We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a try!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived at the Tropikist for a quick 1 week break after seeing an advertisement on the internet. We had read the reviews, but were determined to give it a try for ourselves and was most pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself would so well with an upgrade, but what was lacking in the concrete facility was made up by the most helpful and friendly staff, who bent over backwards to ensure all enquiries/ complaints were dealt with. So a special thanks to Mr Anderson, Christine, Merlin and special mention to the Bartender (cant remember his name) and,the Chef who definitely stepped up her game by the end of our holiday - the lobster was great!

I have since recommended this destination to all my friends, and indeed, one is there as we speak! Do not expect the Ritz, but you will be pleasantly surprised by the service, people and off course the sun, beaches and rum!

Room Tip: Ask for Oceanfront!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
There are newer reviews for Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 823 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

We visited Tropkisit in May 2013 as a large group, the staff were friendily and accommodating from check-in to check-out and in between. We must thank Christine at check-in, Dianne (breakfast) Michael & Gary (bar) and Anderson. The only complaint was the mosquitoes, they just didn't give you a chance, maybe some well placed citronella candles may help.

We took an all inclusive package, breakfast was so-so with basically the same menu every morning, lunch was great on the last day and dinner was ok.

We would like to return again, but only if they do something about those mosquitoes, other than that everything else was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8friendsgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just returned from a week at Tropikist, with my 12-year old son.
Had a wonderful time, staff all friendly and helpful, rooms spacious and comfortable, most have a fantastic sea view too. Pool and swim-up bar (with Gary's rum punch) were unbeatable.
Hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Store bay, you can also walk to Pigeon's Point if you're feeling fit. Otherwise it's a relatively cheap taxi ride to almost everywhere on the island.
Food was fine, although it was a but samey after a few days (sorry Anderson!) - but there are plenty of places to eat out.
Ask Keith (tour guide) to take you to see the turtles.

Very few ants even in the grounds (in reply to someone else), and I would definitely come back.
If you want a welcoming place to stay, which doesn't have 5-star prices, then Tropikist is ideal !

Room Tip: 103 was lovely
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hilswillcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

From the time you arrive, the warm welcoming smiles of the employees is welcoming and very inviting. Staff very helpful and friendly, from the receptionist waiters and waitresses gardeners chefs all the way to the manager. Very helpful, polite and very professional. The hotel has excellent ocean view rooms and excellent sunset views from the balcony. It is a 3 start hotel and it lived up to its expectations. The meals were good and you never had to wait for longer than 10 mins from the time you ordered to the the food was delivered to you, thanks to Shurla (cookies and cream ice cream for dessert was to die for) Diane,Linda,Merlin and the rest of the hardworking professional team. At the bar Gary, Junior Merlin and the rest of the team can mix you up anything on the menu in no time. To summarise, the excellent work ethic of all the staff at hotel Tropikist will make your stay such an enjoyable one that you would never wanna come home.

Room Tip: For couples I would definitely recommend the queen size bed. Very comfortable spacious. Top it off w...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benny2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Me and my lady have just returned from a week at the tropikist, we have had the most wonderful time of our lives together there, from the moment we checked in to the end of our stay we were treated with kindness and respect from the entire staff from the fantastic manager Anderson to the plumber who made a small adjustment to our shower.Our room was lovely 307 delux over looking the ocean, cleaned every day the cleaners were all lovely, The bar staff and waitresses were polite friendly and efficient big thanks especially to Sharla a lovely girl. The food was fantastic plenty of local variations of fish locally caught, different types of chicken dishes, I had goat stew one night and loved it you usually get soup or salad to start I loved there soups full of flavour, you could eat all the time at the hotel without getting bored, the cocktails are to die for the pool is clean with a waterfall and a swim up bar with stools in the pool, they have a reasonable beach there you can paddle and wade in for a bit I also found this lovely, there is a little jetty with seating perfect for the most beautiful sunset that you will see, all you have to do out there to get on is smile wave and say hello to everyone they will all do the same.Its not a luxury resort but more than adaquat for the base for a holiday of a lifetime thank you tropikist for everything lots of love Tony and Jenny

Room Tip: I never saw the other rooms push the boat out and get a delux
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tonychelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The grounds and outside appearance are ok, and so are the pools but those are the best features. I took the Standard package and I must say that I didn't get value for the money spent! The rooms show obvious signs of disrepair such as swollen paint, dirt and broken locks and the bathroom tiles were dirty. The towels smelled of chlorine and looked dingy. Don't expect wifi in the rooms! You have to sit in the small lobby area. There was no kettle or microwave much more for an iron, I have stayed at small guest houses and received all of these plus a stove and fridge, for less that half the cost per night at Tropikist. My guests and I were appalled at the poor standards. It's such a shame because the hotel has potential! With better attention to details and international standards this hotel will be much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonpp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My cousin and I booked an all inclusive package at the Tropikist. Judging by the mixed reviews we knew not what to expect, but the price was attractive. The holiday started well: getting off the plane to be met by that oven-like blast of tropical heat - a far cry from the London weather we'd left 12 hours before. A very short taxi ride later (less than 3 minutes & 40TT$ - you really can walk it) we arrived at the hotel. We were greeted with a smile and checked in. The hotel had allocated a kingsize bed despite our booking a twin room. The receptionist acknowledged the mistake and within 10 minutes a room had been made available. Further, she made a courtesy call to ensure that we were happy.
The room was a nice size and had a 'to-die-for' view of the palm trees, sea, edging towards Pigeon Point, from its balcony. The room was reasonably well equipped: two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, fridge, safe, couple of chairs, fitted double wardrobe, desk and drawers. Wi-fi is only in the reception area. The en-suite was ok - good size and pretty clean.
The food is tasty with a good choice both at breakfast and dinner, however the lunchtime menu is limited. The bar offers a range of locally brewed drinks - the speciality being rum of course which was lovely!
Two issues seemed to concern previous reviewers: the condition of the hotel and the customer service.
Firstly the condition of the hotel: the hotel is rated as a 3* and it is definitely that; there is no fancy spa or granite and marble vodka bar. In places it needs updating and its wear and tear does show. That said, there was redecoration going on, and nothing was to the detriment of the overall holiday.
Secondly the customer service: I can honestly say that everyone was superb. Nothing was too much trouble. We would look forward to meal times to see Shular, Nikki, Linda, Merlin and the girls. Gary the barman was great fun, made some wicked (read strong) cocktails and was good to be around. It is highly unusual to have table service for an all-inclusive, but it was the case here. Beer was bottled and not draught in a plastic glass. The staff seemed to take genuine interest in what you had done that day, equally they are mines of information about where to go, what to do, both on and off the beaten track. They are great advocates of the island and excellent ambassadors for the hotel. On the final day, we were allowed a late check out (3pm) for no additional charge - very kind!
In summary, I would happily go back. The hotel's staff made up for gaps in the hotel's infrastructure. It is in a fantastic position, straight onto the beach. It shares the island's laid back approach - but isn't that the point?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ScruffyChancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
8.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
4.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
5.3 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
5.2 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range: $133 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medium grade hotel facing Store Bay at Crown Point close to the airport and local restaurants. 54 bedrooms - large with twin or king size beds, patio or balcony, cable TV, air-con, mini fridge, en-suite bathroom. Superior and deluxe rooms larger with guaranteed sea views. Bayside restaurant for breakfast, Sunset Bar & Grill for lunches and dinner. Set in tropical gardens with 2 pools, open air jacuzzi overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropikist Beach Hotel Crown Point
Tropikist Beach Hotel And Resort
Hotel Tropikist Beach
Tropikist Hotel Tobago
Tropikist Beach Hotel Tobago
Tropikist Tobago
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing