We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome and Great Caribbean and International Dishes”

Kariwak Village Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Crown Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My first visit to Kariwak Village Restaurant, and I certainly hope not my last.
On a visit to Tobago, my hosts proposed a drive into the country and Sunday lunch at a restaurant. I am glad that they chose Kariwak. Although we arrived long after lunchtime, and before the evening diners would be expected, we received a warm welcome, and our request for items not then on the menu was accommodated readily. Our choices were very varied, but that was "no problem". The dishes were delicious and well presented. The wait staff were pleasant and helpful. The choice of liquors and local punches wide and refreshing. The setting and atmosphere very scenic and restful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MKathyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kariwak, Guest Relations Manager at Kariwak Village Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for dining with us.

We are so glad you enjoyed it and we'd love to have you back to experience breakfast and dinner with us as well.



Warmest Regards
AnnA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 287 of 376 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

A surprisingly lovely setting as you step into the Kariwak Village Restaurant. They were busy but able to find a table for us. There is a very limited set 4-course menu so this would not suit everyone. The food was cooked well and service was mainly good. Nice place for a one-off meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank penelopehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kariwak, Guest Relations Manager at Kariwak Village Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

I'm glad that you were able to enjoy a meal here with us, but we do hope that it is not "one-off" as we'd love to have you visit with us again.



Warmest Regards
AnnA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Well for one it had no tv, no internet, no fridge. No activities for kids really except for the pool. But it was relaxing and comfortable and just serene. Good location to Shopping plazas, atm's, internet café, mini mart, beaches.

Thank Tra25vel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kariwak, Guest Relations Manager at Kariwak Village Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing our property. We are glad that you were able to relax while with us and trust that you returned home rejuvenated.

The rooms contain neither TVs nor Fridges, but there is free Wi-Fi available. The password is available from any staff member.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We came here on a recommendation from a friend who'd visited a couple of years ago.

The place itself is lively, and the service very friendly.

We came here hoping for a "special" meal, but frankly it wasn't

The food was relatively cheap, because it was set menu. The food was ok. One starter got spilled into one of our sons lap, which happens I suppose, but it was annoying nonetheless.

The wine order was placed during starters, but it wasn't until the main was on the table that we were asked if we wanted it chilled or at room temperature (Having tried red wine at room temperature over here I recommend slightly chilled, which takes it to the temperature that Europeans would be used to!) so it didn't turn up till we'd nearly finished the course!

If you want a basic cheap meal somewhere nice then this is the place for you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkJEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had two lunchtime meals here - one on our way to the airport on our way home. Set in beautiful, tranquil gardens. The restaurant is part of a hotel/holistic health and treatment centre. Sat outside yet under the cover of coconut palm leaves - beautiful, colourful birds flying in to sit on chairs and tables close by ... wonderful to watch. On first visit we enjoyed several non alcoholic fruit punches - they were delicious and then we enjoyed a traditional Caribbean lunch of chicken coated in herbs and spices, rice, black eyed peas, potato bhaji, greens and salad. Huge servings - incredibly filling! Still had room for homemade ice-cream - my coconut flavour was very refreshing but the flavours are pretty overpowering ... the others struggled with the strong peppermint and rum/raisin ones. Also, beware if you order ginger beer - it's incredibly potent and strong ... in fact it almost burns your throat as you swallow!! Cynthia the lady who runs the place was visible on the first visit. You can buy her cookbook which tells how the Kariwak came about and has some lovely recipes in it (which I am hoping to have a go at now we are home!). Cost 150TT for paperback copy.
Our second visit - the food (club sandwiches/grilled cheese sandwiches and fruit punches) was lovely but the service on that day was incredibly slow. Normally, we were happy to go with the flow and do things the Tobago way ... but we were in more of a rush to check in for our flights - so we felt under pressure to get our food/bill more quickly than usual. Had we stayed longer than 2 weeks on Tobago, I would have liked to try an evening visit.

Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kariwak Village Restaurant also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Crown Point, Tobago
 

Been to Kariwak Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing