We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My family and I just got back from the Kariwak for the second time. It was perfectly blissful. The security was subtle but present, so we could give the children some much-appreciated freedom. The food alone was worth the trip. The service was warm and efficient. Also worth mentioning was the fact that no matter how much sand we dragged into our huts, they were scrubbed spotless each day.

This is a great place to decompress!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sfs1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 345 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2011

The Kariwak is quite simply the best small hotel we have stayed at. As a couple who like to support small, well run hotels where staff are paid a good wage, the food is locally sourced and attention is paid to low energy and sustainability-the Kariwak was ideal.

Rooms are simple but spotlessly clean, with good aircon or fans if you are worried about wasting energy. The food is outstanding. Most is local; all of it is outstanding in terms of quality and presentation.

But the highlight is without a doubt the level of care from the staff. They all serve with genuine interest in their guests; always with a smile and always willing to stop what they are doing and have a chat. It is more like being with close friends or family than being in a hotel.

If you are interested in small, clean, eco-friendly and great cuisine the Kariwak is for you. If you want loud music, a large pool, satellite TV and nightly entertainment don't bother.

Thank you to all who made our stay the best ever!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Redbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

This is a great place to start out on Tobago. An easy trip from the airport, and good location for walking around Crown Pointe and the beaches on the west end. We met interesting guests, mostly from London, who we enjoyed visiting. The staff, with the exception of the tour adviser, was wonderful.
We had a problem with the tour advice recieved at the hotel. We asked for a snorkle trip and we were set up on glass bottom trip with Niles. It was absolutely THE WORSE SNORKLE TRIP EVER. We went to Bucco Reef, and were allowed 15 minutes to swim. The boak, Socco Queen, didn't even have enough snorkles on board. Only about 6 for 20 customers. But it did have one of the largest boom boxes in the glass bottom boat fleet. The next day, we left for the east end of the island and the tour advisor did arrange for a great taxi-tour guide with Dexter.
There is a lot to see on Tobago and Crown Pointe, particularly Bucco Reef, is worn out, but the locals know how to bilk a tourist. Start at Kariwak, but move on.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brookseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed at Kariwak for 4 day and enjoyed it quite a bit. It's not on a beach but the grounds are lovely so you really don't need a beach. The rooms are basic but spacious. AC works great. We travelled with a friend who is a yoga buff and she really enjoyed the yoga classes. I attended one class and the teacher was great with me and the other novices. It really is walking distance from the airport (wouldn't do it in the rain though if you have rolling luggage). You don't even know the airport is next door- the only outside noise is from the neighbors. They have a van that goes to the beach once a day but it's an easy taxi ride or a semi-ambitious walk (about 30-45min) to the beach. Car rentaly places are within walking distance if you want to leave Crowne Pointe. The food at Kariway is excellent, we really didn't find anything better in our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allisonodenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This is the first time I stayed at Kariwak Village, and I got value for money at this hotel. Located 5 minutes from the airport and Store Bay, I would recommend it for anyone who really wants to relax. The peaceful, lush and private rooms were great. I have not slept so well in a long time - their beds were comfortable and clean. The rooms were spotlessly maintained as were the surroundings. The staff was always courteous and helpful and engaging. And make sure and take the breakfast package!! Their food was excellent- freshly baked goods, homemade cocoa, the awesome fruit plate and homemade yoghurt. it is a really good way to eat; local, fresh and in season foods. No frozen vegetables here!Their dinner was also exceptional and the use of fresh herbs and vegetables- grown on location, by the way, was evident in the wonderful flavours in their meals. Services like laundry were speedy and good. I would definitely return here when I go back to Tobago. Keep up the good work, Kariwak!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saads12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed at the Kariwak for a week and were very happy with the choice we’d made. The hotel is just round the corner from the airport (we walked with our cases) but you really don’t get much noise. We had one of the garden rooms (as opposed to the poolside rooms) which was a good size, clean and comfortable.

The food at the hotel was excellent – freshly prepared and using produce from the hotel’s garden. Breakfasts were very enjoyable with plenty of delicious fresh fruit followed (if you wished) by freshly baked bread, eggs and local fish. The dining area is very attractive and we really enjoyed sitting out late into the evening. My girlfriend is vegan and was well catered for – never once going hungry! The Saturday night buffet was particularly good – very difficult to stop eating..

Whilst the hotel sits on a modest sized plot, it’s very well done with beautiful planting, gardens and a lovely ‘ajoupa’ – an open sided building where we enjoyed complementary early morning yoga classes! We also made use of the hammocks and the pool.

The service was generally pretty good, and it was nice to speak with Mrs Clovis (the owner) on several occasions.

Only a few very minor niggles – the light outside our room was a bit unpredictable, some sort of dodgy sensor on it I think. With heavy rain, the garden path to the rooms got a bit wet and muddy, so a little annoying if you have to wheel your cases through.

But overall a really nice hotel on a human scale. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penningm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

The food is the best i have had,herbs grown in their own gardens,all the desserts are homemade,along with the breakfast granola.The whole area is very relaxing,hamocks in the back garden to get an afternoon siesta and snooze,while listening to the birds,a private jacuzi is available too.Ignore any comments about the airport,it is not noisy at all,you dont notice it unless you want to.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmazingBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
4.2 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
637 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
78 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel

Address: Store Bay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Crown Point
Price Range: $178 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kariwak is an intimate 24 room Tobago hotel with unmistakable Caribbean ambiance. It features wholesome cuisine using its own home-grown herbs in the restaurant, and holistic holiday activities - yoga, massage, Tai Chi. There is an award-winning tropical garden with abundant plants and bird life in addition to the garden jacuzzi, pool, weekend live entertainment. Kariwak enjoys a high percentage of repeat clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven Hotel Crown Point
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven And Hotel Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing