We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd but charming”

Hotel Cumbres Valdeon
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Posada de Valdeon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cumbres Valdeon
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The picture makes the hotel look like its in the middle of nowhere - but actually it's just outside the town. Its a bit old fashoined and the decor looks a bit worn - but it grew on us. Breakfast was extra - and somewhat disappointing - particularly when you've a day's walking ahead of you. On the second day we were charged extra for our second coffee ....... Although the restaurant had great reviews it wasn't until we arrived that we were told that it was closed - despite prior email contact to confirm our booking .....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetta047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 30 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

We came with a hiking group, and didn't expect better than basic, but it was. Family-run, they really made an effort to see that we were comfortable, and well-fed. Even a generous American-style breakfast with eggs cooked to order. Dinner had a number of excellent choices, including some local specialties. The rooms were very clean and spacious. And on top of it all, there was good Wifi!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the central massif of the Picos. The view is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank uwman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

A beautiful well equipped old building. A very warm welcome and great service from friendly helpful staff. Food excellent and plentiful..breakfast a bit sparse as is the local custom.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheeler1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The view and location are stupendous, with free parking immediately outside. The village is lovely and has a laid-back atmosphere, with several other hotels, what looks like an up-market restaurant, a couple of small supermarkets, good bakery, cheese and other shops.

It is far enough from the noisy tourist-trap, rather tacky, end-of-the-road Cain (just under 10km north- can you tell I didn’t like this place?), to be quiet. The drive must be done, however, as some of the scenery is breathtaking.

The staff were helpful, most friendly and sympathetic to my slightly unusual dietary needs, but were easily able to satisfy my hunger ! The food was very good.

The bedroom had a great view of the mountains, with an almost balcony and had, unusually for this trip, all the fittings in the right place; as did the bathroom. The shower was the best of the trip and even smelled clean. Both were SPOTLESS and sparklingly clean.

Breakfast was fine. The only drawback was the late start to dinner (9p.m.), which was the same for all of the other eating places in the village. This did not quite make it easy for an early start.

Most restful: an excellent, well-run hotel, to which I would love to return. It was also by far the cheapest, in a five-hotel trip.

Room Tip: Depends what kind of view you'd like !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank firstrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ctromper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si pueden elegir, mejor habitaciones en primera planta, para no subir tantas escaleras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cuquisss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre 221, il y a une fenêtre dans la salle de bain et vue sur la montagne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Posada de Valdeon hotels
1.5 mi away
Eigon
Eigon
#1 of 7 in Posada de Valdeon
28 reviews
1.4 mi away
Picos de Europa
Picos de Europa
#2 of 7 in Posada de Valdeon
28 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostal Casa Abascal
Hostal Casa Abascal
#3 of 7 in Posada de Valdeon
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Camping El Cares
Camping El Cares
#1 of 2 in Posada de Valdeon
38 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Posada Asturiano
#2 of 2 in Posada de Valdeon
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cumbres Valdeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cumbres Valdeon

Address: Calle Carretera de Soto de Valdeon, km 14, 24915 Posada de Valdeon, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Posada de Valdeon
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Posada de Valdeon
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing