We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cielo de Canar
Nearby Hotels
Alcadima Hotel(Lanjaron)(Great Value!)
$80
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Castillo Lanjaron(Lanjaron)(Great Value!)
$39
$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Andalucia Hotel(Lanjaron)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paris(Lanjaron)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Miramar(Lanjaron)(Great Value!)
$37
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Espana Hotel(Lanjaron)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
96
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel cielostayed for nightsjohnviewsvillageandaluciahillcookingstyledaylighthosting
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 96 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

At the end of September 2012 we stayed here for 3 days. It is located in a very nice area and is a very nice place to relax. John is a great host and gave us lots of tips on the area where we did some nice walks. Some evenings you can have dinner or some tapas otherwise you can visit a local bar or restaurant but then you will need your car or ask John to give you a lift. Overall an excellent place to spend your holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Its been over 6 months since my husband and I stayed in this beautiful property and I have meant to review before. Like a good book our experience in El Cielo has remained with me to be savoured long after it is finished. We spent 3 days in June and it truly is a special place. The rooms are beautiful, the view superb, the food lovely and the ambience lovely but what we particularly loved was the subtle attentiveness of the hosts John and Orna. And the not soo subtle attentiveness of the beautiful labradors Elvis and Edie!!! Once we moved on to Granada we were both a bit lost without John to quietly guide us. It was beautiful to spend time in Canar and experience such a true Andalucian village and yet have such luxurious accommodation. As we move to think of this years holiday the memories of this place come back to tease me. I seem to forget all the other places we stayed in which were also lovely but just have not left the same impression. It is hot in June/July up there and although there are very strong manual air con units we did miss integrated air con a little. Having said that there is no way we would have missed the experience and would recommend it to any couple no matter what time of year. Would love to go back this June but looking for a new destination. However it will be very difficult to find another El Cielo!

Therese and Fran, Kilkenny

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed one night at El Cielo de Canar. John was a gracious host. We were walking the GR7. John picked us up in Canar and drove us to his place. It was a rainy day. Nicely furnished rooms. Patio has great views of the Alpujarras on sunny days. John was very nice. He drove us to town for dinner and dropped us off in the morning. He helped us order our food and gave us information about the local area.

Room Tip: All rooms looked nice.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It's early September. The view goes down to the Mediterranean and all the way to Morocco. The figs are ripe and John says you can help yourself. Though the four guest bedrooms are small, the shower is terrific and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast is good (fresh figs of course) and the day is yours to enjoy the terrace, the loungers, the swimming pool, the books or to go for a walk on the hillside following mule tracks (with shepherds on their mules and the clanking of goat bells) either down to the the village of Canar or up the hill following footpaths or aquifers (acequiers) shown in the selection of guidebooks. Elvis and Eddy the labradors may decide to come with you. Orna will cook dinner some evenings, provide tapas on other evenings or otherwise John will give you a lift down and up again to eat in the local bar. Bring your Spanish dictionary because Canar is still relatively unspoilt.

You quickly get used to the drive from Canar to the hotel. Should you drive further all the way up to the top of the hill (good walking up there) you can experience a real Spanish mountain road!

John and Orna are friendly, courteous, diligent and capable hosts. They have a fund of local knowledge and nothing seems to be too much trouble. They have converted a smallholding into the perfect, quiet getaway place. If you want the disco and the riotous company go somewhere else. If you want a rest, this is perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were really sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ant42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

What can I say that hasn,t already been said. I want to live here. The place is amazing and no review can give it Justice. John and Orna were excellent hosts above and beyond expectations. The accommodation was idilic, the views were amazing and the morning sunrise over the mountains exquisite. The little village of Canar is quaint with a lovely friendly little pub within walking distance of accommodation. Fantastic range of species of birds for bird enthusiasts. Thank you John and Orna for your hospitality we had a fantastic time. And will certainly be returning. Colin & Kyra

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews