We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed for business but will be back for pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Trinidad
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stayed for business but will be back for pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed just one night for business but so impressed by this hotel that I plan to be back before year's end with the husband.

If you are looking for serenity in a hotel, Kariwak is an excellent choice. Rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean. I was pleased to note a skylight in the bathroom, a nice selling point for those who appreciate sustainability. There's no tv and honestly, would not have even noticed if it hadn't been pointed out to me.

I also liked that the hotel offers various types of yoga.. which I also plan to take advantage of on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pep77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    80
    15
    8
    11
See reviews for
72
135
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

After my second wonderful stay at the Kariwak, I feel that this a very special gem in Tobago. It is located close the airport, but you aren't aware of planes taking off and landing. The biggest pluses I think are the excellent food that comes mostly from their gardens and prepared with great care. I was impressed that the owner was so very appreciative of my expressed enjoyment of a soup that she'd worked hard on, that someone didn't absolutely LOVE - she CARED!!!
The daily yoga classes are held in the tranquil gardens and in keeping with the overall warmth of the place, the instructors were very attentive. The staff have been nothing but pleasant and accommodating when I need to leave before the sun came up, or ran late for breakfast. Love the weekend entertainment too, and of course there is high speed internet when I needed to connect to the outside world for a minute...wonderful experience. Highly recommended place to stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAmb1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Even though its right next to the airport, its still pretty quiet and oh so zen. I rented a bike around the corner for TT 70 per day and explored the island from here. Also took advantage of the yoga and took all but one of my meals at the hotel, because the food was really great and much healthier than some of the other island options. There is generally a very good vibe here- it's not a 5 star resort- but it is great at what it does and very welcoming- I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rasruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was a last minute decision to stay at Kariwak to celebrate my friend's birthday. This was my second time at Kariwak and it was all that I expected and more. The staff was exceptional from the time of the reservation to the end. They take care of the little things that matter, like the cleaning lady knocking on the door the morning just before checkout to ask if we needed more towels. Thoughtfulness means everything on a short memorable trip, like the happy birthday song they sang and the birthday cake. Wow! I am so pleased how well everything turned out. It was just too short. Thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel_trini_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
point fortin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I arrived at the airport earlier than expected and I decided to call Kariwak at about lunch time. I asked if a room would be available because I knew check in is at 3pm and to my relief I got a room earlier than 3pm. When I entered kariwak with my lady we were greeted by a friendly Host who made us fill out relevant info and she took us to our room immediately. The location is a very convenient one because of how close to the airport it is situated and also various food places..We didn't eat too much at the kariwak restaurant though because they are a bit pricey..Take a walk one evening to la cantina not too far..drink some wine and you won't regret it. Kariwak's breakfast was tasty but a little repetitive..still tasty no complaints...The surroundings were well kept with alot of birds..fishes..trees..a very secluded Jacuzzi with artificial waterfall..Beautiful place to relax by the hammocks as well and take a little stroll. Enjoyed it!!!

Room Tip: Take a pool room..It's near everything...the pool of course..the restaurant..a little walk to Ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Myself, my sister and mum visited Kariwak for 1 night and couldn't be happier with it. It truly is holistic heaven! We stayed in one of the pool rooms and found it very cosy and clean. The garden with its hammocks is excellent, a perfect place to relax. The pool and the hidden Jacuzzi is brilliant, we had the whole Jacuzzi for ourself and could not feel more private. We had to wait for our breakfast more than 30 min but it was worth the wait - the food was amazing, so fresh and tasty. The staff was very friendly especially the manager Anna who was always there to help/advise. Shuttle buses to Pigeon Point and to the airport are great advantage although you could easily walk to both (airport 5 min, Pigeon Point 15 min). The only criticisms I could think of is that some of the ladies at reception were not able to provide us with some basic information about Kariwak's holistic treatments and the island in general and were referring us to Anna at all times. It would be nice to see them taking more interest and being more knowledgeable about the services available in the hotel + tourist information re Tobago. But overall, it was a fantastic stay, I would definitely recommend Kariwak and I would love to come back soon :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReasonWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the third time at this place. I have no regrets. The only drawback to this place is that it is not on the beach,but there are shuttles for pigeon point and store bay is not far. Great for just chilling, liming and some r&r.

Room Tip: Take the rooms by the pool. If you want more privacy, ask for rooms at the back. And do not miss out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saads12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
4.3 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
5.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
0.5 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel

Property: Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Address: Store Bay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kariwak is an intimate 24 room Tobago hotel with unmistakable Caribbean ambiance. It features wholesome cuisine using its own home-grown herbs in the restaurant, and holistic holiday activities - yoga, massage, Tai Chi. There is an award-winning tropical garden with abundant plants and bird life in addition to the garden jacuzzi, pool, weekend live entertainment. Kariwak enjoys a high percentage of repeat clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven Hotel Crown Point
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven And Hotel Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing