We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Roast”
Review of The Hand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Chirk B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Whilst on a short trip called in at the hotel for a meal. The hotel and restaurant are a bit old fashioned but the staff were very friendly and the meal was excellent. The menu was a set menu with a choice of 3 courses, we just had the main course which was a choice of roasts. This was £9.95 which was very good value for money. 2 courses were £11.95 and 3 courses came to £14.95. Although we didn't have the starter or desert they looked really nice.
The hotel has both parking at the front and at the rear and is well worth a vist.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pfcmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 225 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I called into the new restaurant tonight and we are very glad we did, the food was fantastic, highly recommended, we both had the Rib eye steak me with pepper sauce,my wife had the Dianne sauce both were to quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Friday B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We regularly stay at The Hand when visiting family in the local area. We absolutely love it, food is amazing and great value. The hotel is comfortable and is very friendly, breakfast is A* could not fault it, all the staff are helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
We are due to stay there again in a few weeks time - very much looking forward it.
The location is perfect for all tourist links. The village itself is delightful and has everything you could want for a short stay in a rural location.
Can not understand why people write bad reviews, for quality, value for money, location and customer service this is the place to stay in Chirk!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have seen a couple of not so nice reviews about The Hand Hotel and it just doesn't seem fair, I really don't know what they are talking about. We ate Sunday lunch there yesterday, which was not only the best meal out we have had in a long time, it was a fantastic price. The staff were all friendly and attentive, we didn't have to wait a long time between courses - what more does anyone want? All I can say is ignore any unpleasant reviews and try it for yourself...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Car0line_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in December and the rating is based on the fact of us being locked out of hotel on our return from a visit to friends we cannot fault the food or the service we received the room we were allocated was spotlessly clean with lovely towels plenty of hot water and lots of free toiletries. On arrival at the hotel we should have been given 2 keys one for the front door and one for our room this was overlooked and we came back late Saturday night and couldnt get into hotel or get in contact with any one on the premises we then had to drive the 40 miles back home and return the next day to check out of hotel with our luggage we spoke to the manager who apologised for the mix up and said he would not charge us for the one night that we did stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank suebacardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Happened to be working in Telford this weekend, and wanted a Sunday dinner. So I decided to hop on a train to Chirk. First cos I use to manage the place and second cos I wanted to see how it had changed since I had gone. Wow, as soon as I walked in I felt like I had never left. The only difference was that Shirley was in charge. I hate to admit it, but I could have not done better. Food out with 15 mins, tasty and well presented, and could not believe how friendly and smiley staff were. Deep down you never want your replacement to be better than you, but hand on hart I could have been happier to have met my match. Shirley keep doing what you are doing and never change.

Room Tip: Fantastic Food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

excellent family lunch here on 4th nov. staff were friendly and attentative. considering there was a large party also in for a celebratory lunch, service could not be faulted comfortable lounge area to enjoy a drink before our meal.good selection of hot vegetables with tender roast meats . pudding selection was ample and all good.will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jenny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirk
1.4 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,356 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
444 reviews
5.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
435 reviews
1 mi away
Moreton Park Hotel
Moreton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirk
326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Swn y Dwr
Swn y Dwr
#2 of 5 in Chirk
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand Hotel

Address: Church Street, Chirk LL14 5EY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Chirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chirk
Price Range: $74 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hand Hotel Chirk, Wrexham County, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing