We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, family run hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edelweiss Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edelweiss Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Torla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, family run hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

For visiting Odessa National Park, this is the place to stay! Our two room suite was perfect..and the VIEW..simply amazing..world class! Very friendly reception, but the father on the late night desk doesn't speak English, but he helped with our bags! His son, who works mornings, speaks great English..even Japanese! He gave us useful local information! My wife was very surprised and delighted! Quiet room, nice twin beds, updated bathroom. The breakfast was the best value we had on our 32 day trip through Europe. Will definitely be staying here again! GREAT VALUE!

Room Tip: upper floor, "view room" (facing on the main road..it might cost a few extra Euro, but wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spencer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    69
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
72
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Good hotel, good size room, great balcony with a view to the mountains. Wonderful sound of the river in the distance. Good breakfast. Some other hotels in the old part of this tiny village have small windows that look onto adjoining buildings. Whilst this hotel is on the main road it is very quiet and no problem leaving the French doors open all night. Staff do not speak much English.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nooneelsehasthisname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lleida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Edelweiss is on the road through Torla going to Ordesa National Park (it's only a few minutes from the place where the bus to the park leaves from - obligatory in summer and at Easter). The very pretty footpath to the park (2 hours) starts just across the road too. Parking is right in front of the hotel.
The hotel is not the most modern but it's spotlessly clean and warm (perhaps too hot at night), we were there at the beginning of April. We had a room with a little sitting room attached and with a lovely view out towards the mountains. Free wi-fi in the rooms. The staff are very friendly and an absolute mine of information about hiking routes, fauna, flora and weather conditions. I don't know if they speak English, though. Breakfast buffet was abundant with lots of yummy caky type stuff - lots of calories to burn off in the mountains.
One word of warning - the beds are a bit short for tall people, like in so many other hotels.
Torla itself is a pretty little village and the Ordesa Valley is spectacular in the real sense of the adjective, but for something different and quieter try the neighbouring Bujaruelo valley.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrislleida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

The hotel is located on the main road around the village giving easy access and parking, but is quiet as the road is a dead end and there is not much beyond the village other than the Ordesa Canyon. The hotel is very clean, bedrooms are comfortably furnished and most have balconies with great views across the valley and towards the canyon; some rooms have private sitting areas. There is a generous breakfast buffet including a few hot items, and unusually for Spain this is served from 7.30am if you want to make an early start. The hotel no longer serves dinner, but this is not a problem as there are a number of options in the village within a few minutes walk - two restaurants (both good), a number of bars serving food (3 with upstairs restaurants) and even a pizza restaurant. We have stayed a number of times, and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms with private sitting room are more spacious and not too much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I would echo the other reviews - helpful staff, stunning views from the room's balcony, nice public areas inside and out, very good breakfast including some delicious home-baked cakes. We watched a soccer game in the ground floor lounge and finished our bread, cheese, and wine that we had started enjoying from our balcony. I would suggest seeing your room before checking in, though. We were first given a two-room suite, but the "living room" area was so gloomy that we probably wouldn't have even used it, and the sewage-gas stench from the bathroom was unbearable. We were then offered the same suite on a different floor, but when we opened the door we saw luggage and of course went no farther. We ended up in a standard double room for the same price - I was told that during that part of the season all rooms were priced the same - but it actually had a better view so we were happy enough. (Might have given 5* if we'd just gotten this room in the first place!) Torla is a charming town just outside the gorgeous national park.

Room Tip: Better rooms on the front, away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Torla isn't a big town, so almost every hotel has a good location, but this hotel is situated with the balconies taking in the best views. We found it clean and well maintained with undoubtedly the largest breakfast buffet we've encountered in this region. The staff were friendly and able to communicate in English.

The only downside would be the thin walls and plumbing sounds, but we would still recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The first thing that will impress all visitors to Torla is the mountain view. Edelweiss has a front row seat in a very easy to access location with great car parking. Nothing is more than a few minutes walk away. Our room was a double with living room. Lots of space, spotlessly clean and amply furnished. Shutters on all windows help to black out the room at night and the staff were multilingual and endlessly helpful and friendly. If you take up the 5 euro breakfast offer a huge varied fresh buffet awaits you each morning at 7:30.

We only had a couple of issues. The rooms have paper thin walls and ceilings. Each day we woke to the exaggerated yawns of an upstairs guest followed by his conversations with his partner. Any loud conversations or loud tv will penetrate neighbour's rooms. Also, our bathroom had a strange sewerage smell on and off and the hand shower device was loose and sited too low to stand under.

But I would still recommend Edelweiss for a great stay in Torla. They also have a wifi server for each floor which has a good signal in most areas, just not our room! I used it in the cosy and spotless common room each night. A great place to relax!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torla
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ordesa
Hotel Ordesa
#3 of 4 in Torla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bujaruelo
Hotel Bujaruelo
#1 of 4 in Torla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abetos
Hotel Abetos
#2 of 4 in Torla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#3 of 3 in Broto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Mirador
Hotel El Mirador
#1 of 3 in Broto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa de Torla
Villa de Torla
#1 of 7 in Torla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Hotel

Property: Edelweiss Hotel
Address: Avenida Ordesa s/n, 22376 Torla, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Torla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Torla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edelweiss Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torla hearth of the Pyrenees and doorway to visit Ordesa National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Edelweiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing