We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time of my life”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maji Moto Maasai Cultural Camp
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Narok
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best time of my life”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Staying at the Maji Moto camp was one of the best experiences I had in Kenya. All the the village people who worked there were so accommodating yet I still felt like they welcomed us into their every day living. The food was amazing and fresh. I never felt "scared" of what was being served. They cut fresh fruit, serve ginger tea and popcorn as snacks too. The managers knew our needs and honored the things we consider to be common sense like cleanliness and nourishment. They "get it" more than other "eco resorts" I've been to. Yet, I always felt like a member of the village there rather than a tourist. They just have it down! You have to go to see. Show up, and your eyes will tear up when you have villagers singing and dancing for you and loving it. Oh and get I mention there's hot springs....hot springs!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VPDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
5
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My 19 year old daughter and I spent a week at the Maji Moto camp, including time at the children's school and going on safari led by the wonderfully warm and astute Masaii warriors. Susan Olofson Travel made it all so easy and we never once felt like a "tourist" but more like family who were getting to experience an amazing part of the world. Susan could customize the trip to what we needed and we got the best of everything. Salaton Ole'ntutu, the tribal chief, was the most gracious host, welcoming us to his village and sharing his passion for preserving their culture and traditions. The lodging was just right - comfortable, clean, safe - and yet we felt like we were in the middle of their way of life. The safari was better than any others I've ever been on.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

One challenge of traveling in Kenya is meeting Kenyans, other than waiters, drivers, airline ticket agents, etc. Maji Moto is a terrific way to spend time with the fascinating Maasai people on their own turf in the southwestern corner of the country. This is no African Disneyworld. Rather, it is part of a Maasai village, complete with boma, boys herding goats and cows, women doing beadwork, and leaping warriors who make fire with a drill -- all of whom have some of the most wonderful open smiles of anyone I have seen anywhere. The people at Maji Moto treat you like family members who have found their way home at long last. My partner and I were lucky enough to be invited to a fire ritual in the cattle kraal one evening and to see an age cohort of boys head off for warrior training. Salaton appointed me official photographer for the event, so we were part of the ritual and the gathered tribe. This is the place to experience Africa in a vivid and intimate way.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RAM046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

In 2011 we visited Maji Moto Maasai Cultural Camp for just 1 day we had in our schedule.
It was an amazing experience. The widows village was so heart warming to us.Salaton is a man ahead of his time. Helping to educate the locals and the world about issues affecting his people.We enjoyed an amazing lunch and were shown the area by Salaton, a man with knowledge and love of his home, which came across so heartfelt to us Australians so far from home.
The school was also amazing, the children so full of life and joy, knowing they are valued and supported. Even now after a year away, i would love to go back to visit, this time for longer. I do hope to visit again and Im sure we would be treated as well as we were just for a day visit.
I would recommend it to EVERYONE. Much love from Australia xxx

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san ramon ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

we had a fun stay at the Maji moto Cultural Camp. My wife Pattie my son Mark and I stayed here for 4 nights. It was relaxing to get away from Nairobi and the hustle bustle of the city. we did learn a lot about the Masaai people and culture. We enjoyed the food that was freshly prepared for us at every meal. We enjoyed having food closer to what the local people eat. My son Mark learned how to make fire without matches and enjoyed the hike to the top of the hill with the warrior who knew all the local vegitation and also gave him a little warrior training. We had met chief Solaton when he was in Danville California he told us the widows at the village were poor and would appreciate a goat. Before we left Danville we asked some of our friends and co workers and Rotary club members to donate a little money for goats.So one of the highlights of the trip for Pattie and I was to go to Nirok on Saturday morning and help Salaton and 2 of the widows pick out goats at the local farmers market. It was fun to leave the market each of us caried one of the 6 goats we baught. We will never forget that experience. Pattie also picked up some Shukas for presents .
Ted M

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ted m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Staying here was the best way to have an authentic Maasai experience in a way that is comfortable for a western traveler. We could have stayed for so much longer! Great location between Nairobi and Maasai Mara.

Accommodations are traditional, natural-construction huts with stone floors, wooden beds, and mosquito nets. Bathrooms are shared and a short outdoor walk from the huts. You don't feel like you are totally roughing it, and don't feel any friction between being overly-pampered among the rustic beauty and simplicity of the local area. The special treatment comes through in the great care of the staff and unique access to authentic local culture

Food is delicious and our cook served us local specialties at the outdoor dining table with such warm hospitality that we felt like family.

We filled our days with short hikes up the hill for great views of the valley. Visiting the women's village a short walk away was a great way to experience real village life (rather than a Disneyland version you can run into on group tours). Campfire chats with our local guides were unforgettable.

This place is so much more than just a place to stay - it's a total cultural experience that made our entire Kenya trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IshaniN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Maji Moto camp was so amazing! The rustic lodging, great food, and electricity-free hot showers (it's right next to a boiling hot spring!) combined to make a truly amazing week away that I will never forget! The nearby women's village simply cannot be missed. Although most of the women don't speak English, there is no mistaking their incredibly warm welcome as you enter the camp. If you're looking for an authentic and beautiful experience in the Masai Mara then this is the place for you. *Please note: the fitness center I rated is really the savannah and starter warrior training, and the swimming pool is the beautiful hit spring!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lolofson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narok
0.0 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#58 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maasai Simba Camp
Maasai Simba Camp
#1 of 1 in Amboseli National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fisi Camp
Fisi Camp
#2 of 20 in Narok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olarro
Olarro
#1 of 20 in Narok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aruba Mara Camp
Aruba Mara Camp
#1 of 5 in Narok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maji Moto Maasai Cultural Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maji Moto Maasai Cultural Camp

Property: Maji Moto Maasai Cultural Camp
Address: PO Box 547, Narok 20500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Narok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Narok
Also Known As:
Maji Moto Maasai Cultural Camp Kenya/Narok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing