We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time at Rovanels!”
Review of Rovanel's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rovanel's Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lovely time at Rovanels!”
Reviewed January 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Rovanel's resort for a short 2 days in December! We were pleasantly surprised by the Resort's grounds! There were alot of plants and flowers everywhere and they created a nice private feeling when walking around! The grounds are well maintained.

The rooms are very well maintained as well, very clean and very nice! We had an initial problem with the AC in the room and we were eventually upgraded probably because they were booked up at that time so were very pleased with the Assistant Manager for all her help and considerate! she really goes out of way and so does the owner, very friendly person!

The local breakfast buffet is really good, wished they had more variety of breads or some sweet items would be nice though, but the food was good!

The parrots kept on the resort can be a little annoying especially early in the morning when they are squawking...

The resort is far up on store bay local road, the walk to the junction was a little more than 30 minutes, so you need a car to get around especially at nights, because the taxi rates are very expensive!

We also ate at Bonkers Restaurant at Toucan Inn which was very good and very well priced and La Tartaruga which has really great desserts and alot of different types of wine!

The resort also offered transportation to the beach and sometimes their Car rental agency in Crown Point would give us a drop back which was nice! They also offered complimentary drop off to the airport!

We ended up having a very relaxing time at Rovanel's!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, helpful Assistance Manager
  • Disliked — Distance from Restaurants and beach
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ADM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    8
    5
    18
See reviews for
21
21
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princes Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Lovely Resort...my husband and i sent the easter weekend there and everything was great from the front desk service to their rooms and not forgetting their scrumptious meals....we'll definitely be going back sometime soon....try it....you will want to go back a second time...

  • Liked — Prompt Services
  • Disliked — Everything was great
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale_Sheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

The staff is friendly, but it seems like everyone started working there the day before we arrived- confusion and waiting was the norm. We waited 1/2 hour @ the front desk for 2 beach towels. When they came (I have no idea why it took 1/2 hr), they wanted a deposit of $18 US per towel in cash (could not be put on the credit card used to secure the room).

Same thing for kitchen dishes and utensils: we had a kitchenette, but we discovered there wasn't a single cup dish or spoon in it. I went to the front desk and they explained that I had to check off on a list what utensils/dishes I'd like and how many and then pay a cash deposit. We couldn't get a coffee maker or spatula for some reason.

These may seem like small aggravations, but they're exemplary of the whole experience. I don't want to bother to catalogue all the hassles here, but I'll add that they had to evacuate the hotel because of a bomb threat while we were there (which could happen to any hotel really), but I'm guessing it was from some other dissatisfied party. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else like Kariwak. Manta Lodge up in Speyside was also awesome and I would recommend it highly.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Quazgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crown Point hotels

Chaguanas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

I stayed at Rovanel's for my honeymoon, it was great. The room was clean and very neat. The dinning area was very romantic and the food was delicious.I paticularly enjoyed the inhouse zoo.
I will recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway.My husband and I will be going back the next time we visit Tobago.

  • Liked — The bedroom
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogue-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

We were traveling on business and stayed at Rovanel's. Someone else selected the hotel, but we found it to be very nice. It is not a luxury hotel, but the efficiency's are clean and have a beautiful view of the gardens.

We arrived after 11pm, after 14 hrs of travel and were suprised that we could get no food or beverages from the kitchen which was closed.

However, the next day, we found the restaurant food to be very good and affordable. The conference facilities were nice and the pool area is fantastic.

It is about a mile to the beach, but a free shuttle is available during the daytime. Dining outside the hotel is limited but we found a local restaurant across the street to be very good, as well as the Toucan Inn restaurant down the road.

The hotel is close to the airport (about a 5 minute drive) but noise was NOT a problem, and flights stop at 11PM anyway.
Cab fare from the airport was about $7 US.

Of the hotels in Crown Point that I saw, this was one of the nicer hotels and the cost of living in the entire area was VERY reasonable.

We visited the Beach at Store Bay and found it comfortable but pretty small. There are several restaurant and vendors there. We liked the beach at Pigeon Point MUCH better. There is a small admission charge, but the beach is nicer, less vendors and more shade.

We also went to Speyside one night for dinner. It was about an hour drive up the coast, but we had dinner at a WONDERFUL restaurant called the Tree House Restaurant. The food was good, very reasonably priced and it had a beautiful view (right on the beach) really in a tree house.

We went scuba diving with Extra Diver's Pigeon Point. We found them reasonably priced, very safe and well equipped.

We found Tobago to be very laid back. They have not yet completely figured out the "tourist" thing, but that made it affordable and pleasant. All of the hotels are smaller (less than 50 rooms) and few are on the beach.

There are some direct flights, but most fly to Trinidad and then take the commuter flight to Tobago.

We recommend Rovanel's in Tobago and would go back.

  • Liked — Pool, conference facility, food and nearby beach at Pigeon Point
  • Disliked — Hours of restaurant operations
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to Pigeon Point...if time go to Tree House Restaurant in Speyside
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MVOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2006

Excellent resort.. The customer service was excellent and accomodating with easy provisions for car rentals. The rooms were comfortable and what sets this resort apart from others is there is a miniature zoo located at the back of the resort with all sorts of exotic animals like parrots, monkeys and other interesting sights. The food is also top quality and I would recommend this hotel and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Omarldinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 20, 2005

I come over to Tobago every year and shoot the fireworks for the Independence Day celebration in Scarborough. It is the most beautiful place that we have stayed at yet! I have requested the same place for this years celebration ! I will be there Aug. 30th thru the 1st of Sept. I am really looking forward to my stay!!!!! These people are awesome.......totally awesome!!!!!!!!!!

THANK YOU !!!
Darrell

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
1.6 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,500 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.3 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Native Abode
Native Abode
#1 of 20 in Crown Point
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rovanel's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rovanel's Resort

Property: Rovanel's Resort
Address: Store Bay Local Rd, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rovanel's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rovanel's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rovanel`s Hotel Crown Point
Rovanel's Resort Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing