We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Hand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Chirk B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2014

we had a lovely meal here with my carer we both enjoyed it very good service we didn't wait for long very good waiter service I would recommend the hand hotel chirk we also had pudding everything was no problem excellent there was plenty on the early bird menu

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarahlr79@aol.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 225 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Hand Hotel offers an unusual stay for those seeking the peace of the Welsh countryside. Under extensive renovation, the hotel offers a great range of accommodation. We stayed in The Flat, which was spacious and comfortable, clean and offered a good environment for three adults. Although unfinished, the room was clean.

The meals were very generous in size and imaginative and tasty. Staff were warm and welcoming.

We would definitely recommend this old inn to anyone who is prepared to be a little flexible.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Called in here for lunch during our recent canal boat holiday. Whilst our food was very good, top marks must go to the service. One lady was running the bar and serving all the food for a busy dining room. She was always smiling and bustling around to make sure everyone was attended to. Chirk is a lovely little place too!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank silvertonsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Upon arrival we were required to wait 20 minutes while the hotel manager located the keys to our room. The room itself smelt of stale food. Except for two small hand towels, no bath towels were provided, even asking for them twice. To be fair, the evening meal was good. Unfortunately the fire alarm went off at 4.30am. No staff were on site to check all residents had exited the building and were safe. We were left outside for three quarters of an hour. A resident was left to call the fire brigade! The manager eventually showed up after the fire brigade had arrived. Breakfast was ok. :/

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Andykayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well appointed rooms. The service was rather disjointed - no one seemed in charge. There was a number of false fire alarms due to someone smoking in their room, but no one attended to the problem or updated us as to what to do. From being initially ready to abandon ship we eventually became reconciled to burning in our beds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Iolo_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handchirk, Owner at The Hand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments and I can only apologise for the disruption to your stay with us caused by the fire alarm going off,unfortunately we can not legislate for residents who disregard the non smoking rules at the expense of others. I can assure you that we were trying to find the culprit but they were proving quite evasive and other than bursting in to their room there was not much else we could do,this is a problem that all hotels large or small have to contend with and something that annoys us as much as our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Recently stayed with three other couples prior to going on the canal boat. Very friendly and obliging staff. Had a lovely afternoon in the bar. Breakfast was good just a little slow in coming. Have another night when we return at beginning of September.

Room Tip: Rooms are upstairs with access via narrow staircase. Abit tight with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob6282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We recently stayed for one night on our way to Shrewsbury. A lovely village with friendly, helpful staff in the hotel and friendly locals. We were made to feel very welcome by all. service was great and excellent food. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABD1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirk
5.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
427 reviews
5.4 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
291 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Moreton Park Hotel
Moreton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirk
325 reviews
1.3 mi away
Swn y Dwr
Swn y Dwr
#2 of 5 in Chirk
16 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glencoed Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand Hotel

Address: Church Street, Chirk LL14 5EY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Chirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chirk
Price Range: $72 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hand Hotel Chirk, Wrexham County, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing