbo for years. It no longer aims to inform or educate.

We had planned our stay to encompass two Sundays, in order to attend Sunday School at Buccoo Reef twice. However, we were somewhat disappointed as the venue has been sanitized since our last visit five years ago. Now it is very clean and organised and consequently has lost its aura of spontaneity. However, it is still an experience not to be missed.

We met quite a few people who return here year after year, having found nothing to outdo it in the Caribbean. As there are only 135 rooms, one develops a pleasant nodding acquaintance with other guests. It is a friendly and happy place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

If you like warm, friendly service, staff with personalities, lovely beach, great snorkelling and a good breakfast surrounded by gardens, go for it.
I agree that the bathrooms are tired, but for us who actually hate hotels, everything else including the building itself, more than made up for it. In terms of food... well The problem is, the food at Coco reef actually isn't good but then the choices in the immediate area, aren't either.
On a 2 week holiday you will run out of choices, we ate more pizza in 2 weeks than I have eaten in 2 years.

Room Tip: We had a superior garden room ( BA Holiday package ) although there was no sea view, we had a suite...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was our second visit to The Coco Reef, The location is superb, lagoon swimming area great and wonderful beach under the shade of palm trees. However the hotel is getting tired and the pace need refurbishment, especially the bathrooms which whilst clean are old and worn. Towel service was erratic and we only received hand towels on our first night. The air conditioning was as per our last visit, and it was poor then.The food ranged from quite good to pretty poor with the Sunday buffet awful. We are going to go to Antigua next time as it represents far better value for money. And, if you were considering Virgin Upper Class, save your money!

Room Tip: Always choose ocean view, the views are spectacular, wonderful sunsets.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
250 reviews
4.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range: $264 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing