We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My version of paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown Point Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My version of paradise”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The property is well maintained. The grounds are beautiful and allow for a lovely view of the ocean.
The rooms have a kitchenette making it affordable to eat there as you can prepare as many or as little meals as you desire. Also included in the rooms are: a microwave, two burner stove, toaster oven, kettle, full size fridge, television and WIFI. The WIFI wasn't very strong and that was a bit frustrating. The hotel is missing a gym to make it perfect.

The room is cleaned daily and you can change your beach towels daily for clean ones. There is easy access to everything. There is a mini mart next door, many food places nearby, many shops with tourist items and the biggest bonus is you can walk to and from the airport to get to the property. On location there is a pool, a bar, a restaurant and entertainment some of the nights. There are tennis courts on site and a table tennis table. The beach, Storebay is minutes to walk to and you can rent chairs and umbrellas.

I loved sitting on the patio every morning to have my breakfast. The birds would come and sit on the table or the wall. They are beautiful to watch. Plus the view from the patio was amazing. You can see the ocean as well as the well manicured grounds.

I felt very safe there as there is security. Most of the staff were friendly and pleasant.

This was not my first visit and will not be my last. I will be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trini1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    135
    83
    22
    14
See reviews for
93
98
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Crown Point for 2 nights in late November, after taking the boat over from Trinidad where we were visiting family. The first thing you must understand is that this is a third world country, and Tabagonians are notoriously un-hospitable - so don't expect American standards. That being said, we had a fine stay at Crown Point. My husband grew up staying at this hotel, so that's to say it's been around a while ... and seen it's better days. But for the money, and for the location, we enjoyed ourselves. The beach is fantastic, and that's really where you spend most of your time, anyway! And I can say that we really enjoyed the poolside bar. We're not big drinkers but the barmen were so very friendly, and both of our evenings there, we really enjoyed a nice frozen drink watching the sun set. One night we ate at nearby Arawak and one night at the hotel - the food at the hotel dinner was really great. I had a fettuccine and my husband had a fish dish - both were done well! This isn't five-star, but for the location and the value, you can't do much better - and I'm sure we'll be staying here again during our next family visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit Bourg, Saint George, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent location - located 3 mins walk to the airport, 3 mins walk to Storebay Beach, close to several mini marts, casinos, forts, restaurants, bars.

Service - The front desk personnel are very pleasant. Compound secure. I would have preferred there be a bell boy to assist in carrying bags though as I had to tote my 2 heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs. That was extremely painful and inconvenient.

Facilities - Pool, Garden, Games, Studios, Cabanas, Beach front, Great views, bar, restaurant, balcony,

Cost - Studio costs $750TT per night (2 adults 1 child) or 3 adults

Room - very clean, fresh towels, comfortable beds, excellent view from private balcony. The bathroom on the whole was very tiny but clean. Kitchenette has everything you need but the toaster oven and 3 ring electric stove were both rusted (I hate to see rusted appliances), TV with cable channels, WIFI access (very good signal)

Room Tip: This is essentially a hotel where alot of families stay. If you are a business or solo traveler and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJ_Trini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our facilities. We wish to advise that the equipment that was sub standard will be addressed, and we look forward to you return.
Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Well we booked here despite a family member who stayed here a few months ago cautioned that the service year was not that good. It's true that the service here is subpar when compared to US or Canadian hotels. However there are many positives to this hotel.
PROS
- Great location within five minutes of walking from the airport
-Two minute walk to the store bay beach which has access to the Buccoo glass bottom boats
- Breakfast while not included in your room rate is reasonably economical and very enjoyable on the open covered deck which has a nice breeze coming through it
- Impeccable room cleaning daily which is probably superior to some Canadian and US hotels
-Free Wi-Fi which barely reached our room but had good coverage in the lobby dining area
-One bedroom suite has a fairly comprehensive kitchen and living room area. Separate bedroom has two double beds
- Studio suite also has kitchenette which is a nice convenience
-There is hotel security staff

CONS
- Service-level could be improved. The staff seems somewhat disinterested in the guests
-The rooms have louvers type door which does mean some security risks. Ours was broken and initially I could open our hotel door from the outside with my hand through the louvers and unlocking the door lock. Fortunately the maintenance staff did repair it within 24 hours and it improved the security. However I did feel that I needed to push that request very hard with the staff for it to happen.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jengweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We have noted your comments regarding your visit to our hotel and thank you for taking the time to bring the "cons" to our attention. We look forward to you returning sometime in the future.
Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is our fourth year in a row returning to the Crown Point Beach Hotel. We are so very glad to be here again. The management and staff have warmly welcomed us back and accommodated our every request. Each year, we have noticed continuous improvements to the hotel--both external and internal. For example, this year we have a new flat screen television, new windows, upgraded stove elements, a new toaster oven added to our suite of appliances, and our apartment has been completely repainted.

Great entertainment around the pool, especially on Saturday nights when the Anne-Marie Baksh Trio (Tropical Jam) plays. The location is unmatched in Tobago but it is the people and the place that have led to our return year over year. We are so very excited to be back in the warmth of Tobago once again.

Room Tip: We have a one bedroom apartment--tons of room for two people.Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BATGBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the premises and staff of Crown Point Beach Hotel. We look forward to your return, and being of service to you again. Best wishes to you and your family for the year ahead.
Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed for a week in a cabin that had an uninterrupted view over immaculate lawns to the ocean. Awoken to the sounds of the (gentle!) surf and birdsong..

Everything was clean and worked well (Fox Soccer Channel included on the TV package) and helpful staff..especially in the bar which was very jolly. Who couldn't have a lovely time here?

Room Tip: Ideally, stay in a cabin away from the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Richard J,

The Management and staff are thankful for your kind comments and look forward to your return. May I take this opportunity of wishing you and your loved ones Best Wishes for the New Year.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The pros:
1. walking distance from the airport
2. close to supermarket (Christabelle's superette) for emergency supplies
3. close to Store Bay (private entrance to it)
4. close to the junction where you can get taxis to carry you anywhere.
5. fantastic grounds and scenery
6. decent accommodation
7. helpful staff
8. accommodating: they let us check in early and allowed us to leave our bags when we checked out so that we did not have to lug our bags with us everywhere while waiting for our flight.
9. clean rooms and facilities
Cons:
1. weak water pressure in showers
2.houskeeping super meticulous: put away your toiletries if you don't want them to get taken away.

Room Tip: Cabanas are nice and private for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saads12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpbh, Manager at Crown Point Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind words from the Management and Staff, we look forward to your return. Please contact the Manager offline to discuss the water pressure problems you experienced during your stay. Wishing you and your loved ones Best Wishes for the New Year.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
8.0 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Point Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Point Beach Hotel

Property: Crown Point Beach Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 223, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Point Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Also Known As:
Crown Point Beach Scarborough
Hotel Crown Point Beach
Crown Point Hotel Tobago
Crown Point Beach Hotel Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing