We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful”
Review of Native Abode

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Native Abode
Ranked #1 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
BRISTOL
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“delightful”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

lovely B & B

wish we had booked for more than one night

don't worry about no pool tobago has plenty of beaches

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomads28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We appreciate your endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
118
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Native Abode is one of those rare and wonderful finds in Tobago. It is a classy little B+B run by a brother-sister team (Stein and Kaye). They are wonderful people and I guarantee they will make you feel at home.

Rooms and decor- This is a 4 year old, 5 bedroom B+B with beautiful spacious rooms. I stayed in a regular room and it was equipped with a flat screen television, a small dining table, a little kitchenette with microwave, kettle, mini fridge and all the wares and dishes i could possibly need, except for pots, since there isn't a stove. This is by no means a problem since chances are, you will hardly be there to cook up a three course meal in any event. They also provide various hot beverage options. The room is tastefully decorated, giving you that often difficult-to-achieve combination of comfy-meets-classy. Needless to say, I love it. There is also a little deck, nice clean bathroom and ample towels (although some of the towels smelled a bit dusty). Nice quiet AC and Fan. A nice added touch in the room was the jug of 'Tobago spring water', refilled everyday just for you, so you never have to buy water or drink from the tap.

Breakfast- Kaye does it perfectly. Wonderful, tasty and filling local breakfast, with all the parts- fruit, veg, juice, hot beverages, BAKE!! and whatever fillings on the menu (namely, fish prepared in various ways, eggs, bacon, chicken, also vegetarian options) warm and prepared for you at a time that is convenient for you in the morning, and you can have it in their charming little dining room. BONUS: for you people out there that are into the whole fresh fruit, organic produce thing, they grow all their fruit right there in the back yard garden. Depending on the season, you can take a walk in the back and pick a fruit yourself.

Surroundings and View- Native Abode is located within 5 min drive to the Airport, and beaches like Pigeon Point and Store Bay also easy access to transport, restaurants. The actual site of the B+B is in a back road, and there isnt much to see there, in terms of views. To me this was the only thing I would have liked but did not have; some sort of nice scenic view as I ate my breakfast in the dining room or from my deck. A 5 min drive will take care of your 'view' issues though- just head straight to Pigeon Point :)

Kaye and Stein- You guys are awesome and I really appreciated how you took care of me and went the extra mile. God bless you guys

Final words- All the reviews are correct, the place is indeed awesome. PLEASE STAY HERE! you will not be disappointed :)

Room Tip: if you are a couple, you can choose the honeymoon suites, everything is larger if you require more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100percentislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatsTobago, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Since it is the custom of Native Abode to show its appreciation to its patrons, the management takes this opportunity to say "thank you" to those who have shared their comments recently. We are truly grateful for all feedback received and we thank you for all your patronage thus far.

We also want to assure the travelling public that due consideration is given to all comments and suggestions as they are critical elements to our ability to surpass customer expectations enhancing the quality of your stay with us, and by extension your Tobago experience. We therefore await, with great anticipation, the opportunity to be of service to you and yours in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My stay was exceptional, from the time of my arrival to my departure, excellent service, wonderful ambience and the breakfast was delicious, loved the fried melongne. I was totally satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patb048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We are delighted that your stay with us was a satisfying experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great customer service, wonderful rooms, delicious breakfast (try their dasheen punch and avocado punches). Over all excellent experience I rate it an A.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candylee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your stamp of approval and for sharing with your experience with us with the rest of the traveling fraternity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South, Trinidad and Tobago
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We only stayed for one night, but we were very tempted to stay for much longer after checking in. They really thought of everything! I was amazed at the service, amenities and the quality of the rooms and furniture for such a reasonably priced bed and breakfast. I really appreciated the free wireless internet, cable television and free international calls which really added value to the place so that I did not miss having a swimming pool...well almost didn't. I was even glad they had a wine opener too! The breakfast was just enough, and there was a wide selection of beverages to choose from, including freshly made fruit/vegetable punches. I highly recommend the carrot or avocado! On our next visit we really want to explore the northern side of the island and unfortunately it is quite a bit of a drive away, but seeing that the service and rooms were so lovely, I might very well make the sacrifice. It is located close to several bars, restaurants, supermarkets and only six minutes from the airport. More importantly it is about six to ten minutes from two of the best beaches in Tobago. Native Abode was recommended to me and we are definitely going to recommend them to anyone else!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Your open and honest comments encourages us. We are elated that our efforts to ensure you, our patrons, get value for your money is being appreciated. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Excellent service, Excellent facilities, Excellent breakfast and DEFINITELY Excellent bed! Native Abode surely has a good thing going. Kaye is a key asset to their success. She is very courteous, helpful and very accommodating. I would recommended this venue to anyone looking for a nice, comfortable, private place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Your heartfelt comments and endorsement is greatly appreciated. We were glad to be able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Me and my husband stay at Native Abode for our honeymoon. From the moment we got picked up at the port to the moment we left was awesome. Breakfast every morning was great, we had homemade bake with salad and fruits, homemade juices, punches and it was great! It was truly a home away from home. We were made to feel as if we were part of a large family. It was also a great location not too far from the movies, beaches and shopping. The stay there was an experience that we would remember forever, not because it was our honeymoon but because of the extraordinary service that made our honeymoon extra special. We are definitely planning our one yr. anniversary to be at Native Abode. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetnessuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaye T, Owner at Native Abode, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We were delighted to create a memorable experience for your honeymoon and look forward to your repeat visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
1.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,509 reviews
3.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
5.2 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Native Abode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Native Abode

Property: Native Abode
Address: 13 Fourth Street, Gaskin Bay Road | Bon Accord, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Native Abode 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Native Abode Bed & Breakfast offers its patrons a unique lodging experience based on the 'Triple R Experience' of Relaxation, Rest & Rejuvenation with that 'home away from home' ambience - Tobago style.Strategically located in the heart of the tourism capital of the island of Tobago, Native Abode is sited in the village of Bon Accord in south-west Tobago, nestled amongst lush and verdant vegetation. Only a 5-minutes drive from the ANR Robinson International Airport, two popular beaches - Store Bay and Pigeon Point, and numerous restaurants and eateries. Native Abode provides an environment of personalized service and pampered luxury with the indigenous cultural flavour of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Native Abode reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Native Abode Hotel Crown Point
Native Abode Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing