We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sagala Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maghonyi Hotel(Voi)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Jumia Travel
    View Deal
    Reviews (42)
    Filter reviews
    42 results
    Traveler rating
    18
    16
    6
    2
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    18
    16
    6
    2
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbird lifeswimming poolbirds chirpinggreat placeunder new managementrelaxing stayrelaxing daysmanager davidguided walktsavo east westearly morningnatureparkshighwaymombasastopoverlodge
    Filter
    Updating list...
    34 - 39 of 42 reviews
    Reviewed March 7, 2012

    We stayed at Sagala Lodge in November 2011 as well as in February 2012. It is a haven for difficult-to-see birds. And the best part about it is that you can walk around their property and to a little water hole. We drove to the waterhole at night and saw a huge group of elephants coming to drink in the dry season. Their vegetarian food is also good. They have a nice swimming pool and its very close for accessing Tsavo East. And the rates are very reasonable.

    • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Radhika T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 10, 2011

    Beautiful place set within a reserve with amazing bird life. Electricity provided by a generator only at night. After roughing it a little prior to this stay we did feel it was a little contrived and too quiet for us. Restaurant had a set menu and food was reasonably good. Did feel like we had to have our kids (age 8 and 13) on their best behaviour, and of course, it was the one night when they played up. Kids loved the great pool and guided walk through the reserve to a waterhole, even though we did not see many animals on this occasion. If you are looking for comfort, quiet and rest or an escape from the real Kenya, this is a great place.

    • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank angusgott
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 8, 2011

    Sagala lodge was the best stay on our safari .We were greeted by the owner and staff ,givern refreshments on our arrival .The rooms were spacous and clean ,The food was excellent .This is the ideal place to stay for tsavo east /west game parks .They also have a part of the lodge which has rare animals which are breed to reintroduce to the wild ,we were given a walk around this and saw plenty of animals which was a change from the mini bus .
    It was like staying out in the wild

    • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank tanz25
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 12, 2010

    Sagala Lodge is located off the main Nairobi/Mombasa highway close to Vol between Tsavo East and West National Parks and is a good location when travelling between the two parks. I will say however there are some stunning looking lodges/camps around Vol and within Tsavo East, but I’m sure that will be reflected in the price.

    Set in it’s own wildlife sanctuary, Sagala Lodge has comfortable accommodation, if a tad small and good communal areas. I found the food to be of good quality, but once it ran out, that’s it! Drinks were expensive, but it’s not as if you can pop to the local bar as it’s half an hour drive away. I also couldn’t get a cold beer for love nor money! There is also a small swimming pool that looked clean and very welcoming, but I didn’t get a chance to swim during my stay.

    Would I stay here again? I would certainly look at other lodges/camps around the Vol area of Tsavo, but I wouldn’t be unhappy to stay at Sagala Lodge again.

    • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank TheTravellingMan1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile
    Google Translation

    Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2018

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews