We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth the drive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Cielo de Canar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Cielo de Canar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canar
wales 99
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

The other visitors have described the stay very well; it is off the beaten track, and can be quite a detour. The drive up the mountain is certainly one for the daytime, but it is worth it. My mistake was in not staying for more than the one night; this is a place to completely chill out- to put the feet up, marvel at the views, and let the owners dogs take you for a walk. The hosting is professional, friendly and discreet, and the building and grounds and views are not done justice by some of the photos I looked at before going. A complimentary bottle of cava for the wife's birthday was a nice touch, much enjoyed watching the sunset over the mountains.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

We visited El Cielo de Canar for 6 nights and it was a lovely experience - worth the initially scary drive up from the village (try to arrive in daylight). The setting is perfect for relaxation and enjoying the rugged beauty of Las Alpujarras. The decor is tasteful throughout and it is spotlessly clean. Attention is given to detail with lanterns lit each night on the terrace, and pretty night-lights sparkle in the dining room. Breakfasts and evening meals were most enjoyable, and portions were pretty substantial. Our only suggestion would be that there should be tea/coffee making facilities in the dining room for guests to help themselves to (alongside the existing mini-bar). The outside area is varied with different terraces to relax on, a pool area, and hammocks in the interesting garden so allowing for all guests to have privacy if they so wish. We explored the area both on foot and by car (you do get used to the mountain driving) and the Alhambra in Granada was definitely worth the trip. We must say that John and Orna's gentle hospitality and the company of the other guests all added to the whole experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tortoiselife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

Complete relaxation was just what was needed and El Cielo de Canar delivered this and more. The location is breath-taking: wonderful views across the mountains to the Med and the surrounding villages. The only sounds are from the bells of the goats making their way down the mountain in the evening. The night sky is just a revelation - stars and galaxies that aren't apparent when you view in a city. The hotel is small but perfectly formed with everything you need to help you relax: hammocks, swimming pool, sun loungers, wine and food.The hosts, Orna and John, run the place with a lightness of touch and feeling. The dogs Edde and Eric just add to the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

"Where the hell are you taking me?", said the wife as we climbed a thin strip of tarmac on the edge of a rather large mountain. "On top of the world" could be a description of El Cielo de Canar and that is certainly how you will feel on arriving there.

This is a small five-room hotel hosted by John and Orna. Perched in the Alpujarras, the views over the mountains and valleys are breathtaking. This is a hotel to go to if you want peace, tranquility and to connect with nature (labradors Eddie and Elvis took us on a walking tour).

There is a pool although in May it was a little too cool at that altitude to take a dip. The restaurant is essentially Orna's dining room and she rustles up some georgous food. An honesty bar makes you realise the nature of this place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheltophilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

This place is a real find. It is a modern converted barn-like building. The rooms are very recently and well deocrated with excellent installations. The setting is majestic up in the mountains with amazing views. The hotel is peaceful and quiet . The stars shine brightly at night which is a scene one almost forgets living in a big city. The owners treated us as if we were friends not hotel guests. They were very friendly and hospitable, but at the same time sought to give us space. The two labradors were equally friendly!

Getting to the hotel is fine if you follow the directions and an exhilerating drive. Perhaps not a hotel for health and safety officers or overly paranoid American parents but anyone else with even a slight sense of adventure should love it. The countryside is beautiful and great for walks. The views are amazing. There is a small pool. We did not have dinner, but it smelt great. Alhambra took about 1.5 hours to get to from the hotel (you can stop off in Lanjaron en route and that would add to the trip).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donegan_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

There really is no more anyone can add - it is a wonderful place where you are able to completely relax and unwind. The hotel is in a beautiful spot and you are made to feel very welcome. We too had the place to ourselves which inevitabley enhances the experience. The honesty bar and lovely meals are a delight and the rooms are beautifully furnished. There are many delightful, thoughtful touchs - not least the offer of a drink after the long uphill drive!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

I found this hotel thanks to Trip Advisor, and I'm so glad I did. It's astonishing: charming rooms, beautiful location and - most important - wonderful hosts who make you feel as though you're staying with friends rather than at a very good hotel. Attentive but never intrusive, it seems to me they've gone and created the hotel they'd always dreamed of staying at. Fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaeldotSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canar
3.5 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.0 mi away
Puerta Nazari
Puerta Nazari
#2 of 3 in Orgiva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
9.0 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mirasol
Hotel Mirasol
#3 of 3 in Orgiva
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cielo de Canar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cielo de Canar

Property: El Cielo de Canar
Address: Llano de Manzano | Canar, 18418 Canar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Canar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 double bedrooms set in the mountains 1 hour south of Granada with stunning views, country walks and swimming pool. Surrounded by white villages this is a place of tranquility in the Alpujarras. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Cielo De Hotel Canar
Canar El Cielo De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing