We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, great location, great views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown Point Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We enjoyed a relaxing and leisurely stay at Crown Point Hotel. First of all it's so close to the airport we walked to the hotel with our baggage - and I'm not one to be into much walking either. The lady at check in was really friendly and in no time we checked into our units on the first floor with amazing views of the beach and sea. The studio units were dated and it shows, but they were clean and equipped with a large toilet, balcony, living area and kitchen including cooking utensils. Although the hotel is so close to the airport we never had any problems with air pollution. There is a convenience store next to the hotel which sells just abut everything you may need including cooking ingredients. For those who do not wish to cook there is a food court near where you would board the glass bottom boats for Bucco reef. We had some local Trinidadian fare there including bake and shark and pickled fruit which were all reasonably priced decent. The hotel grounds were clean and I enjoyed sitting in the lounging chair under the shade and listening to the crashing of the waves. Looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuzzy0duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your wonderful comments. It was a pleasure to be of service and we look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 322 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have stayed here twice recently, once on a ground floor room away from the main building and the second time very close to the reception area, kitchen & bar ( a little noisy on one night from the bar music...but didn't disturb me for long).
Both times I found the rooms to be very clean, and we loved that we could step out onto our small patio and see the sea and the very well maintained grounds. Beautiful! The hotel is a very old property but there have been upgrades to the rooms. They do however only offer twin beds and not king or queen rooms like the more modern hotels have. Each room has a kitchen sink, a fridge and a countertop two burner stove. There's also a toaster oven and microwave. All of this in a very small space tends to make the "kitchen" area a bit difficult to use successfully... But for simple coffee and warming up left overs, it worked well. I need to mention the new restaurant... Blue moon.... FANTASTIC!... The location perfect, the staff as friendly as it gets in Tobago, and the food....perfection!.... The prices are amazing!... As long as they continue to keep their prices affordable, this place should become an even bigger success. We had both breakfast and dinner here and loved everything we ate! While visiting Tobago again recently, staying somewhere else, we loved our previous restaurant experiences at Bluemoon Crown Point Beach Hotel so much that we drove there for dinner with our UK visitors... And again, delicious! Chef....you are a king in your kitchen! Keep up the great work...this hotel is somewhat of a Tobago tradition among many Trinidadian nationals when visiting our sister island... It is a great tradition in my opinion. You get exactly what you need in Tobago, great views of the sea, fabulous grounds to stroll through and very clean rooms...and the rum punch at the poolside/sea view bar is delicious!

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the restaurant/ bar are quieter...but ALL rooms have views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tummypleaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that we have lived up to your expectations again and will forward your compliments to the chef and staff.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Even though the hotel is close to the airport, our room (with a sea view) was perfectly quiet. On our second day we received a call from hotel management to make sure that we had settled in - impressive. Our small studio had all that we needed for our stay: basic kitchen equipment including a sharp knife for our morning fruit salad, ice cube trays and a fridge that worked just fine. We very much appreciated the complimentary water bottle in the fridge when we arrived late at night. Even though this is not a luxury hotel, our studio had plenty of storage place, and we loved staying here, with the balcony door wide open most of the time. The receptionists were all very friendly, the safe worked fine (note: no access at night, make sure to get your things in the evening if you are leaving early). A special thank you to the cleaning lady who recommended coconut water when my husband was feeling unwell! We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favourable comments regarding our facility. I will thank your housekeeper on your behalf. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at this very nice hotel for two weeks in februari and was pleasently suprised!
we arrived Close to midnight, our flight being delayed by Three hours. Despite the fact that the lady in the reception desk had been waiting for us she was very nice and let us change our room from the first floor to the second floor, when we asked if that was possible.
The restaurant has exellent food and the service was great, We understood that they have had som problems in the past, but with a new chef and new management everything has now improved and it is now one of the best restauranst you can find on Tobago.
The location is fantastic, with store bay beach Close by and with in Walking distance to pigion Point.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you wonderful comments regarding our staff and hotel. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to your return.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is the third time we have a started a longer stay in Tobago with a few days at CPBH. To be in our comfortable room in less than 45 minutes after arriving from the UK is just so civilised. We just showered, changed and walked to the Store Bay Taxi Drivers Coop bar for our first Carib. Our rooms have always been, clean, comfortable and as cool as needed. It is a wonderful start to a vacation to be greeted with "welcome back".

We have always reserved by email and Vidya certainly makes that process easy. We got back to the UK just 2 weeks ago and next year's stay, with her help, is already booked but next time it is at the end rather than the start of the trip.

Service in the restaurant for breakfast was friendly and plenty fast enough for vacation time. We ate at the bar in the evening and although the food wasn't high speed service (we were in no rush) the barman provided great service despite being on his own with a lot of customers.

This is no glitzy 5 star de luxe resort but it is what we like - excellent value, clean, adequately equipped, well maintained and superbly located

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank janetmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. I will certainly pass on your comments to our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment for a fourth time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I like the location for walking to everything in the crown point area, right up to pigeon point. Definitely aged amenities but considering the higher end prices and the cheap hotels in the area, this one is right in the middle at 140 US per night high season. Access to the beach is great, you can walk to the airport if you have roller suitcases.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

The Management thank you for taking the time to share your views and comments. We look forward to your return and being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Crown Point is truly an amazing resort get away. The location is close to the airport, literally right on the white sand, warm water beach, and food shacks right next door. Unfortunatly, the service of the staff is one of the worst I have encountered in all of my travels/stays around the world!

When we arrived at CP, the lady attendent at the front did not welcome us with a hello, good evening, welcome, anything. She just starred. We gave her our information, she told us we need to pay for our duration ahead of time and then handed us our keys. When we asked for direction, she just pointed and said "that way." The next morning, we had seen people using different colored towels on the beach, so we thought we would ask for them. She rolled her eyes, handed us a book to sign out the towel and slammed it on the counter like as if it was so painful for her to do her job. When we went to check out, same sort of attidtude and service, only when we asked for the book to sign our towels back in (so we were not fined) she said "I dont have it." I had even overheard another guest at the desk speaking with this same attendent saying "Im sorry I even asked you a question."

The service in the kitchen, is pretty much drink service only. Defininatly not dining-type experience.

Also note - If you want coffee - go to the vendor shacks at the end of the resort. The kitchen charges $12, but the shacks have the same coffee for $5...and the food is better too...

Other than that, the cabanas were clean (i would highl recommend staying in a cabana over a suite for comfort, privacy and location!) and the grounds are amazing. Almond trees nicely groomed, benches everywhere, great swimming pool over looking the ocean, and the best beach access you could ever ask for.

Honestly, Crown Point has the potential to be a 4-4.5 Star resort, like those in Mexico, Aruba, Domican, Cuba, etc. It is SO UNFORTUNATE the staff - especially this one attendant in particular could ruin the face of this resort.

I hope managment does something about this!

Room Tip: Choose a Cabana!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are thankful for your compliments regarding our location and amenities and regret that you encountered poor customer service at the Front Desk. Please contact the Manager to discuss further.

Our restaurant re-opened under new management during the month of December and experienced some challenges and we apologize for this.

We do hope that you will return, and provide us with another opportunity to be of service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
93 reviews
6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Point Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Point Beach Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 223, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range: $75 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Point Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Also Known As:
Crown Point Beach Scarborough
Hotel Crown Point Beach
Crown Point Hotel Tobago
Crown Point Beach Hotel Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing