We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time had by all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good time had by all”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We visited Tropkisit in May 2013 as a large group, the staff were friendily and accommodating from check-in to check-out and in between. We must thank Christine at check-in, Dianne (breakfast) Michael & Gary (bar) and Anderson. The only complaint was the mosquitoes, they just didn't give you a chance, maybe some well placed citronella candles may help.

We took an all inclusive package, breakfast was so-so with basically the same menu every morning, lunch was great on the last day and dinner was ok.

We would like to return again, but only if they do something about those mosquitoes, other than that everything else was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8friendsgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    274
    150
    84
    136
See reviews for
215
308
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just returned from a week at Tropikist, with my 12-year old son.
Had a wonderful time, staff all friendly and helpful, rooms spacious and comfortable, most have a fantastic sea view too. Pool and swim-up bar (with Gary's rum punch) were unbeatable.
Hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Store bay, you can also walk to Pigeon's Point if you're feeling fit. Otherwise it's a relatively cheap taxi ride to almost everywhere on the island.
Food was fine, although it was a but samey after a few days (sorry Anderson!) - but there are plenty of places to eat out.
Ask Keith (tour guide) to take you to see the turtles.

Very few ants even in the grounds (in reply to someone else), and I would definitely come back.
If you want a welcoming place to stay, which doesn't have 5-star prices, then Tropikist is ideal !

Room Tip: 103 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hilswillcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

From the time you arrive, the warm welcoming smiles of the employees is welcoming and very inviting. Staff very helpful and friendly, from the receptionist waiters and waitresses gardeners chefs all the way to the manager. Very helpful, polite and very professional. The hotel has excellent ocean view rooms and excellent sunset views from the balcony. It is a 3 start hotel and it lived up to its expectations. The meals were good and you never had to wait for longer than 10 mins from the time you ordered to the the food was delivered to you, thanks to Shurla (cookies and cream ice cream for dessert was to die for) Diane,Linda,Merlin and the rest of the hardworking professional team. At the bar Gary, Junior Merlin and the rest of the team can mix you up anything on the menu in no time. To summarise, the excellent work ethic of all the staff at hotel Tropikist will make your stay such an enjoyable one that you would never wanna come home.

Room Tip: For couples I would definitely recommend the queen size bed. Very comfortable spacious. Top it off w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benny2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Me and my lady have just returned from a week at the tropikist, we have had the most wonderful time of our lives together there, from the moment we checked in to the end of our stay we were treated with kindness and respect from the entire staff from the fantastic manager Anderson to the plumber who made a small adjustment to our shower.Our room was lovely 307 delux over looking the ocean, cleaned every day the cleaners were all lovely, The bar staff and waitresses were polite friendly and efficient big thanks especially to Sharla a lovely girl. The food was fantastic plenty of local variations of fish locally caught, different types of chicken dishes, I had goat stew one night and loved it you usually get soup or salad to start I loved there soups full of flavour, you could eat all the time at the hotel without getting bored, the cocktails are to die for the pool is clean with a waterfall and a swim up bar with stools in the pool, they have a reasonable beach there you can paddle and wade in for a bit I also found this lovely, there is a little jetty with seating perfect for the most beautiful sunset that you will see, all you have to do out there to get on is smile wave and say hello to everyone they will all do the same.Its not a luxury resort but more than adaquat for the base for a holiday of a lifetime thank you tropikist for everything lots of love Tony and Jenny

Room Tip: I never saw the other rooms push the boat out and get a delux
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tonychelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The grounds and outside appearance are ok, and so are the pools but those are the best features. I took the Standard package and I must say that I didn't get value for the money spent! The rooms show obvious signs of disrepair such as swollen paint, dirt and broken locks and the bathroom tiles were dirty. The towels smelled of chlorine and looked dingy. Don't expect wifi in the rooms! You have to sit in the small lobby area. There was no kettle or microwave much more for an iron, I have stayed at small guest houses and received all of these plus a stove and fridge, for less that half the cost per night at Tropikist. My guests and I were appalled at the poor standards. It's such a shame because the hotel has potential! With better attention to details and international standards this hotel will be much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonpp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crown Point hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My cousin and I booked an all inclusive package at the Tropikist. Judging by the mixed reviews we knew not what to expect, but the price was attractive. The holiday started well: getting off the plane to be met by that oven-like blast of tropical heat - a far cry from the London weather we'd left 12 hours before. A very short taxi ride later (less than 3 minutes & 40TT$ - you really can walk it) we arrived at the hotel. We were greeted with a smile and checked in. The hotel had allocated a kingsize bed despite our booking a twin room. The receptionist acknowledged the mistake and within 10 minutes a room had been made available. Further, she made a courtesy call to ensure that we were happy.
The room was a nice size and had a 'to-die-for' view of the palm trees, sea, edging towards Pigeon Point, from its balcony. The room was reasonably well equipped: two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, fridge, safe, couple of chairs, fitted double wardrobe, desk and drawers. Wi-fi is only in the reception area. The en-suite was ok - good size and pretty clean.
The food is tasty with a good choice both at breakfast and dinner, however the lunchtime menu is limited. The bar offers a range of locally brewed drinks - the speciality being rum of course which was lovely!
Two issues seemed to concern previous reviewers: the condition of the hotel and the customer service.
Firstly the condition of the hotel: the hotel is rated as a 3* and it is definitely that; there is no fancy spa or granite and marble vodka bar. In places it needs updating and its wear and tear does show. That said, there was redecoration going on, and nothing was to the detriment of the overall holiday.
Secondly the customer service: I can honestly say that everyone was superb. Nothing was too much trouble. We would look forward to meal times to see Shular, Nikki, Linda, Merlin and the girls. Gary the barman was great fun, made some wicked (read strong) cocktails and was good to be around. It is highly unusual to have table service for an all-inclusive, but it was the case here. Beer was bottled and not draught in a plastic glass. The staff seemed to take genuine interest in what you had done that day, equally they are mines of information about where to go, what to do, both on and off the beaten track. They are great advocates of the island and excellent ambassadors for the hotel. On the final day, we were allowed a late check out (3pm) for no additional charge - very kind!
In summary, I would happily go back. The hotel's staff made up for gaps in the hotel's infrastructure. It is in a fantastic position, straight onto the beach. It shares the island's laid back approach - but isn't that the point?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ScruffyChancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

ALL employees are in dire need of customer service and hospitality training, starting with basics such as manners, and working up to tact and sincere apologies. They ALL lacked the Caribbean warmth experienced in establishments that truly care to create an enjoyable experience.

Some advice: Have Absolutely No Expectations, and perhaps you may find the hotel to be palatable.

The hotel may be considered acceptable to Trinis on a budget, who have never travelled to other islands/places that actually care about tourism and/or delivering superb customer service to their guests.

Check in was ok. The front desk employee was courteous. Wifi is Only available in the small sitting area by the check in counter.

We met the television on in the room and we later understood why... we could not get it to show after turning it off to sleep on the first night. Three (3) requests to get someone to look at it fell on deaf ears or were simply ignored.

Overall, the room was sad:
* The bathroom was abysmal. The sink and tiles are yucky and stained. Both sink and shower fixtures have been neglected. The shower had a leak. The ceiling of the shower looked as though they painted over old mildew spots... Hot water in the shower was the saving grace!
* The A/C was noisy, but functional. Thankfully!
* There was a leak by the balcony door that has been ignored for some time, as the top corner of the curtain was black and saturated with mildew, and the wooden frame is being eroded by water damage... Opening the balcony door was a pretty unpleasant experience, as the leaking water would come into contact with your hands. Ewww!!!
* The pillows are very flat i.e. no neck support. One of them had little black spots on the pillow case.
* The fridge was cool and functioning, but one cannot help but notice the mildew by the door.

Silver lining: the grounds by the pool seem well maintained! Yeaa! A positive!

We paid for the breakfast and dinner inclusive package. In fact, this was the only option offered! Dinner is served between 7:30pm and 9:30pm. On the first night, we got to the dining area at 9:00pm. The server looked at us in disbelief and commented on our "late" arrival! Then said that she has to see if the kitchen still has food!!!!!!! Yup, we could not believe it either! I guess, lucky for us, we were able to get a bland, cold meal. Portion sizes were modest to say the least. No need to worry about counting calories here! The meal consisted of a small piece of unseasoned chicken with watered down Bar-B-Que sauce on it, two tablespoons of peas, and two tablespoons of potato salad. Even though you had to pay for your drinks separately, the Bartender informed us that we had only two drink options! Piña Colada and Daiquiri.... They were the most awful tasting cocktails EVER!!!!! Not sure what cocktail mix was used, but it is definitely not worth it!

After this traumatizing dinner experience, we decided to get to our prepaid breakfast early. Similarly, breakfast was served from 7:30am to 9:30am. We got there at 8:30am and met a full house. I asked the guy taking note of room numbers if there were any free tables in the corner down to the end of the room... at the same time, a couple got up to leave and he said for me to quickly put something down on the table to stake my claim, or else' hard luck' if we lose it!!!! Breakfast was bordering on disappointing. My pancake was raw in the centre. I showed it to an employee and was met with a "so what" look!!!! She took up my plate and as she walked off she muttered a "sorry". Breakfast options were not as plentiful as previous reviewers make it seem. It was all pretty bland and not worth paying extra for.

There was an event nearby on the first night. The music was disturbingly loud. No heads up was given upon check in. At least the noisy AC lended a distraction from the excessively loud music. Somehow, we eventually fell asleep.

We stood around waiting for attention to check out. A sour employee eventually came in from outside of the office. She was curt and dismissive. Her discourteous disposition seemed to have summed up the Tropikist experience in a nice succinct little bow!

Think twice about staying here!!!!!!!!!! Check out the photos!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
8.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,500 reviews
4.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
60 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort

Property: Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medium grade hotel facing Store Bay at Crown Point close to the airport and local restaurants. 54 bedrooms - large with twin or king size beds, patio or balcony, cable TV, air-con, mini fridge, en-suite bathroom. Superior and deluxe rooms larger with guaranteed sea views. Bayside restaurant for breakfast, Sunset Bar & Grill for lunches and dinner. Set in tropical gardens with 2 pools, open air jacuzzi overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropikist Beach Hotel Crown Point
Tropikist Beach Hotel And Resort
Hotel Tropikist Beach
Tropikist Hotel Tobago
Tropikist Beach Hotel Tobago
Tropikist Tobago
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing