We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Poachers Pocket

The Poachers Pocket
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Chirk
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

When it first opened under the current chain the food was good, but my last visit left a lot to be desired. The service is good, staff very polite, but our meal was just ok.

It's a very busy venue and family friendly, it's also very noisy, the tables are so close together you feel as though you're eating with your neighbouring table.

Not my first choice place to visit, it's one that's 'on the list' if several other venues are full or closed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelaWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    189
    109
    57
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great setting with average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The setting along the canal is beautiful and they cater to families with an outdoor play area for children. Ample parking and wide variety of choice on menu. Food is average servings with average taste...nothing in particular to write home about...also with average prices for the area restaurants.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank uaredaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely pub but poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Attended the pub from walking in the area on a Sunday. The pub looks so inviting in and out, staff are really helpful and welcoming and a great choice of beers on the bar but the food was such a let down. Ordered three Sunday roasts at 5pm, they arrived 3 minutes later and the quality was very poor, the meals has clearly been sat under a heat lamp. Potatoes were dry and tasteless, veg was quite al dente, chicken was ok but again very dry. I don't mind waiting for food, in fact I would have preferred to. But the pub has so much going for it, it's just such a shame it lets itself down on that. Looking at other reviews it seems clear a food is a common problem. :(

Helpful?
Thank Dannymck18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We love this place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I absolutely love coming here!! My grandparents live close to the pub but we live in manchester and everytime we visit them we always go here, the food is fab and the staff are so polite especially the bar staff I dont understand how they have been called rude when everytime we go they couldnt have done enough, the atmosphere is lovely and now that the pub has been refurbished its gives off warm feeling. We've been coming here for years and every time we visit I look foward to eating here!! Keep up the good work

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

i was really surprise reading that a lot of people had a bad experience in this restaurant pub. i been going to this place for the last 10 years. when it was the old place and now the renovated. it never let me down.

i have to agree the waiters can be a bit difficult some times i have notice some bad manners but is up to you to complaint. never happen to me .

one suggestion for them will be to dedicated an area of pub for bookings for more them 4 people as this can ease the pressure to find big tables.

the food is much better them before and the atmosphere is great. they have done well with a modern deco you forget you are in a pub.

try the bbq ribs real nice

Helpful?
Thank morenito01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poachers Pocket also viewed

 
Chirk Bank, Shropshire
 

Been to The Poachers Pocket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing