We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The childerens grand parents persauded us to take the childeren to tobago. We stayed at a lovley hotel, the coco reef resort and spa, the staff were lovley the beds were comfy the food was great and we esspecially liked the buffet in the morning! The atmosphere was was nice and if you got near enogh the right side of the island you could see Trinidad. We went at carnival time it was a lovley thing to see although the noise could burst your ear drums! The other thing I would say about going at carnival time is that the music bellowed out of boats loudly very late at night wich kept you up. This is one of our best family trips we have ever been on. The best things about this holiday was feeding the fish and big birds of prey watching over you whilst you eat breakfast. The birds dont come out every day.

Room Tip: Althogh the hotel is very close to the airport the planes do not distub you, you dont realise thier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosewaterpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    439
    238
    109
    60
See reviews for
327
716
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have heard it said and would confirm that this is probably the best hotel on the island. It is conveniently located near to the airport but surprisingly are not affected by noise. The staff kindly fitted us in just before Xmas after requesting a move from another hotel which we were very dissatisfied with.

We had ground floor deluxe rooms which were very comfortable, spacious and well furnished. The hotel seems to be constantly kept well maintained on the exterior but will have to turn their attention in the next year or two to the bathrooms where paper is just beginning to come away from the walls. Not a big issue.

The beach is within a protected wall so you get very little wave action but great for snorkeling, and ball games in the water. The beach itself is well supplied with sunbeds which could badly do with some mattresses. Either side are public beaches, easily accessed by a short walk or if you are a strong swimmer by the sea. These are great for playing in the waves. To the left there is also a group of food outlets selling local food until early evening, cheap and tasty if you choose right.

The staff at the hotel are truly magnificent and never seem to be able to do enough for you but don't intrude unless you ask.

The main restaurant is good, but like any hotel can get a bit 'samey' after a while (breakfasts). We only ate our evening meal there a couple of times but the food was good with plenty of choice. The are several local restaurants nearby, some excellent. I have probably only ever eaten half a dozen pizzas in my life but ate 3 whilst in here. Just don't expect speedy service anywhere on the island - it just doesn't happen and if you accept that before you go you won't be disappointed. Saw a few tourists loosing their rag but something didn't arrive immediately - it just won't happen.

A lovely Caribbean destination if you want r & r. The people are lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BUGZYLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Tobago.

Before leaving we read the trip advisor reviews and were horrified by some of the comments. Happily these people must have been staying in a different hotel to us!

Firstly the site is great, with a safe beach and swimming. The decor is old fashioned cane furniture which we like. Why go to the Caribbean if you want funky modern furniture that you cant sit on and is out of keeping with the hotel and region (Elegant resorts in Barbados please take note). The building is dark inside with mainly terracota tiles on the floor - but complainers might have noticed that Trinidad is just 7 miles from Venezuala. This is a hot and humid region and the architcture is similar to Spanish influenced buildings in South America. They are made like this for the very good reason that they keep you cool.

Secondly, the staff are great. Everyone was warm and friendly, quick to help and responded to problems immediately. I can't understand what others have been complaining about. We were upgraded to a suite as it was a big number wedding anniversary.

The only little niggles we had were in relation to the food. Like others we felt there were too many buffet meals. The a la carte food was good, but the buffet night fare was ordinary so we tended to eat away on those nights. I'm sorry to say that we were surprised on eating out to discover what Tobago style callaloo and plantain were meant to taste like. The same food in hotel was badly cooked and tasteless.

One other complaint for Virgin. We went out on the "all in" programme paying over £1500 for the privilage. We were shocked to discover we couldnt have the drinks we wanted. We are not great drinkers and I had only 3 glasses of wine and a few beers with my meals the whole fortnight. Once my wife asked fo a Baileys on the rocks after dinner and I found on settling up I had been charged an extra £5.50 for this one drink. I was told I couldn't have any cocktail with Tequila in it and the gin they gave us for Gin and Tonic was disgusting.

If I had one improvement for the hotel it would be to change their drinks policy and to teach the bar staff how to make cocktails properly.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our second stay at Coco Reef after about 14 years. I agree with the strengths and weaknesses others have raised. The top floor rooms are considerably smaller than those on the ground floor, suites are much better if you can stretch to them. We liked the ability to walk to several restaurants and cafes (especially Kariwak with free wi-fi and the bar at Pigeon Point) and the fitness room is well-equipped. We took away good memories of the genuinely friendly staff and uncrowded beaches with crystal clear waters. Don't bother going all-inclusive unless you intend to punish your liver - we got better value and better experiences by trying other restaurants. Crab and dumpling or goat roti in the place next to the hotel were cheap and especially good. Still my favourite Caribbean island - a long way from the Sandals-type package and none the worse for that!

Room Tip: See my main review on room size. Those near the pool are quieter whilst those near reception get noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mysteryshopper_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you are expecting a 5 or 4 star US type hotel you will be disapointed, This is the unspoiled and laid back caibbean island of Tobago, its how the caribbean used to be, and long may it last,where everybody is friendly and actually pleased to see you.The staff at the CoCo reef really do try to make your stay memorable, and are friendly and helpful. The Management do struggle a little at times and will admit it also, which is refreshing, give it a couple of days and you get it, and realise they are doing an excellent job. Earlier reviews suggested the hotel maybe "shabby chic" and have thread bare beach towels. Well the shabby bit has gone, and the hotel has had a paint job, the beach towels are all new. On balance this hotel is most likly the best run on the island and attracts many personalities. During our visit a local election was in progress, the TT Prime Minster and small entourage were in residence, you would not know it apart from some rather smartly dressed men in suits who failed to show basic manners to vistors. .
The rooms were clean and functional, water hot, sheets clean, and tap water you CAN drink. housekeeping was variable, but once they called by could not be faulted. ( if they dont have replacement tea and coffee you just ask and it appears the next day). nice touch was a large unit of UHT milk for the fridge. the air conditioning worked and as we tended not to use it, found that leaving the windows open ( first floor recommended) made things very comfortable.
The beach was cleaned daily and well cared for, the fish in the swimming lagoon were fabulous
The trip from the airport to the hotel was 5 mins, and can walk it in 10 mins, dont get sucked into the virgin $10 early check in.
We elected for BB as earlier reviewers suggested there were many options and there are, the Backyard cafe, the Pizza place , and Coco cafe just behind the hotel run by the Coco reef, walk out to pigeon point and try some of the 3 table fishing shack lobster ( 2 medium lobstars, 4 local beers, couple of salads all for 400tt which is about £40) and many more places close by. The hotel food for the all inclusives looked reasonable as well.
Took the opportunity to get the hourly local bus to scarborough for 20p and would recommend the experience ( fruit and veg market, spice stalls) avoid Scarborough if the cruise liners are due.
Back at Coco Reef Eric works this hotel well, he is seen and gets his hand dirty despite being in place for 17 years, some visitors do like the interaction and there seems to be a high number of returnee, and a good number of grey approval. It has a familar feel after a while and you just relax. Thank goodness there are no Mcdonalds or KFC and few north amercian visitors, the island has that caribbean feel that europeans seem to like, its even more laid back than "death in Paradise" .
Unexpectaly we would go back, as long as Tobago continues to be laid back. and following conversations at the airport we dont think there is a better hotel on the island. We thought St Lucia was excellent 2 years back but Tobago tops that experience. Enjoy

Room Tip: First floor Ocean view ask for tea and coffee making facilities. see other reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank taylor-mcfadyens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Having just returned from our 4th trip to Coco Reef, and 10th trip to Tobago, this is undoubtedly a wonderful place to stay. The Manager, Eric, always looks after us very well, the food is fantastic, the staff fun and attentive. Already looking at booking again for next year. The hotel may need a bit of attention but with a lot of the airlines reducing flights, therefore reducing passenger numbers, this is making it a very difficult proposition for the whole of Tobago. Mind you, the quieter it is, the better it will be for us!!! Wouldn't want to have to find anywhere else to go for my winter sunshine though!!! Well done Coco Reef - keep it up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a wonderful holiday on this beautiful island but were disappointed with the hotel. It is very dated and sadly the staff did not appear to have had any training and were not being managed. It didn't take us long to unwind and chill out in the traditional Caribbean way but waiting times for drinks etc became ridiculous meaning we had to ask more than once on a regular basis. On a positive note the food and service in Tamaras Restaurant in the evenings was very good. The hotel has its own beach and lagoon which is beautiful and a real asset to the hotel. A good manager could make this hotel outstanding, it has a fabulous location with great potential.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ljtaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.4 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.7 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Property: Coco Reef Tobago
Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing