We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, tranquil Calli”
Review of Hotel Calli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Calli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tehuantepec
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've stayed at the Calli many times in the past, but this recent trip, with friends, landed us in a very reasonably priced suite that was newly remodeled. Two rooms, king bed, large sofa bed and a roll-in bed, plus glass-topped card table, fridge, great air cobn and TWO big-screened TV. The price for three of us was 500 pesos each (about $40 each), which included a full breakfast.
I love the Calli's spacious grounds, big pool and lovely landscaping. It's close to everything but away from the noisy traffic of the boulevard. Compared to the other pretty dumpy hotels in town, it's a quiet winner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eieiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Calli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 180 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

After reading the reviews on this hotel, I was expecting the worse but was very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were basic but clean, shower very hot, airconditioning working fine, staff very friendly and accomodating, beautiful grounds, good location near Tehuantepec town and Salina Cruz, good Mexican breakfast, good wifi and very very quiet hotel located out of the noise of the town. I´d definitely stay here again and recommend it for anyone having to make a stop for a few days. We didn´t eat in the restaurant at night so can´t comment on any other meal other than breakfast which was included in our room price. They´re remodelling the hotel so perhaps I was in one of the recently finished rooms. Room 221- regular standard two double bed room. My friends had the suite #224 and loved it. Complete with mini refrigerator, sofa couch, two large screened televisions, large bathroom, round kitchen table, balcony, two mini split air conditioners -one in each room.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 221 and 224 which were on the second floor and were very comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The first thing that struck us about the hotel was how cheap the place had been constructed. The wings of accommodation are well laid out but once you have your luggage (one of our two cases was left outside the wrong room) and are in the room you find cheap metal framed windows of an earlier era. The door onto our patio rattled in the wind until I pushed some folded paper into the gap. Our air conditioning worked satisfactorily but others complained that they had to turn theirs off because it was noisy. Overall the rooms are well equipped and we heard little noise from other guests. The pool did not attract any of out party but groups did sit around it.
The major tip I would give is eat at lunchtime and consider getting yourself something from a supermarket to eat while you are there. Service in the restaurant was very slow and some guests did not get what they ordered. The restaurant opened late for a served breakfast the quality of which matched the rest of the hotel. It is conveniently located when travelling but should only be considered for an overnight stop.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank st8sman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Forced to stay and eat here and the food was overpriced and terrible. Drinks were also way overpriced
The room was average at best, the toilet wouldn't flush, the pool was just ok and that was t about the only redeeming factor in staying here

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Not that you have a ton of options when staying and passing thru in Tehuantepec... The hotel itself is ok, not very glamorous or recently updated, but "itldo" kind of place... The rooms are ok, the bathroom clean and you get hot water and wifi. The pool is nice and there is ample parking outside if you are travelling by car like we are... This said, the hotel is very much passable but the food is about as bad as you can get. Forget north american dishes, stick to anything that sounds spanish or mexican and you should be rewarded... Order a caesar salad and a steak and prepare for utter disappointment! Lastly, we bargained down the price just by asking, worth a shot... Hope this review was helpful!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Hotel Calli is set in pleasant grounds full of trees and bird life. The grounds include a small swimming pool which is pleasant to take a dip in, you can collect a generous amount of towels from reception. Be aware of walking around the grounds at dusk as there is a lot of grass that contains insects that will bite you around the ankles. Long trousers or repellent easily puts them off though. The rooms are basic but comfortable, mine was at ground level with a small balcony, had a window that opened to let in a breeze and a small sized bathroom with a good shower. The fixtures and fittings were dated but all functioning including a TV, free Wifi and air conditioning, hairdryer but there was no safe or iron. Dinner is available in the hotel, the food is basic but well cooked, including Mexican and International food. They offer various dishes of the day including fish, seafood and meat. The service is slow but friendly. Breakfast is basic and buffet style with the usual range of fruit, hot and cold choices and toast/pastries. Most of the guests in the hotel seemed to be international and Mexican tourists on tours who have little choice but to stay at the Hotel Calli as it is the only viable option to stay in a decent hotel if driving from Oaxaca, the next best hotel for such needs is located four hours drive further on in Tuxtla Gutierrez. Although basic the Hotel Calli is comfortable and fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TokyoJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We travelled belonging to a group of 30 grown-up Scandinavian tourists. There seemed to overnight some other groups on the way up or down. Very few individual tourists were at present. There are not many other options to overnight in Tehuantepec. As there is limited competition, the standards are not put on a high level.
The hotel is aside from the centrum. It does not matter if you are staying here only one night. The hotel area is huge, lot of space around. It looks like Butlins Holiday Camps in England during the 60´s. The whole compound is a little bit old-fashioned. The swimming pool seems to be a little bit dirty from time to time. This time we did not want to go to swim. There is no effective purification systems. But the staff seems to try to keep the pool and the huge green lawn area in some kind of condition.
The maintenance is not very effective. We renewed 3 burnout bulbs in our room. Ask spare bulbs and other missing items from the reception. The room was clean, simple and light enough. The dining hall looked like a refectory of a factory or warehouse. The breakfast was served to tables and it was very modest like in Mexico in common.
With a little effort this hotel could easily lift its level. But why to do so, if there is no need to improve before "manana"...

Room Tip: Rooms to the pool area is a good choice.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerttiHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tehuantepec
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Santa Cruz Tehuantepec
#2 of 2 in Tehuantepec
3 reviews
11.0 mi away
One Salina Cruz
One Salina Cruz
#1 of 9 in Salina Cruz
195 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Regente Ixtepec
Hotel Regente Ixtepec
#1 of 2 in Ixtepec
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique San Francisco
Hotel Boutique San Francisco
#3 of 9 in Salina Cruz
3 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Amerik
Hotel Amerik
#4 of 9 in Salina Cruz
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calli

Address: Calle Cristobal Colon Km 790, Tehuantepec 70760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Tehuantepec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tehuantepec
Price Range: $45 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Calli 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Calli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing