We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal, lovely ambiance”

Kariwak Village Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Crown Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great meal, lovely ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stopped for a meal on the recommendation of our cab driver. Had a fantastic curried shrimp meal, salad and gorgeous vegetable soup for 15 GBP (145 TTs) which is very reasonable for three courses. With drinks it was about 175 TTs. They offer two only two main options but they were cooked to perfection. I also really recommend the pineapple and passionfruit smoothly drink - it's so refreshing on a hot night. You sit under a beautiful canopy around lots of greenery so the ambiance is quite romantic. The staff were lovely as well. Absolutely worth a stop while in Crown Point.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    121
    21
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Celebrated our first wedding anniversary here with a delicious candle lit meal in a thatched roof open air dining room. Each course was flavorful and memorable, complemented by excellent service! I read that everything is grown locally and the herbs are grown on the property. Our multiple courses consisted of locally grown pea soup with warm bread rolls, a delicious salad, grilled fish with mashed potatoes and vegetables. Ice cream for dessert. The full moon lighting up the paths around the grounds made Kariwak very special.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avid_traveler_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A jewell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

If your idea of a holiday is to stay in a smart hotel with all the modern facilities of that of a large chain do not come here, but if you are looking for the most wonderful tobagan hotel with delicious food served by the friendliest attentive staff then the kariwak is the place
for you. This small hotel was created 29 years ago by Mr Mrs Clovis whose vision was to create a holistic, relaxing intimate hotel and boy have they succeeded. My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary here , and could not think of a better place we stayed for nine nights and had no complaints whatsoever. The rooms are air conditioned with separate wc and shower area, beds are firm made daily with white cotton sheets, pillows are plump and comfortable . Bedside lamps cater for the evening read. There are no tea/ coffee in rooms but an insulated jug which will be filled on request by the kitchen, chilled water is also available in the reception/ bar area free of charge. The open air dining room is ventilated by ceiling fans and allows the ambience and tropical birds to entertain you, watch the sugar they love to peck at the crystals. The food is very imaginative with flavors that bounce off the tongue, an example of a dinner menu would be a homemade soup, followed by a simple salad, a main accompanied with various vegetables and rice, a desert or homemade ice-cream , freshly brewed coffee or try the kariwak spiced tea a homemade blend of herbs and spices. Breakfast is equally delicious, flying fish, Fresh fruit, omlettes, homemade bread,muesli, yoghurt to name but a few choices. Unlimited tea or coffee is served on request by chatty, professional ladies. Cynthia Clovis visits every table morning and evening checking that all is ok and just to have a little chat. The pool area is surrounded by tropical palms and plants offering shade when required ,the pool is small but as the hotel only has 24 rooms , it will never become overcrowded. The kariwak offers everything to make a visit to Tobago memorable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gam731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Lunch! So yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is a favorite for our group. We enjoy eating here every time. Had a quick lunch here one Sunday and it was perfect. Our server Suzette was so nice. A couple of us had some sandwiches and they were phenomenal. The others had the hot lunches of stewed chicken, callaoo, macaroni pie, rice, vegetables etc and they loved it. The chef really has a wonderful hand. Everything has an interesting flavor that makes you want to eat more. Prices are comparable to anywhere else in Tobago and with service and food like this I recommend it to anyone!.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atkinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“fantastic service& lovely garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Recently we celebrated our wedding day at kariwak village,It was truly one of the best days of our lives.Everyone & everything was just perfect.Kariwak's flowers garden is something to behold.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank africanqueen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kariwak Village Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kariwak Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing