We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic comfortable accomodation close to airport and beach”

James Holiday Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
James Holiday Resort
Ranked #16 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Basic comfortable accomodation close to airport and beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

We stayed here for one night before our flight home. Room was small but with nice tall ceilings. It had a good size fridge and freezer along with satellite TV and good if a little noisy air con. The bed was very comfortable as was the balcony. There was a small warm pool.

No towels were provided, we did not ask for any so not sure if we would have got them if we had requested them. The shower was warm and powerful.

The hotel is next to the runway but seeing the planes land and take off is a feature more than an issue to me. I would not consider the plane noise excessive, most planes are only small inter island props.

Like other reviewers there was little staff presence in fact only one guy was seen who manned Reception and the little shop. We felt no threat at this hotel but I guess if there was an incident security could be a real issue. Had to hang around for the guy to turn up to check if in but he waivored the early check in fee which was good.

The sun deck gave an amazing 360 degreee view of the sea and airport.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosco12724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    8
    3
    12
See reviews for
10
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
t&t
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

my boyfriend and i just returned from this resort and while we have stayed here twice before this stay was our worst. firstly we arrived on saturday an the room was not clean the floor clearly was not swept and it was clear to me d sheets on d bed were not changed on d whole d room was just not appealing. on our previous stays d rooms were much better. the room number is 17 stay away!. the bathroom was clogged so i was bathing in ankle high water for 2 days till someone dealt wit it for me. my boyfriend complained to management this was sunday oh did i mention we were given no towels till monday even wen requested it since we arrived on saturday. anyway he was told d room wud b cleaned and bathroom unclogged right away but dis did not take place till monday. while i'm aware dat dis was not a five star hotel an dat maids were not avaliable b/c of the christmas weekend d room should have been better prepared for receiving guests. i woud not stay here again even though i had ok experiences in d past here. however everyone's experience is different so i would recommend as thid place is well situated to most attractions and close to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kewi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

I have been there on more than two occasions and i have always gotten great service and all of my experiences great, the rooms was great slept like a log, air con worked great. I chose James because of its location airport, store bay, the mall, 15 min to Scarborough. There were all amenities in the kitchen where we cook up a storm. The rooms and pool was cleaned every day, and the pool closes at nine o clock the time i was there don't know about before or after my stay. The toilet and bath was a bit small that was the only thing i dislike but as i said before everything was great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheeze_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-of-Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

We selected James Holiday resort near the Crown Point airport because it was inexpensive and within walking distance of the beach and airport, thus removing the need for a rental car. The rates at James were very competitive (55/night, tax inclusive).

The hotel offered a complimentary airport shuttle, but we ended up having to call after we arrived to remind them to actually pick us up. Our room was pretty basic, but relatively clean. The mattress was really old and the sheets were paper thin. Other than a single sliver of hand soap and a roll of toilet paper, no other typical items were available in the room (or were replaced during the two-night stay). Forget niceties like a phone, coffee pot, clothes iron, extra roll of toilet paper, soap/shampoo or towels.

James has a minimart on property that is basically a small convenience store, but it was rarely open even during posted business hours. The front desk was locked up for a significant portion of the day, so to check out you simply drop the room key in a slot on the counter. I'm not sure what the protocol is if you happen to run out of toilet paper. There is no phone to call the front desk. There is nobody at the front desk. The minimart is closed. I can't remember if there was suitable shrubbery nearby, but we rationed the TP so never had to get that far.

Getting a good night's rest is likely possible if your room isn't 10 feet from the pool like ours was. The party rages late into the night -- expect more noise on the weekends. We saw a pool guy cleaning the pool one day, but there was still green stuff growing everywhere.

If you want a cheap place to stay and don't mind bringing your amenities with you, consider James.

  • Liked — Price, Location
  • Disliked — Everything Else
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trini_beach_bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crown Point hotels

paramin,maraval
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

i came on to this site after i had already booked reservations for a 3 day stay. I was horrified with the reviews i saw but since we already paid for 2 nights my friend and i decided we'll chance it. James is and average hotel, i would not say it is a resort. but the rooms are cosy, fully airconditioned and clean, the bathroom could be a little bigger but that to was very clean. The airport is very close but the sounds of the airplans are not loud to keep anyone from awake when night falls, infact it was sort of cool seeing the airplans landing and taking off. the only thing the apartment lacked drastically was a kitchen. There was only a fridge (it worked well but it was really small and old). the pool was also clean and i'm not sure of its closing and opening hours but it was opened long after 9 o clock. I think the only misconseption about the hotel is that it is not close to the beach. Store bay is a long walk away, i guess that why they also rent cars.Hmmm. Just thought i would let every one know, James resort is a cool place to stay, just make sure when you go you have good company.

Avalon Joseph

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank teardropp93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinidad and tobago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

OK, first of all, this is NOT a resort........It is old and desperately in need of an upgrade.....urgently! It is not a beachfront property, there are no grounds on the site, no views and no restaurant. It is too close to the other buildings nearby. The rooms are dismal and dreary, and not very clean. The bathroom we had was in a horrible state. If you really intend to stay here, please walk with your own sheets, towels and bugspray.

  • Stayed April 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rosebud100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

All the negative things you have read is very true,i could not sleep day or night with all the noise from the airport and the folks from Trinidad staying there,kids screaming all day in pool area and then the adults playing loud music and singing until wee hours of the morning, noise from the nearby club,street racing at 3am,bottle breaking,loud music from cars,etc etc.I can go on and on,so best bet is to STAY AWAY !

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise,Noise and more Noise.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank positivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.0 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Club
0.0 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandy Point Village
Sandy Point Village
#14 of 20 in Crown Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Holiday Resort

Property: James Holiday Resort
Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
James Holiday Hotel Crown Point
James Holiday Resort Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing