We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$294
$251
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$135
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort(Lowlands)(Great Value!)
$289
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$123
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
$135
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
231
90
15
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
90
15
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga classeshome grownhomemade granolafresh herbsfiltered waterhammock areahealthy foodpigeon pointbirds chirpingstore baypool sideoutdoor jacuzziflying fishgarden roompoolside roomclose to the airportbreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 354 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Arriving from Luxembourg and staying at the Kariwak was truly a beautiful experience. Rooms and bathrooms were exceptionally clean. Housekeeping changed towels and toiletries on a daily basis. Housekeeping was also extremely friendly and trusting. Ambiance and surrounding area was well kept and clean. All staff were very friendly and service was above expectation. Each night the food was amazingly delicious. They seem to have a true understanding of local cuisine, especially since the healthy food was made using fresh herbs from the surrounding gardens. Breakfast was also wonderful, especially with the birds chirping in the back ground. Price too was affordable. Location also created a great stay as the hotel is 5min walking from the beach, airport, nightlife and other beautiful restaurants. Truly and amazing stay.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the jacuzzi, the view is very scenic.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Originaldappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Checked in on the 27th Aug, in need of some rest and a recharge. I had 4 days of peace and quiet, a rejuvinating and relaxing massage from Anthony, pool time and lots of sleep. All of the water is filtered and ozonated, you notice a difference in your skin within a day of consuming and bathing in it. It was a nice break from all things electronic. Kariwak is one of the few places I travel to, where it is clean enough to walk barefooted... everywhere! Cynthia and her team are true exemplars of customer service and caribbean hosoitality - if you have special needs, allergies, a request - they are always eager to assist. My home away from home in Tobago.
If you do go, try out the hammocks and waterfall Jacuzzi.
Many of the restaurants have gone out of business, Kariwak is really the only good / healthy eating place, many items are home grown at Kariwak. You can’t book online, call way in advance, Kariwak is booked months in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at Kariwak for the fourth time and was not disappointed. This hotel's ambience is truly wonderful and very serene. The room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel staff are very friendly and the service is great. The food was very delicious and the breakfast was quite a treat. I really enjoyed the Kariwak spice tea and the yogurt with honey for breakfast. The great thing about their food is that it's quite healthy and made using fresh herbs. I must say that I've stayed at Kariwak over the last 20 years and the hotel has really maintained it's standards and even improved. I will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berri87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We last were at the Kariwak Village 27 years ago. And I can say (poitively!) it hasn't changed much at all. The rooms are soundproof, clean, and situated in a semi-cirlcle around the pool. The only change I noted from 27 years ago was that the palm trees had now grown up a great deal!
The bird life is quite spectacular here, in that the Hotel is surrounded by lush gardens. They have added a new section complete with a very nice waterfall jacuzzi at the end of the property. The water at the waterfall is much cooler than the pool - and by that I mean refreshing.
The restaurant is still very good. However these days there is a great deal of choice in dining around Crown Point. Unlike twenty seven years ago you can get very good food at other close by restaurants.
Staff is friendly and go the extra mile with service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We absolutely heart Kariwak! On paper, it should not be such a wonderful place. It is a 10 minute walk from the airport, however the moment you walk into the foliage-surrounded entrance you feel transported into a very private, safe, calm place, and barely notice the sounds of the occasional planes. The food is amazing, and Cynthia, who has run the hotel with her now ex-husband for over 20 years creates all of the recipes from scratch - we are still waiting for the recipe book!

There is an incredible energy about Kariwak, without sounding too new-agey. The gardens are relaxing, with a yoga hut in the centre, various therapies available such as massage etc, and herbs and some veg grown on-site. Food is all organic, and utterly delicious. Like some kind of Disney heaven, tiny birds fly in to the dining room to nibble at the fresh fruit left behind on your plate. In the evenings, lights are low, and the entertainment is perfectly pitched.

The rooms are simple, yet comfortable, and despite being all quite close together, somehow you never feel on top of each other or disturbed by any noise. We have always had a room very close to the swimming pool, and restaurant, and were never bothered by any noise. Upon arrival, the baby cot was already set up, and it was all very easy. My only very slight negative about the hotel is that it takes a while to adjust to the manner of the staff if you are used to the hospitality in other parts of the world that are more dependent on tourism. There is no obsequiance towards guests at all in Trinidad and Tobago, and I think I am right in making such a vast generalisation. This has been my experience of growing up in hotels that my parents ran on the island, and staying in various hotels in my adult life since leaving the west indies. When we asked for a high chair, rather than it being brought to us, we were told where to fetch it ourselves, as an example. The receptionist did not really leap to help us, as might happen in other places, but these are small things as once you adjust to not expecting staff to be at your beck and call, they are charming, warm and funny. My two your old daughter assembled them all for a group photo by the end. The pool is safe and fun for children, and the gardens at the rear are secluded and relaxed. Everything about the hotel is well thought out, and perfect if you want a boutique feel, at reasonable cost, with frankly the best hotel food on the island - consistently!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mama-andmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews