We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway in Tobago”
Review of Native Abode

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Native Abode
Ranked #1 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Wonderful getaway in Tobago”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from July 4-6 and stayed in room 204. It was a perfect room for us and the staff (Stephanie, Kaye and Stein) are the gems that make this oasis- home! From the wonderful food, service and beautiful landscape you can not go wrong. it is a short drive or walk to Pigeon Point and Storebay- close to Movie Town to catch a nice movie. The fact that we could walk around and taste all the wonderful fruits from the trees and watch the chickens/chicks and goats make you feel like you are at HOME away from HOME!
Highly recommend if you are every in Tobago!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
In was our pleasure to create a sense of perfection for you during your stay with us at Native Abode. The taste of Tobago that was extended to you was an authentic Tobago small property experience that brought you into contact with some elements of the indigenous side of the island. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
118
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Republic of Trinidad & Tobago
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Period of stay: Jun 13-16 2013

This was our first time to this beautiful bed & breakfast. It's very near (approx 3/4mile) to the best beaches(Storebay & Pigeon Pt), as well as the Crown Pt area.

The grounds are well maintained and the rooms are well ventilated and naturally cool with 12ft vaulted ceilings, ceiling fan and air conditioning. The toilet and bath is very clean with a powerful hot/cold shower and fresh towels everyday.

A quality king sized bed with impeccably clean linens, A flat screen tv/dvd with cable/netflix and telephone with free intl calls made for a very comfortable stay.

The included breakfast was wonderful, with a mix of fresh seasonal fruit(we had papaya, pineapple, bananas, watermelon etc), fresh fruit juices and a mix of continental fare (bacon/ham and eggs done any way) together with homemade bread, or favourites such as smoked herring or saltfish, complete with top quality silverware and utensils, which made us feel like royalty!

There is a well appointed small restaurant area with large flat screen tv, music entertainment centre and a separate sitting/communal area for guests to interact and the attention to cleanliness and excellence can be seen in everything.

Stein and Kaye are so hospitable and helpful, always ready to assist with directions to our daytrips and dinner dates over the three days we spent with them. We highly recommend this place!


Crystal & Anthony

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c00lfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We at Native Abode are truly happy that your first time with us was such a positively enjoyable experience. It was our pleasure to extend authentic Tobago hospitality to you and to make you feel like royalty. We do appreciate your endorsement and look forward to having you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Last week, I made my first trip to Tobago as a solo female traveler and stayed at Native Abode for 5 nights. After reading lots of reviews, I was not disappointed. A beautiful, quiet, clean and safe property run by brother and sister, Stein and Kate.

I am not a big resort type of person, so this property was exactly what I had hoped for.

The full breakfasts offered in the morning were delicious. You make your selection and tell them what time you want to eat. The room had everything you would need, even a basket of snacks and juices. The owners are really friendly and helpful. I knew from the moment I checked in, that I would return and am already dreaming and scheming of booking a return ticket next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sacramento_CALaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
It is always heartening to us when we can positively contribute to and impact a visitor's first interaction with destination Tobago. We at Native Abode truly enjoyed having you with us and took great pleasure in extending genuine Tobago hospitality to you during your stay. We thank you for your sincere comments and look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Native Abode was excellent! The owners thought through everything a traveler from abroad might need or want. They have a solution for everything - Free calls to the US! Free Wifi! Free Netflix! Free Breakfast and Airport Transfer - you cant beat that for the price. The grounds are immaculately clean and the property is a short walk to Restaurants and local Stores. I felt so at home and comfortable in the room. It was immaculately clean and the beds were very comfortable (had the twin bed room) You will not be disappointed if you book here - Kaye and Stein will take great care of you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TatertotD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
It was our pleasure to open our arms and welcome you into the Native Abode family. We are truly heartened by your appreciation of Tobago hospitality and are grateful for your endorsement. We look forward to having you with us again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stein and family are locals to Tobago and very knowledgeable when it comes to activities, food etc. Very relaxing atmosphere where they respect your privacy and take care of the little things (ie. providing us with an umbrella just in case, pick/up drop off to the airport).

Netflix, Wi-Fi, Satellite TV, Free long distance and local calls for quiet evenings in. Internet access and phone availability made our trip that much easier while we tried to plan/research for excursions and outings.

Food was excellent and the property has fruit trees galore so breakfast was always a treat. Try the Salt fish and Coconut Bake. Amazing!

Very well maintained facility. Clean, organized and accessible. Replaced towels daily, beach towels made available, complimentary snacks, bar fridge. Not sure if I have any thing bad to say except a pool would have been nice but at the end of the day I rather be at the beach (5 min away) versus a pool anyway. Located in a village close to the main road but very quiet during the day and extremely peaceful at night. Felt very safe as this Bed & Breakfast has cameras and full lighting around the entire perimeter.

5 Stars. I would recommend this place to my Parents without any hesitation.

Thanks Stein and family and see you again soon.

Room Tip: Corner Room at the end of the hall is nice and isolated and has large seating balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It was our pleasure to give you a taste of true Tobago hospitality. Your enjoyment of our offering and the offering of destination Tobago is heart-warming. Your endorsement is also deeply appreciated. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Short and simple. The native abode is the best..my first being in Tobago and staff of Native Abode made it comfortable and fun from checkin. The only apoiler was the rain. I would diffantly recommend anyobe stay here tou would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We at Native Abode are glad that we were able to make your first visit to Tobago a positively memorable one. It was our pleasure to be of service to you. We also greatly appreciate your endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FYZABAD
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

we booked for one night and got a quaint room with all modern conveniences. Breakfast was vry fulling and the staff were extremely pleasant. the only thing missing here is a pool, however if you are looking for rest and relax, native abode is the place to go!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAVSAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the endorsement. We at Native Abode were happy to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
1.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,509 reviews
3.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
5.2 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Native Abode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Native Abode

Property: Native Abode
Address: 13 Fourth Street, Gaskin Bay Road | Bon Accord, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Native Abode 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Native Abode Bed & Breakfast offers its patrons a unique lodging experience based on the 'Triple R Experience' of Relaxation, Rest & Rejuvenation with that 'home away from home' ambience - Tobago style.Strategically located in the heart of the tourism capital of the island of Tobago, Native Abode is sited in the village of Bon Accord in south-west Tobago, nestled amongst lush and verdant vegetation. Only a 5-minutes drive from the ANR Robinson International Airport, two popular beaches - Store Bay and Pigeon Point, and numerous restaurants and eateries. Native Abode provides an environment of personalized service and pampered luxury with the indigenous cultural flavour of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Native Abode reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Native Abode Hotel Crown Point
Native Abode Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing