We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Point Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2008

I stayed at the Sandy Point Beach Club for a girls vacation in June/July. The hotel was nice but had a few strange and annoying quirks.

Our room was great. It was two stories with a kitchen, dining area, balcony, bedroom, bathroom, sitting area, and a loft. It was clean and in a great location. The air conditioning worked well.

We felt safe, there is visible security at all times.

The beach was nice and very close to our room. It was kept very clean. The pool was OK, nothing to rave about.

The hotel is right next to the airport landing strip. It was fun to watch the planes come in. We knew when it was time to get up when the first am plane arrived.

The hotel bar is open to the beach. It was a great place to hang out.

The hotel staff were helpful and friendly while we were making arrangements for our stay. We missed our first night's reservations because our flight was delayed. They were very accomodating.

They have entertainment in the bar at night; karaoke, calypso band, drumming, etc...

The quirks-

Upon arrival we were given a three page list of everything (I mean everything) in our room and we were told to go through the list and make sure everything was there or else we could get billed for it. There were over one hundred items on the list. They wanted us to count towels, plates, etc... After a LONG trip to get there the last thing we wanted to do was inventory our room.

The front desk is not open all night. If you need something after hours you are out of luck. For example when we realized we were out of toilet paper at 10 PM...

The power went out three nights and we blew the circut at least three times.

We asked the front desk ladies to call a taxi to take us to dinner and were told there was only one taxi and he was busy. They told us when he was done he had another group to pick up and then he would be here to take us to dinner. Instead we walked five minutes to the airport and grabbed one of the many taxis available there.

The hotel says you can get wireless internet for $10 US a day. They tell you to bring your laptop to the front desk so they can get your IP address. Both my sister-in-law and I did this and they did not do anything to our computers. Just search for their wireless network and save yourself the $10.

The hotel has an airport shuttle for cheap. However the shuttle only runs certain hours. Because we had to be at the airport early we had to take a taxi (we should have just walked). The taxi fare was more than three times the cost of any other taxi we had taken all week and it was the shortest trip. The driver told us the cost goes up that early in the morning.

The hotel restaurant is nothing to write home about. We ate there once and that was enough. The food was expensive and not that good. Walk next door to the Steak and Lobster Grill, much better.

Overall if I ever go back to Tobago I would consider staying there again. The quirks were not bad enough that I wouldn't stay there. It would just help to be prepared for some of the surprises.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lasvegas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Sandy Point Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 231 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2008

Just returned yesterday from this property. I don't feel that it fits the description of a "resort". the term resort indicates some place inviting, enticing, pleasant and lively. We are extensive travelers of the Caribbean, but none have so not delivered like this one. First, when we arrived and were led to the room, I had to go out on the porch - and stay there. I then would re-enter the room every few minutes or so to try to slowly absorb the shock and disappointment. The room was dark ( the walls were painted white but very little natural light, it immediately depressed me.) The room looked like a below deck cruise cabin, in color, texture, decor and absence of light. Outside had little to offer as well. The "patio" was maybe 6x6' with 2 Kmart plastic chairs and one plain plastic table filling its space. There were no "grounds" on the property, more like a yard. It was quite small, with "footpaths" 4 feet away from the patio. On the second day after maid service, my husband reminded the matron that she forgot to wash the dishes...They don't do the dishes he was told. We have to wash them ourself....And make sure all the dishes are clean at checkout (there was no dishwasher)-- for the next guests!!! The trash cans were lined with the grocery store plastic bags! On the 3rd day my husband said he didn't know what was wrong with him, but that he did feel right - sore, sluggish, etc. The next day it hit me. It was the bed!!! A 4" mattress on a wooden board....We later discovered we, along with many other guests were affected the same - the beds were making us sick and sore! The on site entertainment was somewhere between pitiful to nonexistent. The food quality and pricing were as far apart as east to west. The staff was not rude...but they certainly weren't friendly either. The only reason this web address says this property is voted 5 out of 61 on the island, is because much of what is available in Tobago is so, so off the mark. So, if you're coming from the US, and accustomed to at least decent exchange of service and experience for your money - don't visit this property. Visit another island...

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ncmissyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

My husband and I decided to visit the Caribbean again and were fairly open as to which island to visit. Being members of RCI Timeshare, we searched their site and came up with the Sandy Point Beach Club in Tobago.

At no time during our week's stay at SPBC and Tobago were we ever disappointed by our choice. The island is quite beautiful, lots of sightseeing to do, exceptional diving/scuba, nice restaurants, friendly/warm people.

Our flight was delayed and they still had someone meet us at the airport and take us to the 'resort'. We were greeted with fresh rum punch.

I say 'resort' because it's not your 5 star accommodation with multiple restaurants. What you'll find are clean, comfortable rooms well stocked with kitchen utensils, television, radio. We had a one bedroom unit which could have easily have slept 6 persons (with large patio). Our only negative about our accommodation is that the covering on the main bed should be thrown out -- they seem to have been washed several times. Our unit was serviced every day with fresh towels and bed linen. As well, the grounds were very well maintained on a daily basis.

The beach area is small, but uncrowded. As for beach/lounge chairs you won't need to grab your chair first thing in the a.m. We were always able to get loungers whatever time of day we went to the beach. One of the best things at the beach is the bar being right there. Although there's no beach service, it's so close you just head up to the bar and order your drink, which is made promptly (not island time, like some places). In the bar area, there is also a pool table which we used in the evenings. Entertainment is very low key - almost non-existent - but we didn't care.

The restaurant is O.K. One day, I specially requested curry chicken with dumplings which was absolutely no problem with the cook, Sandra. She took it in stride, and it was delicious. She was also gracious and brought me special treats -- local fruit of the cashew.

If you've ever been to SPBC before, you all know Elvira! Wow! What a terrific ambassador for the place: fun-loving and laughing all the time. Her friend, Jackie, who sells this & that two nights a week is a joy to speak with, and her prices are the best you'll find for magnets, key chains, island jewelery. I really enjoyed my time with these two wonderful women.

We took two of their tours. Well-priced and staffed by friendly tour hosts.

There's a dive shop on the property (Tobago Frontier Divers) which we used to go out on two dives one day. We think Alvin Douglas, the owner/manager, is the best on the island. Excellent sites with good equipment provided.

The gift shop/store looks small, but you'd be surprised to find pretty well anything you might be looking for. We got our breakfast and lunch supplies from it and prices are fair.

Our favorite restaurant on the island was the Kariwack Village Restaurant, a bamboo pavilion/round hut which is romantic with a candlelit ambiance. It's part of a hotel with amazing gardens. We went there twice. Food was wonderful. Service professional and friendly.

So, if you're looking for a truly laid-back vacation, I'd highly recommend Sandy Point.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank WesternGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

My family travelled to Sandy Point Beach Clubl on the 2/5/2008 and booked into a lovely place, quite scenic and relaxing, we spent the saturday travelling over the island and sightseeing and took a bathe Store Bay , ate some crab and dumplings,
we went to the hotel and took in the view from the back porch and bar area went to sleep at about midnight when we were about to lock up two men appeared in the room and robbed and threathened us, they took our money and cellphones and sneakers, they tied us up and ran through the court yard and escaped , we report it to the police and the hotem managers sopke to us in the morning about 8.00 am an on enquiring about security and video camera tapes they had no response to assist us, i found that to be really hard to beleive that in this day and age of this new crime wave an establishment like this could nothave provided better security, i hope that this will not happen again. thank you for letting my review be seen by others.

Stayed: May 2008
6  Thank khan8956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

After totally tiring ourselves in the trindad carnival, my friend & I hopped over to tobago for a few days before heading home. We stayed at the Sanypoint, which I must say really served us well. we had more than enough rooms. the apartment was fully equipped to see to our needs. Although we didn't fully exploit the facilities, there definitely was enough on site. The hotel was situated on a nice beach which was great for seeing sunshine etc...It's also right next to the airport, which i found kool watching planes coming & taking off :o).
All the good beaches (storebay being the most popular) were all in close distance & the staff were great when we needed them.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chriskargbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

My family and I stayed at SPBC at our aunt's time sharing beach front villa which was fantastic! this room was fully equipped with everything we didnt even need to walk with dishwashing liquid because there was a dishwasher.. The hotel itself is absolutely lovely, the staff is friendly (except for the security who was a bit strict) but they are doing their jobs i guess.. Hotel organises activites for young, old and in between (bingo night, Karaoke etc) .. Cheap bar where you can get a cold beer for only $8TT and mixed drinks are $20 and up.. Facilites are great 2 pools to choose from and 3 hot tubs.. I was a great stay and i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TriniChick26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Just came back from brilliant 2 week holiday in Tobago. Sandy Point Beach club was FANTASTIC. We stayed in my mother's timeshare apartment [for first time] but these can be rented by non-timeshare holders. The apartment was luxurious: wooden floors, balcony overlooking gardens, fully fitted kitchen, warm showers in fab en-suites + daily maid service. The staff were fantastic, very friendly, great hosts & always available to help- the locals too, always wanting to chat etc- make sure you say hi to everyone & be very polite to all people trying to sell you things- they are all lovely. Great little shop on site as well as hot tubs, pool & superfun bar on the beach- each night with a different activity [& even tho bar was lively- SPBC was nice & quiet at night]. Do take advantage of the twice daily free shuttles to Store Bay, Pigeon Point & Mount Irvine- note Store Bay is only 10 mins walk. As for safety concerns re Tobago- we walked to/from a restaurant every night & it was perfectly safe, always lots of tourists & locals kicking about & all best restaurants are within about 10 mins walking distance of Sandy Point: Dillons, Kariwak, Bonkers, Cafe Coco, Coco Reef & the one time we took a taxi it was because it was raining!

HIGHLIGHTS & MUST DO's:
Champagne at Coco Reef Hotel- such a beautiful place- dress up [although we didn't & there is no need whatsoever to] & go for cocktails late afternoon
Dillons for Seafood- divine [in fact eat fish/seafood on every occasion- the one time I had steak I was sorely disappointed]
Hiring a car: We hired a car from near the airport- Sandy Point arranged it all. So easy to drive around the Island- make sure you stop at Englishman's Bay!
Cool Runnings glass bottom boat- recommend but negotiate on price! [Loads of boats go out from Store Bay every day around 11am] Go snorkelling even if the sea is rough- amazing fish & coral
Cheap cocktails at Bonkers bar
WALK everywhere! Its totally safe & you get to know area & people
Store Bay was our fave beach- walk!
The beach on Pigeon Point corner- ask Sandy Point shuttle to drop you off & walk back
Cafe Coco- run by the famous Coco Reef Hotel but cheap- great food
Don't be put off by proximity to airport- its fun to watch the big planes land & everyone gets v excited!
Don't forget to tip everyone at SPBC
Eat 'Doubles' for breakfast from the airport & eat lunch from the local kitchens at Store Bay- very funny beach bar too
Book all restaurants in advance $1TT per minute to call from apartment

NOT SURE WOULD DO AGAIN
Sunday School- not sure whether we were there too early or were just tired from our flight. Suspect former but was quite random
We didn't make it to The Seahorse [we had booked in advance but cancelled] after talking to group of english people who were not impressed [& its quite far away apparently]
On our drive we went to Speyside [to go to Jemma's but it was fully booked] defo not worth it for beaches- think is big area for diving though
Be prepared for airport chaos if you are travelling out on a Thursday- total mayhem as 3 transatlantic flights go out within hour of each other
Pigeon Point- not as enjoyable as Store Bay [feels very manufactured for tourists & a bit fake whereas Store Bay is where the locals go] plus you have to pay to get on $18TT. There is not much beach but water shallow & very safe for children. Ps husband went sailing, hired a boat from Pigeon Point watersports area & had a fabulous day
Mount Irvine- I liked it but those who were snorkelling did not & were covered in cuts by the end of the day
There were lots of people trying to sell beach BBQ day trips to No Man's Land- we considered it but decided not to then when we went out in the Cool Runnings boat it dropped several people off for the BBQ & can I just say so glad did not pay [expensive] no beach & looked random

Glad to answer any queries by email

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gwendolyn_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.1 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandy Point Village
Sandy Point Village
#13 of 20 in Crown Point
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
5.3 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
6.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Point Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Point Beach Club

Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range: $35 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Point Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Sandy Point Beach Club Hotel Crown Point
Sandy Point Beach Club Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing