We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kias guesthouse pleasantly exceeded all my expectatations.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kia's Across from The Beach
Ranked #12 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My husband and i arrived on the island at 6 am got around to Kias at 7 and was in our room at 8:30am. Fantastic service, we had breakfast and it was so good! Also I loved the roosters that were strutting around!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kittendior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Kia's Across from The Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

We arrived at 11am and was able to get into the room at 1:30pm, in the beginning we received great treatment and friendly service, but as time went by, things got worse and worse, the kitchen in the studio we got for $80 Usd per night was very unclean and we were afraid to use any of the utensils or any of the few pots and pans. There was no light in the kitchen, there was hot water only one night, the towels were threadbare and the sheets on the bed and pull out sofa were so thin and threadbare it barely kept us warm. The mattresses were so worn and thin...wait, did I say mattresses? The bathroom was filthy and stained everywhere and we were afraid to touch anything. We left a message for Jocelyn to please clean our room and make up the beds and get us some clean towels, but she did not respond, when she saw us the next day, she had an excuse that she left her phone in her room. The restaurant is expensive and caters to European tastes. The noise from traffic was very, very loud, people be warned you will not get ANY sleep while you are there, this was Definitely the worst 2 nights we have spent in maybe 10 years of vacationing. We could not wait to leave and If you have money and time to throw away then please go to Kias!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wistfultraveler1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Perfect location - only some minutes from Store Bay Beach and even more close to many reastaurants. We had late dinner at Kia's restaurant and it was delicious. As well as breakfast. During our stay they had some problems with water - there was no water at all. It was very uncomfortable but the owner came to us and explained the situation, also repaid us part of room rate. We had a room without air conditioner but for one night it was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Although Tobago itself did not seem like striking location, Kia's helped to keep my memory of Tobago nice. Owner is great, staff is very helpful and Kia is adorable! Restaurant is serving some gret dishes, just had tasty lobster and home made coconut icecream - thank you Karen!
Location is good, beach is really close.
My rate for this place is excellent, only one small remark - try to get wifi to be stable in all rooms.
Thanks Kia's!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljubica1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Miss Karen was a wonderful hostess. This is very affordable and in a great location to access many of the beautiful beaches on the island. She has a gazebo which serves breakfast and dinner and boy I am already missing Ms. Gwyneth's fry bake bread. She makes a wonderful breakfast. Dinner was very good also and the prices are very inexpensive. There are several little restaurants down the street as well as local pubs/bars if you need something different. Miss Karen has a tour guide that she highly recommends and I cannot say enough GREAT things about Wayne Kennedy. He was always around checking to make sure everything was well with my boat tour to the Nylon Pool - amazing and unique location. Also, when I went to the public beach he was stopping by to visit in between his working the beach to encourage new travelers to sign up for one of his tours. I did hire Wayne for a day trip around the island and he was terrific. We traveled up the Leeward side and through the rain forest with a dip in the waterfall before moving over to the Windward side for a super lunch at a truly unique restaurant. If you are traveling to Tobago I highly recommend a stay at Kia's and hiring Wayne to set up your tours and take you out and about the island. Wayne picks you up at the airport and also drops you off.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msaskibuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This place was recommended by friends, and we don't regret it. It's not top of the line, but for the price, it's just great. Located near some of the greatest beaches of Tobago, and staff is very friendly and helpfull.
We will surely be back to Tobago, and when we do, Kia's will be our place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanley79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Kia's is a great place to stay at in Tobago. It's about a five minute walk to Store Bay and another ten minutes to get to Pigeon Point. Karen, the owner, goes out of her way to make sure your stay is comfortable and pleasant. Also, the breakfast and dinner are pretty good at their restaurant. Just expect a good home cook meal, don't expect five star Manhattan trendy bistro.

Another big plus is Wayne, if you're looking for day trips (snorkeling, hiking, sightseeing), you don't have far to look as he'll meet you at Kia's gazebo restaurant. Wayne will arrange trips for you at a fair price and you will not be disappointed. He drives you around, shows off some great sites and even allows you to sample the delicacies of the island. He's very knowledgeable of the biodiversity of Tobago.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ospaceman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crown Point hotels
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
0.4 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bananaquit Apartments
Bananaquit Apartments
#2 of 14 in Crown Point
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carolina Point Resort
Carolina Point Resort
#4 of 14 in Crown Point
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kia's Across from The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kia's Across from The Beach

Address: 4 Reserve Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range: $40 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kias Across From the Beach is located in the heart of Crown Point, between Store Bay and Pigeon Point and within comfortable walking distance to all of the amenities in the area. The house offers a choice of 2 self-contained studio apartments, 2-person guest rooms or a 3-bedroom apartment in an attractive property set in mature tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kia`s Across From The Beach Hotel Crown Point
Kia's Across From The Beach Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing