We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Coco Reef in August 2013.We are a family of four with two children aged 9 & 7. When we originally booked the Hotel with our tour operator we requested a room on the upper level over looking the sea. We paid extra money for this.
Upon arrival we were shown a room with a sea view on the ground floor. We could only see the plants & flowers in the grounds in front of us. The children 's beds were Z beds which seemed unacceptable for a 2 week stay. My husband went to reception to voice our concerns. Eric the Manager just happened to be there at the time. He did explain that the upper floor was for double occupancy only and that the Hotel does not promote children being on an upper level with a balcony. This we appreciated but, it was not what we paid for or were told by our operator. I hasten to say this was not the Hotel's fault. We were moved to a far better room and the children had a more than comfortable double bed. We also had the view that had we paid for!
Eric and ALL his staff were truly superb.They were so accommodating to the point of making us feel humble! The food was amazing ( and we have stayed in some wonderful 5 star plus hotels in the past! ). Every food request for our 7 year old was met without an eyebrow raised. And as for our 9 year old, she had steak almost every night!! We felt totally spoilt. The staff on the beach were so attentive & were continually asking what we would like to drink.
To read some of the petty reviews that people bother to write is quite frankly laughable even to complain about towels??? That is sad!
Yes the Hotel is dated, but to us that fits in with the whole ambience of Tobago. It is not scruffy it's very clean.It is relaxing and totally chilled. The location & setting of the hotel is simply breathtaking. Thank you Eric And staff x The Paulucci family

Room Tip: Any seaview room on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    440
    241
    109
    60
See reviews for
330
718
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have recently returned from another great holiday at Coco reef. As always , when we arrived we were made welcome by Mr Eric Feniet and all the staff. It always feels as though we are returning home when we arrive. I guess this must be the same comforting feeling all repeaters feel. Our room was beautiful and full of the lovely gifts of fruit and flowers e.t.c . the food was excellent as always, and the choice is varied enough to suit everyone.
We go to Coco reef to completely relax and enjoy our holiday, which is exactly what we do. This resort is for people who want quiet and comfort, if you are looking for noise and bustle , this is not the place for you. Coco Reef is what we expect from a Carribean resort , it has charm and comfort and is exactly as you would expect the tropics to be, all the staff are warm and friendly , and you will receive the same curtisy that you give. We will be returning next year , and we know we will experience the same wonderful holiday as always.

Room Tip: second floor is better for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivienCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Leeds
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Spent two weeks at Coco reef in September, it was the rainy season and we did experience quite some rainfall but it dried up so quickly no one cared. We did ask to change rooms so they moved us to 239 and it had a beautiful view. Everything at coco reef was painted peach and could do with updating, but I did not come on holiday to worry about the decor or to spend time in the room,when the weather and beach were so lovely. The beach is a small private beach and when we were there there were only a handful of guests and it was brilliant. You just have to walk into the sea and a shoal fish will swim up to you, and if you take some bread they will eat out of your hand.
The staff were always very polite and courteous and the manager Eric was always around to talk to. The food was repetitive as it is with all all-inclusive holidays.The evening meals are a dining experience and you are served rather than helping yourself, some people complained that men have to wear a shirt with a collar and long trousers, but if you know that before you go why complain. Also the dining room is up a flight of stairs, so people with mobility problems are seated in the reception area at the bottom of the stairs. There are plenty of nice places outside to eat, the pizza place just next door and the pasta place at the end of the street were particularly nice.
Although the hotel is not suitable for people with mobility problems, the staff were always on hand to assist people and they even carried a wheelchair onto the beach with the gentleman still in it.
I loved my stay at Coco reef and will return next year at the same time, but will come on a bed and breakfast option.

Room Tip: Don't choose a ground floor because when it rains, things from outside want to come in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoehappylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We visited the Coco Reef in September 2013 for a weeks all inclusive holiday. We had originally booked the Magdalena but for reasons never divulged to us we were 'upgraded' to Coco Reef. The trip from the airport was literally 5 minutes but we were never disturbed by aeroplanes during our stay. On arrival we were greeted with a cold glass of punch and friendly check in staff. We had requested a room overlooking Store Bay this request was not met but the room we were given had a pleasant view and was clean.
The lagoon was beautiful and amazing for snorkelling. Get close up to the rocks and the fish are stunning. Pigeon Point a short pleasant walk and picture postcard beautiful. A definite must is a trip to Bucco for Sunday School. A fantastic night, brilliant music and talented musicians.
Overall we had a lovely relaxing holiday with plentiful, super food and copious amounts of cocktails both alcoholic and non. The majority of the staff could not do enough to please you and were very polite. My only criticism of this hotel is that it is a little tired. It really could do with a complete refurb to bring it up to the standard expected of some guests. Another disappointment was the swimming pool. I do like to swim in a pool sometimes and only did so in the one at Coco Reef once. I never saw anyone swimming in it and it is not particularly inviting with tatty cracked tiling and murky looking water. Also it is not really in the sun so nobody ever really sits by it.
Evening entertainment was poor but it was a quiet time of year. We made our own entertainment enjoying drinks and laughing with guest we met. Hello Roger and Carol if you read this, you made our holiday and certainly made me laugh!
Coco Reef is a truly lovely hotel that just needs a bit of TLC but I would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillerHamorakTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at the hotel whilst in Tobago on a two (2) days business trip with another work colleague. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, had a refreshing welcome drink and were soon taken to our respective rooms.

Comfortable and clean room. The view from my balcony was spectacular...

Everything was going good with my stay, until lunch day two (2)... As a vegetarian I didn't expect fresh green salads to be prepared with bits of meat not to be labeled so. Needless to say I had a few mouthfuls of the patchoi salad (unaware of the bacon in it), upon discovering the bacon, well all I can say is that my appetite had gone and I begun to feel sick :(

I enquired from the Restaurant staff why wasn't the patchoi salad labeled "with bacon" and I was told "everyone knows that the patchoi salad has bacon in it"... I replied, don't assume everyone will know.

So what started off on a good note end up with a sour taste in my mouth :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalaikaAlexander2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We; my husband and I took this trip for a restful break and it was exactly that. The hotel staff are very helpful and the room was excellent, we were in a beach view room. We did not take all inclusive on this occasion bed and breakfast was our choice.
The hotel is a little tired in places but clean enough and the facilities in the room are good..even a proper kettle not a coffee maker, a fridge and a tv. The hotel provides beach towels and room towels but personally I think these are a little worn out and could do with replacing.
The breakfast was plentiful the usual buffet style of continental or hot with an egg station. Unfortunately the tea and coffee are from a thermos jug and never seemed to be hot. The restaurant is visited by the local birds while you eat breakfast, the staff so their best to keep them away in a very original way......but beware the birds do nick your toast if you are not looking.
There is wifi available but only in the business from at the back of reception, it is easier to use your own device on the wifi than the computers which are available I found them a little temperamental.
We were there in late September the end of the season and it was very quiet, the hotel was not busy but also there was very little in the way of entertainment in the hotel, in fact there was only a singer a couple of nights and this was poorly attended.
The lagoon is beautiful, no need to use the pool, it's shallow and safe for non or weak swimmers but is also deep enough for those stronger swimmers with the added bonus of beautiful snorkelling.
As we were not inclusive we found the drinks inside the hotel expensive as was the restaurant we preferred to eat out. There are also some shops within the hotel but as usual better deals can be had outside.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel, it is very well located for the airport and for walking out in the evening, the area seemed very safe with plenty of bars and eating places close by.

Room Tip: Beach view was lovely but a bit close to the reception are so could be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed five nIghts--really could not have faced another meal with the surly--hostile even--waitresses. There's a sense at this hotel of trying to be upscale and exclusive without really knowing what it means. (Dress code? For a mediocre buffet dinner by the beach?) Rooms need an update and noisy boats go by blaring music from the neighboring public beach. Hotel beach is lovely with snorkeling along the rocks. Had some nice dinners out in the neighborhood. Its a resont in the tropics--you have to be a scrooge to have a bad vacation. I would probably go back, but it is what it is.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Li H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
4.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Property: Coco Reef Tobago
Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing