We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
Nearby Hotels
$135
$108
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort(Lowlands)(Great Value!)
$286
$205
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$169
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,593)
Filter reviews
1,593 results
Traveler rating
665
483
260
118
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
483
260
118
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beacheric fenietbeach restaurantfishmain restaurantman made lagoonsafe swimmingdress codethe general managerwelcome drinka la cartepalm treesbeach servicefabulous holidaysea viewbit datedevening entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,342 - 1,347 of 1,593 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Whilst the first impression of Tobago at the airport is a bit of a shock , 5 minutes later you are inside a beautiful manicured park and driving through palm trees to arrive at the reception.

The first impression here is one of complete relaxation with views of the white beach and caribbean sea. The rooms are good quality and have a welcome message written in flower petals on the bed. A minus point was the welcome cocktail which was a mixed smoothie - maybe not everybodys taste. The only word regarding room selection is to ask for the one's in the centre sections as dogs barking in adjoining properties upset the otherwise relaxing holiday experience for some guests.

The restaurants provide excellent menus and we found the food at either, whether for lunch or dinner catered for every taste. Our preference was for lunch at the beach restaurant where the fish or steak bbq's were delicious. For dinner we alternated with Tamara's where the head chef has created a very wide selection. He also has a great sense of humour with his art, describing in the menus dishes as "mesmerized by", "influenced with", "surrounded by" etc.

Every night there was superbly professional entertainment and dancing, should you feel the urge.

The beach is magnificent, with very safe bathing, water sports for those more energetic or just wading in waist high parts of the lagoon surrounded by "nemo" and other colourful fish. Just when you feel a rum punch or fruit cocktail coming on, low and behold it arrives at your sun lounger served, if by magic, delivered by some charming staff members. In fact everyone from the lady who freshly prepares your morning egg of every variety, "morning my dear!" she says with a smile, all the staff are efficient and friendly.

Outside the Hotel, a short walk provides an ATM machine, a couple of other restaurants and a wonderful batique shop. An hour's walk into Pidgeon Point will provide you with a sighting of at least 12 birds you have never seen before. Other must's, hire a driver for a day to see the island, ours was called "Zorro" and sang calypso to us throughout the day. The rain forest is a must, as is a day sail or a party on a 44 foot catamaran.

This was our first all inclusive holiday and we will do it again, interspersed with villa holidays. One week per island would be our choice and Coco Reef on Tobago would be a must for one of them.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sussextraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We have just returned from what we can only describe as a probably the best holiday we have ever had. There were 4 adults in our party and from day 1 the hotel and its staff were on hand 24/7 to assist us with anything we wanted. Eric the Manager was on site every day and spent time chatting to holiday makers about their stay.It was a lovely gesture when he bought his daughter Jade to meet us. He was very friendly and the courtesy champagne was a real treat!!! The rooms were exceptionally clean all the time. Food was fantastic in both restaurants. The beach waitors were very efficient. Our other highlight was Prince Charles and Camilla arriving for a conference on our last day which brought our holiday to a real high. We would definitely come to this place again. Congratulations to Eric and his staff!!!

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank biscuitBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Letter to Coco Reef Attention of the Manager Eric

Dear Eric,
Thank you for making our holiday a most memorable occasion.
It would appear that you have everything under control and are captain of a happy bunch of staff.I understand that all the reports that you read on Tripadvisor do not give a true reflection of
your hotel but I thought I must let you know that we really appreciated you and your staffs efforts to make our holiday one of the best we have experience.
I would really liked to have thanked each and everyone of your staff for the happiness that came across to us from early morning
to late evening, in particular Benecia(spelling may be incorrect)
for the words of wisdom each morning for breakfast and her lovely waitresses who served us with as much tea,coffee and toast that we could wish for.
Another couple of stars,were the beach waiters Gairy Bacchus and Christopher McAdam who ensured that we Drank as many Rum Punches and Pina Coladas as we could in any 24 hour period,Gairy(Mr Racing Snake)never stopped in his endeavours to keep us in a constant state of inebriation.
Eric, I hope you appreciate the girls who clean the rooms and decorate the beds each day,they are litte sweetie-pies and help give your hotel a good name.
The reception staff,girls,guys,bellboys and security were very efficient ,assisting us most days with any requirements that we may have.
To finalize,many thanks again for the lovely time but would ask why are you being discriminatory towards the British,an exchange rate of 7.75 to pound seems to indicate that you do not
wish to accept pounds in the hotel.Other comparable hotels were
offering 9.50 and the bank next door nearly 11.00.
Why Eric as manager do you allow this to happen.
P.S.
If this hotel is good enough for Sting & Dinah Ross it sure is good enough for the likes of us mear mortals.Oh and Mr Max Clifford,he surely must Know athing or two about hotels.
In addition to the Staff at Coco Reef,I would mention the Thomas Cook Rep. Judith Walcott who must be the worlds greatest Rep.
She is the top of our list to visit,If and when we return to Tobago

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DeepeeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Any minor apprehensions which might have been felt when reading some comments which had been posted shortly before we departed for Coco Reef early in February soon disappeared. The overall experience was excellent in all respects.

The arrival in the grounds of the hotel had a reassuring 'wow' factor. They are beautifully kept and a real tribute to Delia Figuera and her team: a blaze of colour and very well planned. Proximity to the airport is a real bonus: a five minute drive but a total absence of noise throughout a 14 night stay. Check- in was very speedy and a minor hiccup (which was not the fault of the hotel) was soon remedied.

The service in the hotel was, overall, very good, no doubt partly attributable to the high staff/customer ratio. Almost without exception, the staff were efficient, friendly and outgoing. Our 'ocean-view' room, which carried a modest supplement, was very spacious: so much so as to accommodate two King-Size beds with loads of room to spare. The bathroom was modern and the room-service of an exceptionally high quality. The supplementary evening turn-down' service extended to a full cleaning of the bathroom, sweeping up of traces of sand, replacing of towells etc.

Bearing in mind that the hotel caters for guests in some 135 rooms, we found the food to be of a very high standard. Breakfast was (as one expects in the Caribbean) full of good choices from a buffet: fresh tropical fruit and yoghurts, croissants and toast and a lovely lady preparing everything from waffles to eggs cooked in a variety of ways. Lunch was in relaxed mode on the lagoon front and included (in addition to a buffet) a very good choice on the barbecue: fresh and well-seasoned fish, chicken, steak, lamb etc. Dinner in the main upstairs restaurant was significantly better than in most comparable places with the principal chef, Kenneth Thomas, producing a good selection matched with very good sauces. Not quite one star Michelin (which it would not be reasonable to expect for the number of covers) but certainly approximating to it on the five evenings per week when there was a menu, as opposed to a buffet. Wine was mainly from France or Australia and was quite adequate.

The private sandy beach attached to the hotel is not the type which lends itself to long walks, though there are ones close by towards Pigeon Point which do. However, the lagoon which it fronts has the significant advantage for those who are not strong swimmers of being enclosed and safe. There are plenty of sun-loungers (even at periods of high occupancy), ample areas of shade, good areas along the rocks to snorkel, colourful fish to watch and feed, and the joy of watching pelicans diving and high-flying frigates soaring to spot sources of food. The dive shop also seemed to be very well run and catered for scuba diving trips, providing snorkels and masks and much else.
Beach service was excellent, and included bringing around water and fresh fruit, beers and whatever else one chooses to order.

Generally, it was evident from conversations on the beach and elsewhere that there are many 'Coco repeaters'. Based on our experience this is not surprising. We have already booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JandM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Hello, My husband and I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Coco Reef and really cant see what everyone is moaning about.

Firstly, you are in the Caribbean it is a slower way of life is that not why you chose to spend time there, it is not the hectic city and towns the majority of us who takes holidays are trying to get away from.

The Coco Reef was immacutely clean, a major point we feel.

The staff were friendly and tried to assist and in all cases did so with any requests we had in regard to either the hotel and it's facilities or outside requirements.

Our initial thoughts on entering the driveway and the hotel itself was one of we are going to enjoy this, the grounds are immaculate and beautiful, the hotel entrance was spacious and clean and the staff were all smiling.

Our room 143 deluxe ocean view room was spacious with a large comfy bed, sofa, table and chairs, a tv (which did not get turned on from the minute we arrived to the minute we left) a mini bar, air conditioning ,a large bright bathroom always with hot water,it was a welcoming site with fresh flowers, a greeting in flowers on the bed and a very well chilled bottle of white wine.

We asked for a kettle and tea/coffee/milk on our second evening as we like our early morning tea as these are not standard in most hotels now we find unless you are on a city break and it arrived ready for the next morning's use.

The rooms were cleaned daily as expected and in the evening the turn down service offered a removal of any rubbish, change of towels if required, mosquito spray. They also changed the bed linen every 3 days unless you opted to place their change bed request sign in which case they would do this.

The restaurants were clean and the food very good, in the main restaurant which was very well organised we never had to wait for anything, the staff were attentive and smiling throughout and the menu gave us the option of 5 or 6 starters and main courses, the sauces were superb, our compliments to the chef as good as any good restaurant in our cities and we often had 2 starters rather that a main course which we felt was ample. We are not dessert eaters so can't comment but there was choice.

Breakfast offered so much choice it was hard not to overeat as you wanted to try a bit of everything, again no waiting and the Egg ladies as I called them just know how to get any sort of egg cooked exactly right...how do they do that?

Lunch was served at the beach restaurant, plenty of tables either in the shade or in the sun, a BBQ which offered fish, steaks, pork, lamb, burgers, vegatables, 4 or 5 other main courses, pasta, currys, stroganoff's, rice dishes, plenty of various salads, sandwiches, wraps...what do these people want !!! is that not enough choice for you?

Drinks, most cocktails were rum based, you are in the Caribbean this is their local drink, although my husband and I stuck mainly to wine which was good for a house wine both red and white, always chilled to the correct temperature and whisky and vodka which were all branded. We did have to pay for liquers..but hey !

The beach staff offered drinks all day including bottled water, juices ,coffee, alcohol along with fresh fruit, they again were always friendly and curteous.

Plenty of beach loungers, although I did hear someone say they thought it looked like Benidorm..have they ever been there it is all very high rise concrete buiildings, pavements, fish and chips, noisy bars and resturants, crowded beaches and noisy kids. Not blue seas that go on for ever, clean beaches, palm trees and umbrellas, trellises covered with hibiscus for shade, flower and fauna, bobbing boats, pastel coloured hotel, safe swimming and smiling faces. Yes there were lots of beds but that was to ensure no one had to fight for one, yes some people did still get up at 5 am to put their towels out, (shame you are in the slow living non hassled life of the caribbean) but it really wasn't necessary, you could always find shade or sun whatever your preference.

The man made lagoon is beautiful safe swimming so much marine life it was like being in a fish tank some days.

There are a few rooms that may be affected by the nightly entertainment which again was very good and varied enough, but it usually finished by 10.30pm.

I used the spa on 3 occassions for 3 different services and always came out feeling good.

I would have liked to have seen a seperate beach/relax bar for early evening/sunset drinks when you still wanted to watch the sunset and casually chat and was not quite ready for an early evening dinner. You have the option of the Terrace, Bobsters or Beach restaurant .This is because when we left the beach 5/6'ish the early diners would be dressed and we would still be in swimwear and a little grubby.

The manager Eric Feniet is doing in our opinion a great job, it is a well run hotel and he is always there to ensure that it is. We felt a little embarrassed at one stage as we were sent over champagne on a few occassions at our dining table both at dinner and breakfast and we thought he might think we were either famous (which we are not) or travel critics (which we are not) but we believe it was because he recognised we appreciated and enjoyed all that the staff were doing for us.

One other point i would like to see changed is that you are charged for anything you take from your mini bar, I can understand this as not all our fully inclusive, but they must be able to set up a system which can tell who is on what board, as you could walk a few yards from your room and get a drink which came within your all inclusive option.

This is a friendly, clean, well run hotel with good food and we would recommend it.

We will probably at some stage return as many we spoke to had, but probably not until we have covered all the Caribbean islands which we are aiming to do.

Our thanks to all the staff at Coc Reef for giving us a great holiday.

18  Thank lambgoreki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews