We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Swn y Dwr

Swn y Dwr
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swn y Dwr
Ranked #2 of 5 Chirk B&B and Inns
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

i would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet peaceful break and yet wants to be within easy reach of walks and attractions.
after a days walking i loved sitting in the beautiful gardens listening to the brook at the bottom of the garden, taking in the lovely trees flowers and birdsong.
Kath is a wonderful host. My room was clean and comfortable and my meals cooked with love.
I look forward to my next visit

Room Tip: room at the top of the house a lovely little hideaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knaphill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very welcoming, friendly and comfortable B&B. Clean, spacious accommodation and good food. Enjoyed our stay immensely and would like to have stayed longer. The additions on the tea/coffee tray were much appreciated! Lovely quiet spot to use as base to explore the area.
Mervyn, Lin and Dot

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in may. Kath was a great host nothing was to much trouble. Made some very nice cakes too. Room was very clean and tidy lovely view through window of a beautifull garden quiet location to get away from it all. Sue from stoke on trent

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billyStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed with Kath and the dog, Tammy, for the first six nights of July 2012. My room was on the top floor; it felt like my own private apartment complete with bath and lovely views of the amazing garden and farm opposite. This quiet location is perfect for exploring North Wales, visiting the Llangollen Eisteddfodd and doing some ancestry. It feels like the country and yet you are near to so many Welsh villages. Other guests were walkers who found the location convenient for their touring on foot. Kath's breakfasts are hot and personalized; she provides tea with a home-made scone or some other lovely treat at day's end. And, yes, the sheets are smooth white cotton and beautifully ironed - a rare pleasure these days!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tommy027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

As two muddy Offa's Dyke walkers, arriving in light rain, we got a friendly welcome. Kath took us up to our room where there was fresh milk for the tea, buttered tea bread (lots of slices) and an offer to drive us into Chirk for dinner (as the local Golf Club we'd planned on eating at wasn't doing food that evening). Our room was at the top of the house with a bathroom next door - but otherwise there was only Kath's office up there so it was quite private. Good sized bedroom (not cluttered) in a modern decor house. Bathroom was a good size with a shower cabinet but no external window (extractor fan).

As Kath drove us into town, she recommended a few places to eat and said which was the best pub in town and which bus to take to get back. In the end we walked back as the rain had stopped and it only took about 30 mins (and a bus never passed us either!). We could also have taken a taxi - but the walk was fine even if it was along a mainish road (chance to see the local boy racers and walk off some of the beers!).

In the morning breakfast was served at a single dining table - we were the only ones staying, so we had it to ourselves. Nice range of cereal, good fry-up, fruit, yoghurt, toast, juice and fruit bowl to help yourself to.

Only a little way off from the Offa's Dyke path (about 10 mins) in a quiet location but shame there's no pub closer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirk
2.6 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
6.0 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chirk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swn y Dwr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swn y Dwr

Property: Swn y Dwr
Address: Whitehurst, Chirk, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Chirk
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swn y Dwr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swn y Dwr Chirk, Wrexham County, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing