We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Trinidad
1 review
“Good value for your money”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the resort. They have two pools which is good if you don't like crowds. Breakfast was amazing, all of the staff attending to you at breakfast are really friendly and welcoming. If you are looking for a self contained resort that you don't want to venture out of, then this is not for you. This is for someone looking for a nice place to stay while having the convenience of being within walking distance to beautiful beaches, great restaurants, mini marts etc. Now, for the negatives, they definitely have administrative/booking problems that can turn you off at check in, also room service did not attend to our room one day out of our four day stay.

Room Tip: Take the breakfast plan. If you don't need to have a view of the ocean from your room then de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renesha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review and we are so pleased you had a good stay with us recently. The hotel is reasonably small with just 54 bedrooms but as you point out there are two swimming pools plus and outdoor jacuzzi for guests to enjoy. Our location gives guests easy access to a selection of nearby local restaurants and shops, plus of course Pigeon Point and Store Bay beaches. Your comments about administrative issues at check-in are noted and will be addressed. Hope you will be back to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    274
    150
    84
    136
See reviews for
215
308
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Going in I wasnt sure what to expect but I can now safely say the experience was a fantastic one.. The staff is very friendly .. The chef (breakfast) even knew people from where I was from and made great conversations . That bartender gary is something else. He made our experience so much fun. The food is great. The facilty isn't perfect but nothing major that will take away from the experience. We stayed in a superior room . Beautiful view . Our towels were changed everyday and our beds were made.. Two problems I had the prices at the bar was ridiculous 18.90 tt$ for a beer and the birds my gosh I know you can't compete with nature but washing down the area by the bar/pool frequently will help with that smell of bird poop. .. if you looking for a good time beautiful view and great ppl I wld deff recommemd this hotel.. My bf and I will definitely be returning..

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kedesha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
So glad you both had a great stay recently at Tropikist. As you say the hotel is not perfect but we are working hard to improve the guest experience and have another wave of room improvements happening this summer (to our Standard Rooms). Our location is fab and offers great sunsets with Store Bay and Pigeon Point close by. And of course the airport is round the corner so no long transfers to / from the airport! Hope you can visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The bed was just horrible they built that thing, the location nice ocean view,staff not very helpful or friendly,we were not told on check in that we had to make reservation at the restaurant for dinner,
Barack ok otherwise boring no activities nearby

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for your recent review. We are sorry that the bed was not to your liking. Very seldom do we get any complaints about the beds so this is indeed unusual. I am not sure what your expectations were for your stay in Tobago but in the main the island is quite quiet and most of the hotels are better suited to those wanting to relax, chill out and explore the island. We offer occasional evening entertainment but otherwise the hotel is best suited to simple relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

After reading the reviews here, my heart sank. I packed Lysol, towels and sheets thinking we were booked into a dump. Could not be further from the truth. All the staff were very nice and helpful. Loved the room. Loved the bedding! The bathroom was clean and was cleaned every day we were there. The buffet breakfast was on! Children did not want to come out of the pool at all.
This is now our go to hotel in Tobago

Room Tip: Room 56. Got a balcony and a 'back porch'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 123Camii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and we are really pleased you guys had such a good time at Tropikist. We certainly don't claim to be of the highest standard, but do offer a good hotel product at a sensible price. I think you may have seen a lot of very old reviews for the hotel and we have moved on and made great strides to become international acceptable as evidenced by the large number of overseas tour operators who send guests to the hotel. We do look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

One particular girl at the front desk was very rude--
the rooms were poorly cleaned
The a/c didn't work it was stuck on twenty six
The television was stuck on two channels n had no batteries to operate the remote
The breakfast staff dinner staff ate before the guest then the guest had no option but to take what was left-
They said all inclusive but what does that entailed--- they weren't specific
Warm beers n Poor quality liquor -- for a first time experience Will NEVER go back:

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We are very sorry to hear you had some issues during your recent stay. I am not sure if you raised any of the problems you encountered during your stay as usually we are able to rectify any issues speedily. During the time of your stay you will see that we had several very positive reviews so we are saddened that your visit was not to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crown Point hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

From the moment we step foot on the property we were treated like Royalty. We were excited but did t know what to expect for our first stay! Very quiet and peaceful. Everyone treated us great! We arrived early but they quickly made sure the room was ready. The staff was very nice and always asked about our day and if we needed recommendations they were always there to provide. I definitely would have everyone stay here!

Room Tip: We had ours on the side of the ocean. There is nothing like waking up to the sound of waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcrod26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks so much for your review and we are truly pleased you both had such a glorious stay in Tobago and indeed also at Tropikist Beach Hotel. You will be pleased to hear that the wooden steps leading down to the beach have now been fully repaired. Please tell your friends and we will be happy to look after them in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day stay here. It was awesome! We LOVED everything about this trip, and had a blast! The staff and management at Tropikist were amazing. Mr. McPhee and Melicia were both very accommodating and attentive. The food was great, the wait staff was on-point, the amenities were as well. We were lucky to be there as one of 50 couples who were married on the Steve Harvey show in February. I would highly recommend this place to other couples planning their stay in the coming months.

We arrived on a Monday, once most guests were checked out, and the place was a bit empty, but we got used to it! It was walking distance from the airport, the beach and shops were 3 blocks away (the area in front of the resort is under construction, so hopefully that will be accessible soon).

We also toured the island, which is absolutely breathtaking! Even our tour guides, Lyndon & Hasan, were great!! They were extremely knowledgeable of the entire island and all of its rich resources. They showed us parts of the island that were more secluded, and at the end of our trip, we all shared a few drinks as friends. When we plan another trip there, we will definitely seek them out. I'm recovering from 1st degree sun burns, but it was well worth it! Just bring enough sun screen! :)

Marco and I would also like to thank Steve Harvey and his entire staff for this blessing of a trip. I don't think we could adequately describe in words how much this meant to us.

Thanks for everything - it was a perfect honeymoon.

- Marco & Alisa

Room Tip: All rooms have an oceanfront view, so you can't go wrong. I would also recommend choosing a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARod2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Really appreciate your time to add your review to Tripadvisor. We are thrilled you guys had a wonderful stay in Tobago and with us at Tropikist. Our location means you have walking distance access to several shops and restaurants, Store Bay Beach and the airport. We have been offering wedding arrangements to international guests for some years now and so pleased that you guys tied the knot in Tobago. Congratulations. Perhaps we will see you guys again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
8.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,497 reviews
4.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
59 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort

Property: Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medium grade hotel facing Store Bay at Crown Point close to the airport and local restaurants. 54 bedrooms - large with twin or king size beds, patio or balcony, cable TV, air-con, mini fridge, en-suite bathroom. Superior and deluxe rooms larger with guaranteed sea views. Bayside restaurant for breakfast, Sunset Bar & Grill for lunches and dinner. Set in tropical gardens with 2 pools, open air jacuzzi overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropikist Beach Hotel Crown Point
Tropikist Beach Hotel And Resort
Hotel Tropikist Beach
Tropikist Hotel Tobago
Tropikist Beach Hotel Tobago
Tropikist Tobago
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing