We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Native Abode

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Native Abode
Ranked #1 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beyond Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited this B & B and had a superb stay. The rooms were cozy and beyond comfortable. Moreover, going out into the garden each day was a treat. The dining room was home to some of the best breakfasts I've ever been afforded from any type of lodging - from fresh fruits, to coconut bake, to saltfish, to smoke herring and of course, all the usual continental offerings.

Trinis and foreigners will be sure to enjoy the variety. But it's the hosts that are really the hallmark of this charming establishment. This is a family run, all-hands-on-deck vacation. We were transported to and from the airport and beaches, and were always made to feel welcomed and cherished. This is Tobago hospitality at its finest. There's a reason it's number one on Tripadvisor - it is more than well deserved.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KismetG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for your glowing endorsement. It really warms our hearts to know that you truly enjoyed the genuine Tobago hospitality we extended to you during your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again, until then a warm Tobago hospitality awaits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
117
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swanscombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife & I stayed for just a week in March & was so glad we chose this charming, clean, friendly hotel. We cannot fault the fantastic service with such attention to detail, great communication & run by such a lovely warm friendly family.
A fantastic vegetarian option breakfast for us along with Stein's friendly transport service was the icing on the cake.
Truly a home from home!
Thankyou

Steve & Carla

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We at Native Abode took great pleasure in being of service to you during your stay with us. Your sincere appreciation of genuine Tobago hospitality is truly heart-warming and we do look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my time at this cute, little B&B. The room was very comfortable, the service was friendly, and the extra amenities (free snacks, wifi, and international phone calls) were wonderful. Its location in a residential area made me feel like I was actually living on Tobago and I liked that. It is also possible to get to the supermarket, an assortment of restaurants, as well as spectacular beaches in just a short walk from this property. Airport transfers are included with your stay. I hope to return to Tobago and Native Abode very soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chilopoda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
It was our pleasure to extend genuine Tobago hospitality to you during your stay with us. We are glad that you were able to feel like you were a part of the community and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
243 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We very much liked staying at Native Abode. It was very nice to stay in a quiet local neighborhood. Although taking a taxi was easy, it was also good for walking a couple blocks and grabbing a share taxi as well. While the room was very clean and comfortable, probably the biggest asset of Native Abode is Stein (pronounced Steen), whose family converted their family house into Native Abode about 6 years ago. Stein apparently works 24 hours a day but still remains amazingly friendly and always helpful. In fact, he gave us a ride a few times, once helping to find a place (without address) where we were to meet friends, and also taking us to a laundry. Breakfast was also first-rate. The quality-to-price ratio is excellent. I recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelin_tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
It was our pleasure to make you feel at home during your stay with us. The small property experience of having our guests live like us while they stay with us, is part and parcel of genuine Tobago hospitality that reflects the charm of Tobago. Your appreciation of it is greatly rewarding. We also thank you for your endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here in Feb for my wife's bday. We enjoyed the comfort of the room so much that we hardly left our room over the 2 days. The staff and owners were very friendly and accomodating. We would defintely recommend this hotel and will surely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHELLY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We thank you for your comments about the comfort of our rooms. It is a testomomy to our claim that our rooms envelop you in a quiet luxury. Looking forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had a wonderful time at the Abode. The staff was great and put up with my insistent request for rides to everywhere, lol. But seriously the hotel room was great, quiet and slightly secluded. PS The breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We were glad to extend to you genuine Tobago hospitality during you stay with us. lol back at you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Me and my boyfriend spent 2 nights in this hotel after carnival 2013... Well i must say i was impressed!!!! I travel a lot because of my job and I get to stay in many hotels..But this one is something different.. You feel like home but you also have the 5 * hotel experience. Very friendly customer service!!! (Thank you Stein!!). The hotel is close to the airport and also close to an amazing beach... Dont u think that u ll hear any noise...Because it s placed in such a quiet area! The room looks so good carribbean style decorated... It has a kitchenette...very handy! And i love the small details : u even have a rack for wine bottles...microwave oven...tv...netflix(that was a wow).. AC and also a ceiling fan...The bathroom was very clean, hot water all the time....extra towels, towels for the beach...toiletries...exactly as i said: they paid a lot of attention to small details that wow-ed us. If u want you can have breakfast - it s complimentary... We placed "the order" the day before and the time of serving...Next morning we received a call in the room saying that our breakfast is ready...We went downstairs ...again the 5* service...everything was ready for us..everything fresh and hot!! Breakfast delicious...the main choice + variety of fruits, juices, salad, tea, coffee , hot chocolate...fresh squeezed juice!! yummy... just writing this review i feel like I wanna go back...! and it's my first review on trip advisor but i really feel that this hotel deserves a good one! I would recommend this to anyone!!!
Yes it doesnt have a swimming pool because u have a biiiig turquoise swimming pool - the sea really close - You dont need a swimming pool!!!! And as for fitness center...why should you need one? U can run on the beach if you want ...really nice landscape... Or u can be lazy on the beach all day detoxing post carnival :D (like me)
Seriously, I dont think it has any shortfalls in any department!!!
I hope u all guys enjoy your stay in this hotel...and I hope my review helped you...because i choose this hotel because it was the only hotel in tobago that i found on trip advisor with no negative comments!!!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniela_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
It was our pleasure to "wow" you during your stay with us. Your sincere appreciation of genuine Tobago hospitality is rewarding for us at Native Abode. It is always a feather in one's cap when your guests are the ones to sing your praises based on their own personal experience: we could want no better champions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
1.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
3.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chic, the boutique hotel & conference centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Native Abode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Native Abode

Property: Native Abode
Address: 13 Fourth Street, Gaskin Bay Road | Bon Accord, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Native Abode 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Native Abode Bed & Breakfast offers its patrons a unique lodging experience based on the 'Triple R Experience' of Relaxation, Rest & Rejuvenation with that 'home away from home' ambience - Tobago style.Strategically located in the heart of the tourism capital of the island of Tobago, Native Abode is sited in the village of Bon Accord in south-west Tobago, nestled amongst lush and verdant vegetation. Only a 5-minutes drive from the ANR Robinson International Airport, two popular beaches - Store Bay and Pigeon Point, and numerous restaurants and eateries. Native Abode provides an environment of personalized service and pampered luxury with the indigenous cultural flavour of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Native Abode reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Native Abode Hotel Crown Point
Native Abode Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing