We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ngutuni Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Sentrim Tsavo East(Tsavo National Park East)
$147
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$161
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge(Tsavo National Park West)
$195
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge(Tsavo National Park West)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ngulia Safari Lodge(Tsavo National Park West)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
143
53
10
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
53
10
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatering holewater holegame drivesprivate sanctuaryhigh standardthe reservesafari lodgefood was fantasticonly stayed one nightdrink waterrooms overlooktsavo east national parkwatching the animalsperfect endstaff were so friendlyanother guestcold tusker
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 212 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days in mid May and had another excellent visit. We were welcomed with a cool drink and a cool towel which was very much appreciated after our drive from Kilifi, The rooms were clean and with good views of the waterhole and sanctuary. As there were only us and another couple staying due to it being low season all meals were served A la carte which I prefer to buffet meals. The food was fantastic, well cooked, full of flavour and piping hot. The staff on duty throughout our stay were very friendly and attentive and were happy to spend a few minutes telling us about their homes and families.
The game viewing was very good with plenty of elephant and buffalo visiting the waterhole throughout the day and night. Being the wet season the park was very green which attracted many spices of birds.
This lodge is well worth a visit if you are looking at getting away from the masses in Tsavo and are looking for some peace and tranquillity

Room Tip: All rooms are good as they all have a view of the waterhole
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruce f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the start of our African adventure and it set the standard high. We were a group of 28 solo travellers and arrived at lunchtime after an overnight flight from London and transfer and received a very warm welcome to this lovely lodge.

Accommodation was very good with clean spacious and well equipped rooms across four accommodation blocks with all rooms facing out over the watering hole. Unfortunately it had been quite wet before we arrived and with an abundance of water across Tsavo East Game Reserve there was less wildlife than we had hoped gathering at the watering hole but still various types of antelope, a few elephants, warthogs and plenty of birds.

The reception, bar and restaurant area is at the centre of the lodges with the restaurant and terrace facing out over the floodlit watering hole. Food was very good with the one exception being the picnic prepared for our full day drive. With no refrigeration on the game jeeps or cool boxes, the inclusion of cooked chicken and hard boiled eggs was a bit questionable and many of the group chose not to risk it.

That aside it was hard to fault.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room but higher rooms in the first block either side of reception will give the best view of the watering hole.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dg2007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to discover such a jewel of a place! Being on a little road trip with a dear friend of mine, we spontaneously decided on our way back from the coast to Nairobi to spend one more day...in the bush. And what a day it was.
We received a lovely welcome from the Manager and after settling in, basically throwing our things into the room, we where out on safari. Seeing our first elephants within minutes. The park had received some rain recently and was in full glory....everything blooming, lush greens and the ever so wonderful red soil made for picture perfect photos.
After our return and hot shower, we where served a lovely dinner and rewarded with elephants coming to the water hole for a late night drink and snack right in front of us. Unforgettable!!
The next morning found us up early and on a game drive, only to find more herds of elephants, buffaloes, giraffes and zebras. Almost like in an animal documentary! Brilliant.
Than back to lodge for a breakfast to die for while packing a group of 6 male elephants came to a drink again...right in front of our window!! What can I say.....I was in heaven!! Soon to be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kti2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here just for one night on a two day safari whilst staying at the Diani Lagoon Reef, and we were delighted! The standard of the accommodation is very high and the staff are magnificent! The lodge over looks a water hole which is only about 50 meters away. Whilst we were in the lodge we saw herds of elephants, buffalo, warthogs, several beautiful herons (not sure if that is right but they are similar - sorry!) all using the water hole. If you are there longer you would see plenty of other animals using the water hole.

One our safari, we had three drives in our short time, we saw herds of elephants, giraffe, zebra, numerous antelope, gazelles, elans, etc, warthogs, jackel, and two male lions, one of which was hiding in the bush, one asleep under a tree. Whilst on the second ride out we came across a lion kill, which was a buffalo. Our driver thought there might be lion about but it was really too hot for them to be about.

We went back to the kill next morning and low and behold, I spotted a female lion close by the kill with some sneaky jackal trying their luck!

Our room as are all rooms, overlooked the waterhole, was very clean and comfortable. The food was of a high standard as was the service. The waiter who was serving was a very intelligent lad who was very keen to help protect his lovely country and the environment.

If you are staying at the Diani Lagoon Reef I would absolutely recommend this safari.

Room Tip: No need, they all face the water hole!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brightskies56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for just 2 nightS – . The lodge has a peaceful air about it. first night We were lucky enough to see A HERD OF LIONS at the watering hole – the staff is excellent b fast is too good- night safari is amazing ,the staff at the wheels of the safari and night safari were really helpful and the amazing thing was they woke us up in the middle of the night and took us in the jungle where we saw a kill.
the rooms were clean and the view from the balcony was astonishingly amazing .
we will visit again when next we visit Kenya

Room Tip: all rooms are good rooms but first floor are a little safer.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murtazamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews