We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Elsewhere...”
Review of Aruba Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aruba Mara Camp
Ranked #1 of 4 Narok B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay Elsewhere...”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had very negative experience here. We just needed a place to spend one night, we had our own vehicle and guide so we did not require any game drives from them. They charged 3000 ksh more per person than we were quoted before we arrived. Their extremely high rate also did not include any bottled drinks like water or soda. When we checked out they claimed they could not make change for our cash so they insisted we take one of their employees with us to the next city and give him the money there as well as pay his way back to the lodge. When we came up with the exact amount they still wanted us to give him a ride to Narok. So it turned out they were just lying about the change to get us to pay for their employee’s trip to Narok. I have stayed at other places on the Mara and can tell you there are much nicer places to stay for that kind of money and plenty of places that won’t try to take advantage of you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Firehawk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
25
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My family was in Masai Mara for a Safari trip in the middle of June 2010 and stayed at the Aruba camp for two nights which were for all of us an unforgettable experience. After many weeks of research and looking on the web we finally decided on the Aruba Camp and I am rally happy to say that we really made a good decision. The camp is really value for money; an intimate (only 6 tents) comfortable, clean and with great service. The tent was far beyond our expectations, very clean, roomy and fresh with all the needed amenities. The food was consistently delicious with an excellent variety of choice each day and even our kids loved it.
The staff, Masai people was excellent hosts and made us feel at home. Our kids (4 and 6 years old) were playing with the ovner’s dog Eros and they really had a place to run.
The staff even put a hot water bottle in the beds while we were at the diner if they think it is going to be a chilly night.
To sum up our trip it surpassed all expectations, everything was amazing from the wake up call in the morning with tea, coffee and hot chocolate. I would not change a thing about our stay and I would thoroughly recommend to anyone who wants an extra special safari experience. There is no doubt your visit will be unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SloveniaVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

jambo, Aruba mara camp, we had a wonderfull time, so the crossing over the talek river, and in front of our tnet there we 2 big elefants walking one evening. the locals are very friendly we visit a school and a village of the masai mara, wonderfull.
the mara itself was otstending, with our local guide Toneig we found right near our jeep allmost all the big five!!, going from the paths into the bush we loved it very much.our trip did we booked bij lokenjo, situetted in nairobi and working with local guide, fantastic!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cielleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Aruba is a great value (even though the prices have gone up quite a bit in recent years). All our tents faced onto the river (we could see hippos below), and they were far enough apart that you couldn't see your neighbors. The tents were HUGE, and had many great amenities.
The food was good (a little less so the nights they served a buffet, but we still liked it). Sammy, our waiter/manager was great in satisfying our every request. We loved having hot water bottles put into our beds at night (it was pretty chilly).
The one big downside was there was no water pressure- the water just dribbled out. The beds were a bit short and the pillows slightly uncomfortable, but I would stay here again in heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamyRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawai Madhopur, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The camp is run efficiently and the food is excellent. The staff was warm, friendly and we learnt a lot about Maasai culture from them around the camp fire. An easy going and relaxed atmosphere, helps to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranthambore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

My fiancée and I stayed at Aruba Mara for 5 days during the Wildebeest migration. It was her first time on safari, while I had worked previously in the safari business in Kenya and Tanzania. I was not sure what to expect from a tented camp so reasonably priced. But the Lonely Planet review got it right: Aruba Mara is arguably the best value in the Masai Mara. The owners, Gerdi (German) and Paul (Masai) are excellent hosts and care deeply about giving their guests an authentic, high quality experience, including surprisingly good food, private game drives (we did not arrive with our own vehicle), and an openness to creating activities according to the tastes of its guests. The tents were well-situated and clean, the Masai staff were genuine and amusing company, and we felt perfectly safe at all times.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FullRetard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

If you want to travel to Masai Mara and live in tents that take care of your most important needs (comfort, spacious, ensuite bath / toilet) at the most economical price - this is the right place! The under-canvas camp consists of 6-7 large tents (plus many smaller ones) that can sleep upto 3 people in each comfortably. The dining area is more basic as compared to the lodges, and the spread is not lavish - but everything is just right - quantity and quality! The owner Gerdi Simon is extremely hands on and the camp staff is willing to go to any lengths to ensure you have a comfortable stay. The water pressure in showers does suffer occasionally but there is always a hot water solution available! On one occasion I stayed in a smaller tent with an outside toilet - it's a great experience to shower under an open sky on the African savannah! All tents have an outside wooden balcony with seating area which faces the Talek river. There was a resident hippo when I visited Aruba first time - you could hear him all the time! There is a bench which faces the opposite bank and overlooks the Mara - on one occasion a female leopard with cubs had made a home within sight of the camp! Plus there is plenty of bird life within camp. The camp is located a min drive from the Talek Gate, so you are technically outside the park but can view the plains and animals from across the river. Park fees need to be paid every time you enter the reserve, but there is plenty of wildlife - lion, leopard, cheetah - even outside the reserve. For people who want to see the Africa on its terms this is a fantastic pricing opportunity. Imagine staying economy whilst getting treated like business class - that what we felt like when we were lucky enough to view the migration incl a river crossing last year! But remember, this is a natural setting and typically for nature / wildlife buffs...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narok
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#29 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#67 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#59 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Mara Camp

Property: Aruba Mara Camp
Address: Postbox 727 Narok | Talek Massai Mara, Narok 20500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Narok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Narok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruba Mara Camp is a tented Camp boardering the Talek River, next to Talek Gate in north Massai Mara. From Nairobi 260 Km driving through Narok. Just outside the gate, so no parkfee if you not do game-drive. We have from budget tents ( comfortable beds with mosquitonet an public bathroom ) to Big-tent ( spacious with privat bathroom ) and Luxury ( ask us for new pictures please ) category for every budget for everyone. We also have a spacious campsite with facilitys like kitchen/dining, toilets and hot water shower, security, carwash, firewood and laundry service. our buffalo bar and restaurant serving highly recomended food and a fine selection of wine, spirits and cold sodas. Naturewalks,visit of cultural village, birdwatching and hotair-balloon is available.Bushbreakfast, sundowner and fullday-drives with Lunch on request.Shutteltransfer from Nairobi can be arranged. Transfer from our airstrip is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aruba Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aruba Mara Camp Hotel Narok
Aruba Mara Camp Kenya/Narok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing